We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable but ready for a refurb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Temple

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Temple to your Saves list
The Temple
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“comfortable but ready for a refurb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

stayed here whilst working nearby.

A very welcoming hotel, which appears to be undergoing a much needed freshen up, as decorating was underway when we arrived.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, the double room was very small, but the bed was comfortable. Standard Breakfast is from 8.30am - although our request for a 7.30am breakfast was cheerfully accommodated.

Although free WI-fi is advertised as being available in the bedrooms, the local landscape made connections very difficult, which wasn't a massive issue as i could reschedule the online work I had to do, but something to be aware of.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    22
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
82
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was a second stay within a few months and is unlikely to be the last.

The hotel is located up the hill away from the main throng and is so much the better for that.
The staff are friendly, the food was excellent (we had a bar meal) and the beer was wonderful - I tried Ingrid Bergman and she kept my taste buds amused.

The refurbishment goes on....

Our room was cosy, comfortable and the bed was huge.
Breakfast is excellent and the quality of bacon and sausage is far superior to many that I have tried.
It was so nice to enjoy the location in the sunshine rather than the snow and ice of our last visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at The Temple for one night. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a bar meal which was excellent. Choice of breakfast menu, which was served at the table. A bit of an incline down to the village, which may not suit elderly or less abled.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavendon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We paid £100 for 1 night, for a superior room with a valley view, the view was great, the room was small, very dissapointing, it was clean as was the nice bright bathroom, we had to ring a bell to get booked in, that done very quickly but no offer of help with bags, or shown to our room, 'its up the stairs'.
Breakfast, I had 2 poached eggs, of which one was nearly raw, on one piece of toast, my husband had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, on toast burned to a ceramic tile, never was offered any extra toast for marmalade etc. Overall a bit dissapointing. No I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisTemple, Owner at The Temple, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review which in the main we found quite positive. We always take customer feed back very seriously especially when customers expresses where we can do better. Our policy is to always ask customers if they would like help with their bags and show them to their room. We are unsure as to why this didn't happen on this occasion but we are all making an effort to maintain this standard.
We do love to talk to our guests and interact with them as much as possible and had we known you were unhappy with your breakfast we would have replaced it immediately. We have taken on board your comments about the toast, although it hasn't been mentioned to us before, and we have decided to cut our bread slightly thicker for toasting.
We are doing a lot of maintenance and decorating at the moment in public areas which we know is not ideal but hopefully will drastically improve the look of the building and our new information area will be beneficial to all our guests.
We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to everyone that has stayed with us during these works for your understanding and kind comments, it makes all our hard work seem worth while.
Room 2 which is where you spent your stay and had just had a new 2 seat sofa put in for added customer comfort and we are trying to put seating areas in all rooms that we feel can accommodate this. our rooms are sold on the basis of view and bed size and we try to avoid words such as superior and luxury. Room 2 is sold as a double with a valley view.
We would urge all customers to discuss any displeasure with their stay with a member of staff so we can rectify it quickly for you.
Nobody in the hospitality industry wants a customer to leave from a stay unhappy so please talk to the people that can do something about your problem before you leave, you may be pleasantly surprised with the response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Most reviews are quite accurate. Some decoration is a bit dated, not a problem but some is tired and such as our bath panel that was tatty. Having said that at £45 per night double it was a bargain. The double room was a little small but no problem, bed was comfy although pillows could be thicker and a better lining to the curtains, it was well heated, ensuite bathroom like an old Travelodge except with a larger bath and 4 piece suite. The breakfast was really good with a wide choice to cater for anyone and served in two nice rooms with views. Good service too. The place does have authentic squeaky floorboards and an old charm. The refurbishment looks like it will continue for years to come at great expense. We would recommend it as there is a lot going for it, Breakfasts..Bed..Comfort and Service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very good experience from booking in to checking in with the hotel. We got a very good value room on a bank holiday weekend, and were made aware by email before arriving that there was some redecorating underway in the hallway - no nasty surprises - but actually was not an issue at all.
The room itself was quite small, but very adequate for a couple of nights. The bathroom was clean and tidy and fine for what we were looking for.
The location of the hotel is a great base for Matlock Bath, Matlock and the Peak District.
Breakfast was very good - a good selection on offer - i would recommend the Derbyshire Oatcakes if you are looking for something a bit different to the usual full English.
The bar at the local was really good with a great selection of ales and nice for a quiet drink before bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here as part of a walking holiday. The location - looking across the steep valley to High Tor - is superb. The hotel is quite large, and was built in Matlock Bath's Victorian heyday. Today it has something of the faded glory of a once popular seaside hotel. However our twin room was spacious with an excellent shower and range of toiletries, and with a lovely view. The bar had three good local real ales, and "pub grub" style food - hearty and tasty. Tuesday night was "pie night" - just the thing after a 15 mile walk. Breakfast was filling and tasty - with excellent local black pudding. Home made jam too. Some odd contrasts - it hasn't been redecorated for ages but has free wi-fi throughout. There is also a drying room, we were told, but as it had been a dry day we had no need to investigate it. At £80 incl breakfast for a twin it was fair value and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the Derwent and / or High Tor. The views are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Temple

Address: Temple Walk | Matlock, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.