We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect the treasury at Petra!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monastery of Ostrog

Monastery of Ostrog
Montenegro
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 313 Attractions in Montenegro
Type: Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't expect the treasury at Petra!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This attraction does get a lot of local hype but not sure it is worth the tortuous drive. We were based in kotor and the journey took 2.5 hours one way in a hire car. The last 8km are on a road which seems to not know whether it is a track, single lane or two lane, no road markings or barriers exist. You arrive at the first set of car parks, very poor loos there, and spend a few minutes looking for the place in question. Minimal signage and a not very helpful guide book, Bradt!, should highlight that the monastery is a further 2or3km higher. Yes you can walk from there but currently it is 35 deg heat and it is a rocky steps trail. There is a car park about 500m from the monastery, with decent wc's much higher up which allows you to get ahead of the many local walking pilgrims to the site. However all you do is join another lengthy queue to actually get in the place. It was quite underwhelming close up for us non religious pilgrims, but to get any perspective and reasonable photo we found stopping on the winding road a couple of km down was a bit better. We didn't even bother going inside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    24
    17
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth the day trip from Podgorica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was really glad to have taken the drive to the Ostrog Monastery during my trip to Montenegro. I believe it took us about an hour to get there. This is because you will travel along two lane roads, and when you get closer to the monastery, the road is a windy (at times one lane) mountain road.

When we looked into visiting the monastery on various internet sites, it mentioned you could hire a taxi to drive you to the top. I am not sure if this was possible, but if you have a rental car, it was easy enough to do on your own.

Also, in March 2013, there was construction happening at the Monastery and I'm not sure when it will be completed. Even with the construction, we were still able to walk around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Amazing road up and view but monastery itself disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The old road up to the monastery is a spectacular and, at times, hair raising drive (or extremely long walk!) which affords some amazing views down into the valley and up towards the monastery itself as it gets slowly 'revealed' around the twists and turns of the road. The complex of the monastery is quite big and the first buildings you come across are still a good kilometer or two to the monastery itself. There is a large car park located a few hundred metres below the monastery but you can drive right up to the entrance and park there on quieter days.

At the monastery itself there is not masses to see or do beyond the small building itself (which was being renovated the day we were there) or the views of the valley below. There are basic toilets at the monastery but for cafes and restaurants head back down the valley towards the main road.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolasin, Montenegro
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Monastery of Sveti Vasilije Ostroški”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

An ortodox monastery placed against a steep rock of Ostroška Greda, in Montenegro. It is dedicated to Saint Basil of Ostrog (Sveti Vasilije Ostroški) - a wondermaker. The view from the monastery to the Bjelopavlići plain is magnificent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutomore, Montenegro
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wrong country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This Monastery is in MONTENEGRO, not SERBIA! It is worth visiting if nothing for stunning views. The upper church is rather small but famous for being built in the rock on high altitude and for being a home to the remains of famous orthodox saint. The place caters for religious travelers not so much for foreign tourists.
Still recommend it for the experience and gorgeous views.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastery of Ostrog also viewed

Zabljak, Durmitor National Park
Montenegro, Europe
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Monastery of Ostrog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastery of Ostrog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.