We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many visits, come rain or shine, always a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel De Roskam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel De Roskam to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel De Roskam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnhemsestraatweg 62, 6991 JG Rheden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rheden
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Many visits, come rain or shine, always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Living nearby, an actual stay at this hotel dates back a couple of years. However, the atmosphere and in particular the kindness of staff, including attention to detail, resulted in a great many repeats for a bite. Invariably accompanied by my Labrador dog, she is friends with every one. At De Roskam friendliness is two way traffic, often no less so with other guests. It tells a story about said atmosphere. Sum total, it goes for both hotel and eateries, a jewel. And at fair prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
39
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leusden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This week we stayed for one night in this wonderful hotel.
The hotel is nicely and warm decorated. Very friendly staff and it is strongly recommended to try the restaurant of the hotel.
The food was really delicious.
Also the environment of the hotel is really beautiful. The Postbank with its beautiful sights is a very nice place to be.
One point for improvement: The hot/cold water tap in the shower. The temperature fluctuates suddenly between warm to hot to very cold in a split second.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Located in one of the most beautiful part of The Netherlands. We stayed in a pleasant room with our own garden terrace. A bit dark because of all the trees surrounding the room windows / terrace door.Shower temperature not constant, but that was the only negative experience. Slept very good indeed. Roomprice is attractive. Staff is very professional and kind. We ate a 5-course dinner in the restaurant and that was above expectations. Wine of the house is euro 24,50 per bottle, a bit stiff, but quality is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Donato Milanese, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent 3 weeks in this hotel and there are some characteristics that I don't liked. The staff don't clean the room every day, the balcony NEVER in 3 weeks. Just after 2 weeks the staff gave me the smart password (number of the room), before that, the password change every day. The shower gel was very low cost and the "fitness center" have 4 machine and just one doesn't make a noise. During the night is very warm, but opening the window enter many insects.
Meanwhile the staff are friendly, the hotel have a nice pool.
The hotel is close to Velp (nice city) and Arnhem.
Good price, apart these drawnbacks.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rheden hotels

Holland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is the third hotel of the Sandton chain that we used. We now begin to see certain similarities between the hotels. All three hotels with few staff were a bit old and some parts were renovated while other parts were still old. We still like the Sandton brand because the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean.

In De Roskam the value for money was excellent because we bought a voucher on an internet auction. Our room was clean and spacious with a balcony and a nice view. Our room had wooden floors, an Ipod docking station and a not-renovated bathroom.

The hotel looks like a convention hotel with lots of meeting rooms, but when we were there, almost all guests were retired and the meeting rooms were empty. We enjoyed swimming in the small but modern swimmingpool (30 square meters). There are also a steamroom and infra-red sauna. Staff could be friendlier, but our request for a quiet room was granted.

Breakfast was OK. Overall a pleasant stay near nature reserve Veluwezoom.

Room Tip: Room 315 is on the top floor, but it is a rather dark room because of the overhang of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diemen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

As the title the hotel is really like a mixed bag. The hotel seems to aim at low budget travelers or perhaps companies that do not want to spend too much money on a convention. It lacks personality.

The interior let you relive the eighties with brick walls, safety glass as decoration and glass bricks here and there. It is completed with system ceilings and large photo posters that seemed to have been used as promotion. This gives the hotel a very tired look. Our room was also a mix: the floor seemed modern but the wall painted in mint blue looked more like a hobby project. The beds were very comfortable like the seats but the bathroom seemed to date back to the end of the seventies. The elevator to the rooms was scary: first we thought we were in the service elevator as it looked like such but apparently that was also more of the style.To sum up: this hotel definitely needs a redecoration as for now this is no more than a two star hotel.

The staff in general seems friendly although not many of them are around.

The breakfast was a disappointment: never have we been to a hotel where we have to cook our own eggs. As there were no instructions and we usually cook with gas and not electricity and there was no help from the staff it was a challenge but in the end we managed. The coffee tasted very sour and the orange juice like water. We got the breakfast included in the room but if we had stayed more nights than the second morning and others we would have looked elsewhere for breakfast. But perhaps our expectations were too high: for a two star hotel it should be adequate.

There is a swimming pool which is small but modern and well maintained: this is more of feature that you would see in a four star hotel. The fitness area is a small room with four cardio machines. Sad that they do not but the machines in the pool area as there is a lot more space.

The parking is for free and this area is well maintained with lovely plants and flowers.

The TV in the room is (too) small but then again the room does not invite you to spend a lot of time in it as there is a complete lack of atmosphere. There is no minibar, there are no coffee and tea making facilities and even standard things like shampoo, toothbrush etc are missing. There is a small soap dispenser hanging against the wall this made us feel that the hotel wants to make sure you do not bring the soap home or so (like you even wanted to do that). Slippers and bathrobes are not in the room: you have to rent them. Also the lack of a AC does not help making the room any cooler and opening the doors to the small balcony was not really an option as there is a busy road next to the hotel.

All in all: if you can get a deal for like 50 euro per night and your expectations are no more than a small two star motel De Roskam might be an option. Otherwise please look elsewhere. We will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We were overall satisfied with our stay here. The hotel is nice and clean. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly.

We had two rooms with a connecting door, which worked fine.

The so-called fitness centre is rather useless - with three very worn down machines. The sauna facilities consist of only one infra red, but this is clean and modern.

The location is very close to major road and rail road, which gives some noise.

Breakfast is decent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel De Roskam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel De Roskam

Address: Arnhemsestraatweg 62, 6991 JG Rheden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Rheden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rheden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel De Roskam 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sandton Hotel De Roskam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel De Roskam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.