We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Izela Restaurant

Izela Restaurant
Gumruk Sok, Kayakoy, Turkey
+90 537 231 7648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Kayakoy
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The beautiful relaxed restaurant, offers a delicious selection of meals. Turkish specialities including the best examples of Turkish Meze, Fresh Fish, scrumptious steaks and locally farmed Lamb. Combining our own and locally grown organic ingredients with the talents of Tolga, the owner and Chef, our menu includes dishes to suit every age and taste. The informal atmosphere is perfect for our guests to enjoy their evening. Relaxing on the fabulous terrace in the cool breeze from the mountain, with a cheese board and excellent Red. Mojito sun downers, and a superb selection of liquor, fresh coffees and teas can be enjoyed while reclining in the gorgeous cushioned seating areas that are very hard to part from...
sunny southend
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had heard of the restaurant the previous year but hadnt found time to visit during 2012. However, this year during our month long stay at our own villa we decided to book up and try it out. We are so glad that we did, as soon as we got to the restaurant the atmosphere hit us, it was relaxing, happy and such a stunning setting. The owners have it just right.

We ordered our food from the well thought out menu, and when the food arrived it matched the the quality of the place.

We have always visited Levissi Garden Wine House Restaurant, but it now has some serious competition in Kaya Koy. We will be back without doubt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    15
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant way off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

On our drive from Bodrum to Antalya, we wandered up to the deserted village of Kayakoy. We were stunned to find a restaurant of this caliber in such a rural location, run by a remarkable chef, Tolga.

The experience begins by staff directing you to a cushioned table where you relax order a drink and review the menu. After 15-20 minutes, the waiter gets you and brings you to your table, which in October was outside on a beautiful patio. Each course was an absolute delight. I love grilled calamari and had been sampling it all along the coast, but the calamari served here was melt in your mouth delicious. I had a braised lamb shoulder that was beautifully seasoned, while my wife had a lamb souvlaki that was also off the charts.

The wine selection was excellent and reasonably priced. We had several bottles of a 2004 cabernet and Turkish grape blend that was a wonderful complement to our dinner. Usually we do not have room for desert, but there was no way we were not going to sample everything Tolga and Izela had to offer. Desert was on a par with the rest of the meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had two excellent meals here during a week in Fethiye. Over the two meals we had 4 different items from the menu, and all were excellent. The service was professional, attentive and yet friendly at the same time. The first night we ate under the stars - wonderful. The weather had chilled when we returned and therefore the tables inside were used, which is an intimate, cosy setting. Very good selection of local wins to accompany the excellent menu. Highy recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location, good menu choice, slick service. Pick up and drop off available at no cost. Reports from other guests staying were very positive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“top notch nosh lol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

great fod great service great surrounding great this resuraunt has villa to rent as well shared pool between a handle of well kept villas with a great place to eat next door !!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izela Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Izela Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izela Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.