We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quiet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Palomar de la Brena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Palomar de la Brena to your Saves list
Hotel El Palomar de la Brena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parque Natural de la Brena | Pago de la Porquera, San Ambrosio, 11160 Barbate, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Barbate
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

A great spot for us. No crowds like the hotels on the beach. Close to everything. Natural setting.
AWESOME SWIMMING POOL!
DELICIOUS RESTAURANT!! We ate there three nights out of six.
All three owners work at the hotel and take personal pride in it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, Herts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked an overnight stay in this converted farmhouse, but did not stay for the followung reasons.

Firstly the hotel does not have a recognised postal address and is difficult to find. Our Sat-Nav directed us to the original farm track, which is now just a dried up river bed.
The actual approach through the National park is nearly a half hour drive from Vejer de la Fontera, which was our reason for the stay.

Secondly the person who greated us (ha) was surely and did not appreciate that we felt we had been misled over our booking. However after outr departure he must have realised that we had valid reasons for cancelling our booking and notified booking.com to refund to our account.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palomardelabreña, Propietario at Hotel El Palomar de la Brena, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Traveler,

The hotel has not got a recognized postal address, because it is located in the middle of the natural park. The access is by a road (A 22-33) and a track, for the last kilometer.
Obviously there is no street (plaque/sign)) and number, but the road signs are sufficient to orientate hundreds of visitors every year. A Sat- Nav is definitively not the best tool to reach the hotel, because as you probably know, Sat- Nav get lost when you l eave the fixed roads or streets (the straightest line is not always the quickest way in the country-side). Anyway most of our guests use the “access map”. that can be downloaded from our Web Page.
In the country-side, for the general localization of the hotel, in Spain we always use the name of the nearest village.
So in our case the nearest village is Vejer de la Frontera. To be sure of the localization of a hotel, we advise you to use “Google Maps” or “Google Earth”, you can even check the size of the pool!
Actually we at the hotel, don´t exactly know how Booking .com refunded you the money, but : “The customer is always right”
Best regards.
El Palomar de la Breña Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying two nights in this lovely spot, having originally only booked one. It is an old hacienda hidden away in the natural park pine forest near Vejer. It has been simply but tastefully restored and is in a most beautiful setting. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. Highly recommended for a quiet and peaceful retreat yet not far from the sea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is truely a romantic place in a beautiful surrounding, a quiet spot to stay (we stayed there beginning of May). The rooms have 3 levels and are tastefully furnished. We enjoyed the marvellous view over the pine woods sitting on the terrace. The breakfast was good - a typical Andalusian breakfast plus cerials. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful (ideas for local trips, maps, guided tour around the historical building). The hotel is ideally suited for day trips (we travelled by bicycle), eg. to the beautiful Marismas de Barbate, coastal walks, Vejer de la Frontera, the Cabos de Trafalgar / Roche / Gracia, or a trip to the impressive Ruinas romanas de Baelo with a huge sand dune nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We attended a family wedding held in El Palomar and we had a brilliant time. The hotel is located in the national park and has amazing views, its about a five minute drive from the beach at Los Canos de Meca. There are numerous walks through the national park which are located close to the Hotel. The rooms in the Hotel were really unique and traditional, we stayed in one of the rooms on the first floor and had our own area to sit out on the terrace. The views from the terrace were amazing!. The staff in the Hotel were very friendly and helpful. The food in the Restaurant was excellent, we ate there on all of the three nights we stayed and loved everything we had. The breakfast was a typical Spanish breakfast which consisted of Coffee and Toast which we liked. The pool was lovely and had plenty of seats around it for everyone. This is a lovely hotel to get away from things and enjoy a nice relaxed break at very peaceful location. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Me and my girlfriend reached the hotel rather late in the evening and had no choice but to eat in the hotel restaurant which was empty and seemed rather causual and not too cheap - count 25-40 euros pp for the meal. To our surprise, we have had one of the best dinners on our two week culinary tour of Andalucia. The local chef serves absolutely delicious meals, beautifully prepared and decorated, of the highest quality ingredients. We only tried their fish but I would presume the rest is equally good. For some reason this restaurant is not advertised anywhere, and being better than many Michelin-recommended places, I think it is too bad because the restaurant itself is worth a trip to this not-too-easiest-to-reach hotel.

About the hotel, it is very nice although quite modest. Clean and basic rooms in a wonderful and wild area are a perfect location for a weekend getaway. Breakfast is very basic but the coffee is lovely. The staff is nice, helpful, and relaxed - if they may seem inefficient sometimes. No AC but nets in the windows are enough. All for the price seems like a pretty good deal.

The area is worth a trip for its natural beauty. The villages around - to my knowledge - do not seem to offer much. But that also means the hotel is perfect for a relaxing, quiet weekend with good food. What more is needed?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

A very vera pleasant place to come and so many good specialities to taste. Thak you for your kindness and congratulation again to the cooker :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Palomar de la Brena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Palomar de la Brena

Address: Parque Natural de la Brena | Pago de la Porquera, San Ambrosio, 11160 Barbate, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Barbate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Barbate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Palomar de la Brena 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and very quiet hotel in the Costa de la Luz, situated in a historical house of the XVIII Cent. Offers you 15 rooms "en-suite", with terrace, fridge, TV, individual decoration with original paintings. The hotel is surrounded by nature and forest, has a pool, bar, restaurant. Some rooms have broad band access to internet and you can choose between double bed or twin beds. The "golden beaches" are only at 15 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Palomar de la Brena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Palomar de la Brena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.