We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful welcome to Ireland - the making of a memory!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gortnadiha Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gortnadiha Lodge to your Saves list
Gortnadiha Lodge
Ring, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“What a wonderful welcome to Ireland - the making of a memory!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

The lodge was adorable - very much like your own home. Eileen welcomed us to her home and shared her comforts. The rooms were comfortable - we slept great. We had arrived in the evening, so didn't get the full impact of the beautiful landscape - but we did in the morning. Also, Eileen made us a traditional Irish breakfast with 'all the fixings' - delicious!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. Couldn't fault the stay. House is beautiful, view over Dungarvan is amazing. Eileen made us feel very welcome. Rooms lovely. Breakfast and wifi great! Would def recommend Gortnadiha. Thanks!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Driving my motorbike through the Irish countryside, I regularly stay in bed & breakfasts. This is probably the best I've stayed in. First off, the location is amazing. It is away from a small country road on the hillside with amazing views of the bay of Dungarvan. The large garden is lovely and offers several different places to sit. As the sun was out in the morning, I enjoyed a coffee or two outside in all peace and quiet. A great place to get away from it all and recharge.
The rooms are very comfortable, I had the same amazing views from my bedroom window. And then there is a lovely host in Eileen who received me with a cup of tea and made an amazing home-cooked breakfast in the morning.
Highly recommended. I'll surely go back the next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Days Creek, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The friendly reception and Great views were the Best !!!We wish we could take the bed with us ! Great cook and couldn't ask for a more enjoyable time !!!Their landscape is beautiful and a stroll through them is a must ! We would recommend This B&B to everyone and will book it again on our next trip to Ireland !!!

Room Tip: We had one with a view of the water! Very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had the greatest of pleasure staying at Gortnaditha, Dungarven, home to Eileen and Thomas Harty. It was warm, in all senses of the word. Eileen's culinary skills are without question. The view is unquestionably breathtaking given the sense of a quiet sanctuary away from the busy world. Life's small comforts are no problem. Traditional Irish welcome, food and hospitality. I would love to have stayed longer. Thank you Thomas and Eileen for your welcome and a memorable visit. Every success to you both and long may you continue to offer lodgings! Looking forward to the next time we get back to Dungarven! Best wishes Catherine, John & Liam from South Australia

Room Tip: All rooms offer something unique and special. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The view from Gortnadiha Lodge is absolutely spectacular! We would highly recommend this stunning retreat to anyone travelling along the Southern coast. Eileen offers her guests a warm Irish welcome, recommends unique, less-traveled local destinations, and puts together a traditional Irish breakfast feast that lasts you until dinner time. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and look forward to coming back again!

Emma and Matt

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Review #22 and we have to agree 100% with all previous reviews. Best breakfast....delicious, fresh and all locally grown. We also had had our best dinner in Ireland which Eileen recommended (see The Moorings)! This was all in the off season (March) as well. Great views, love the books and insights on Ireland. We will be back. Thanks,
-jesse & divya

Room Tip: We had the Rosebud room and were pleased.Can't speak to any other rooms but i wouldn't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gortnadiha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gortnadiha Lodge

Address: Ring, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house set in woodland gardens, fantastic sea views. Personal warm welcome, wonderful breakfast with locally produced foods, can't miss the scones! Adjacent to many award winning restaurants. Great base for walking, shooting, fishing. Within an hour from both air and port travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gortnadiha Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gortnadiha Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.