We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast
O'Connell Street, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed here again in September, for the fourth time. My husband and I have always had a very pleasant stay at Tom and Breda's. Great breakfast, lovely room and very comfortable. Tom and Breda are very gracious hosts, they make us feel at home. We will certainly be back stay at Mountain View again next year.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
15
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stay fairly regularly as business dictates. Always find Tom and Breda friendly and accommodating, if you are running late, a simple phone call is enough to let them know. Rooms are clean, which is a must for me. You get a good breakfast (more offered if you require). Wireless broadband also an advantage when away from home/office.
Would definitely recommend Montain View to any friends staying in the area.

Room Tip: Room dictated by numbers staying, but all rooms I have stayed in are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed here three nights in September to explore the local area. It was a geat location for a base of operations to enjoy Dungarvan, the birthplace of my grandmother. My wife and I stayed in a different B&B in Dungarvan ten years ago, but thought this was much better due to the personal attention provided by Tom and Breda. Local contacts were provided to help with a genealogy search of my Irish ancestors. My wife's celiac diet requirements were met during the breakfasts. Our room, bed and bathroom spaces were clean and comfortable.
The town's MacDonalds was short walk away and a strool down O'Connell Street brought us to shops, pubs, restauraunts and the Library that houses the County Archives for research.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed several times and will revisit. Also know of other satisfied regulars. Very clean. Good service. Excelent breakfast. Tom and Breda host a beutiful B&B. Thank you. Cam Miller

Room Tip: All their rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

stayed here in august and though the B&B looks promising in the communal areas we found our bedroom, no. 5 , to be poky and small with cheap furniture and quite garish bed linen. a sliding door to a tiny ensuite ensured little privacy to the user, and though clean, the general fittings, sink and shower could really do with replacing as black mould is not really our idea of luxury.. had to pay upon arrival, without first seeing the room which i dont agree with. many places though not luxurious redeem themselves with a hearty Irish breakfast though sadly we were to be disappointed on this front also. the "Nice Price " yogurts set the tone for the whole experience, with a limited range on the plate,hard cold toast with margarine, poor quality delph and tableware and a host who gives the impression that you are an inconvenience rather than someone who paying 85 euros. its such a pity that a gourmet night in Dungarvan was spoiled by such a poor B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
offaly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Myself and my husband stayed a Saturday night and were charged €90. I was quite surprised - thought it was a bit steep for a b&b. I thought maybe that the standard was high - gourmet style breakfast - and it might be worth the price. Wish I had read the reviews here first....have learned my lesson. On the plus side there is secure parking and the house is located in a nice cul-de-sac. We had to choose our breakfast from a menu on arrival. Usual standard fare. Bedroom was very basic...pokey little television in the corner, small bed. No shower gel in the en-suite. What struck me was the cost they charged for a very basic service. Breakfast was all Lidl sourced food....no brown bread. I can't stand hosts who really try to 'penny pinch' their customers. I just think of the quality we would have got in a hotel for this price. Tom and Breda really need to think about getting the 'Brennan Brothers' in to give them advice on how to improve their service. If they had charged €70 we feel it would have been somewhat reasonable and reflective of what they had to offer......but for what we got we feel we were ripped off - big time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just re visited Mountain View House Dungarvan for the 3rd time in 2 years with my husband. The purpose of our visit was for the Waterford Festival of Food- a 4 day event from 14 - 17 April, an absolute Gourmet delight for everybody young and old. We had our usual room with fantastic views of the Comeragh Mountains, but now with all new decor, the entire house had just been re-decorated in new pastel shades which enhanced the beautiful mouldings from a bygone era.

Tom & Breda were the perfec t hosts as always, and booked our tickets for the different venues and restaurants. The location is perfect for walking to everything, plus the added advantage of private secure parking in a very peaceful area of the town, and as always - great value for money!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast

Address: O'Connell Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View House offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation in Dungarvan, County Waterford, Ireland. Our beautifully restored Georgian House which was built in 1815 is located just 3 minutes walk from Dungarvan town centre and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.