We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen to your Saves list
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rijksweg 2, 3755 MV Eemnes, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eemnes
Lipno nad Vltavou, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room was verry nice, spacious. I was there for 3rd time and again the lights in the bathroom were broken. The restaurant is verry good, but the waiting for the eat was too long (about 30 minutes) for "kogelbiefstuk".

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
10
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed with a large traveling group of students. The rooms were nice with a lovely terrace in the back of the building. The food was also good. I found our stay here to be quite charming! (FYI - I actually traveled back in February of 2009.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have had several rooms in this hotel . The last time we stayed two months in an economy room on the ground floor , with garden .
Ideal for when you want to take the dog.
For the dog you pay a little extra .
The staff members of the household are all very nice .
They are hired by an external company .
The disadvantage is that they get very little time for the rooms .
And often they need from one room to another , all the way on the other side of the hotel .
That takes quiet 5 minutes , this time is not paid to them .
This ensures, among other things, that the staff is quite out of time and there rests a heavy burden on their shoulders , to get all the rooms. Away
That is precisely the reason why we decided not to complain about the household .
Often they forgot in their hectic everything , but I could not blame them simply . If the household came , we took in advance already linen off. Purely to give . Them some more time in the room The trash bags we picked out , and sometimes I even picked up their vacuum cleaner as well to go through the room.

How slept the beds ?
Fine, but you gotta love soft mattresses .

The facilities in the hotel ?
There are numerous meeting rooms of all shapes and sizes , as the hotel is perfect for !
The restaurant is very large , the food in terms of value for money good .
The breakfast room is newly renovated , looks fine and the food tasted delicious.

The fitness room downstairs I find very small. It was not attractive to sports. Unfortunately it lacks further into it a real hotel wellness area with pool .
However, it is possible to achieve a massage.

There is a bar , a beautiful bar , I must say .
Unfortunately, this 9 times out of 10 closed due to staff shortages .
Yes Van Der Valk would not have to cut back on staff.
It employs almost only students who work for the money . Not because they have the passion in the hospitality industry . If the bar was open , there were often staff were very inexperienced . The music system was not replaced , while it did not work . What is a bar without music ?

The female manager in the workplace, very proficient in her profession, a very good manager who must collect all of her colleagues.
But the stress that was read on her posture, was not normal anymore. But understandable, when you hear that they are often working from early morning until late at night and then only can sleep. 6.5 hours
I think it's a shame that there is so cut on good staff, and good staff soo is milked, they sooner or later, a burn out or become severely arched.
Not that they responded unkind, no, on the contrary. When a colleague gave us some ice, she saw that he grabbed it with his hands and put in the glass. Then she grabbed her hand some ice itself and gave it to him, but eats she said.
No he said, because that was unhygienic?

Well, anyway, it was a good hotel, I hope for the good staff, they can hire better college's for them. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Perfect bussiness location. Fine restaurant. Ask for a garden room if you like to stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Not one of the newest and nicest of the Van der Valk hotels but convenient to the highway. Great location as a hub if you are planning to use it as a home base when playing tourist.

It has a quirky charm of its own and a cool history.

The hotel has meandering hallways and you have to go through the dining room and up and down small flights of stairs to get to your room.

The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable but not luxurious.

We had dinner in the dining room and breakfast in the morning room.

Dinner was excellent even thought it was a VERY VERY busy night. The Valk can always be counted on for excellent food.

Breakfast was standard for Holland. (Thought not as good as I've had at some Valk hotels) However the area they use for the buffet service was quite cramped. Considering the number of unused spaces and the huge main dining room.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here on a bike trip. It is probably better suited for a highway stop as it is located off the exit of one of the main highways. Its a sprawling place that seems to have been built in phases. To get from the front desk to our room we had to pass through a large, and at times busy, restaurant. Our room was nice and clean. The restaurant food was average, but pricey as there was no competition nearby. Breakfast was okay, which sums up our entire experience - not bad, but not great. You wouldn't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms are being updated and I luckily had a 'new' one. Breakfast was quite nice and had a good variety of items. Bar was major let down. Not open on some evenings and when it was and despite being full, shut at midnight. Hotel pricey for what it is. Suggest if you don't have a car stay somewhere else as €110 taxi ride from/to airport but was booked for me by my client so had no choice!

Room Tip: Ask for the updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Due to the KLM Open 2012 was the only hotel available near Hilversum, hotel is non -smoking facilities but if you are a smoker you can ask for a room with balcony. Keep in mind that if you do not have your own transport ithe only way to reach neighboring cities is by taxi, the Hotel is located close to an Highway exit. The rooms are quite small furnished with late 70's furniture, the cabinet is very small and if you will stay more than 2 days could be not sufficient, there is no mini bar and air conditioning did not work. In the bathroom there was no place to hang towels, but overall it was all pretty clean. It 'available a free connection wi-fi for 2 hours even if it is not very fast. The price of the room, 87 Euro per night, was not included breakfast, buffet breakfast costs 10 Euros per person which is a fair price for what you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen

Address: Rijksweg 2, 3755 MV Eemnes, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Eemnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eemnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hilversum - De Witte Bergen The Netherlands/Eemnes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.