We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long week end in Gruyère region” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cailler

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cailler to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cailler
Charmey 1637, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charmey
geneva
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A long week end in Gruyère region”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have taken a long week end at the Hotel Cailler and we found the setting beautiful and the service very efficent and very swiss. the premises were spotless and the room not the top but confortable.The staff was quite helpful in advising us about hiking spots.This hotel is connected to the beautiful charmey baths were you can enjoy a magnificent view in a beautiful building. The restaurant is also quite good but a bit expensive. Overall we reccomend this hotel but not to budget travelers. They can find better value in local B&B.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are the one with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
20
65
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is comfortable but very expensive. The weekend we were there there was a wedding which meant loud music until 3am, and no sleep. We were not warned of this prior to making the booking and given no chance of cancellation. 300 francs (+) is too much for a night of no sleep. Stay in the ibis instead.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

Very disappointed,
Despite a Nice location and direct access to the Bath, food is not Good, beds are not confortable and service is Very, Very low ! Very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hotel is charming and practical if you go to the Spa, and the Charmey area is very scenic.
However, the hotel facilities are those of a 3 stars and:
- For a double room, our bed was only 140cm, which in most hotels would be the size for a single bed. The matress was very soft and the bed was very low, maybe 60cm above the ground only (to avoid if you have back pain...) .
- Most hotel favours are not complimentary, the coffee from the Nespresso machine is charged CHF3, a dental kit is charged CHF4, etc...
- The restaurants kitchen is only opened until 9pm...which means, that after that time, they do not take orders any more... knowing that the spa closes on weekends at 10pm and that there is not much to do in Charmey in the evening, one would expect that the restaurants are available a little longer...
- As it was an anniversary celebration for us, we booked a room with view on the mountain (and extra cost). If the mountains can be seen, the parking is the first thing you see, if the room is located - like the one we had- on the second floor...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex pat
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

After a very long hike very pleased to crash out in very comfortable room, unfortunately missed using the spa but friends said it was good. Excellent buffet evening meal with a choice of hot meals and the best breakfast buffet. Our room was on the back without view, if you are staying for more than one night try and get front room. Good base to tour the area fantastic walks and Gruyeres not to be missed. Definitely going back to spend a few more days in this charming area of Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We found this hotel to be exceptional. Our suite-style room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The location, Charmey, is idyllic--a quintessential Swiss village experience. The hotel also has spa facilities that seemed to be equally enjoyable, though we did not get the opportunity to use them since we only spent a night there. Again, it cannot be overstated how beautiful and relaxing both the town and hotel are; it was one of the most calming hotel stays I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Fabulous rooms with lots of amenities. Great bathrooms and comfortable beds. We had a suite so our daughter had her own room. The pools are wonderful and the food at the restaurant is excellent. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel- even the view was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cailler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cailler

Address: Charmey 1637, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > La Gruyere > Charmey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Charmey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Cailler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cailler Hotel Charmey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cailler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.