We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hospitality, food, and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Castle Country House
Save
You added The Castle Country House to your Saves list
Millstreet, Cappagh, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Incredible hospitality, food, and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

If you are interested in experiencing the Irish countryside and Irish hospitality, this is the place to stay. The people who run/work in this inn are simply the kindest and most generous I have ever met. They can tell you exactly what to do in the area to get the most out of your time, and help you find whatever you are interested in. The rooms were exceptionally comfortable- the beds were hard to get out of in the morning they were so perfect. The breakfast was simply the best I have ever had, and I am still craving the homemade rhubarb compote (which was one of several delicious compotes and fruit toppings served every morning for either oatmeal or yogurt). Breakfast also included fresh scones and toast, and a choice of smoked fish, eggs, or bagels and smoked salmon (and I might be forgetting something). Everything was deliciously prepared and so ample the best thing to do after was take a nap, or perhaps walk around the grounds. The grounds are lovely, and a perfect quiet day could be spent at the inn if there weren't so much to do and see in the area. You will need a car with good gps, as the inn can be hard to find, especially at night. There is no way to get around the area without a car.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Castle Country House during our visit to Ireland in September. We arrived after dark and had trouble finding the house, but Joan met us and we followed her back. Joan had hot homemade pie and tea upon our arrival and we had a lovely visit. The room was beautiful and everything was very clean and the bed was very compfortable. The breakfast every morning was excellent. Joan makes her own yogurt, jellies, and bread and you could tell she loves to bake, everything was just great. Castle Country House is in a beautiful peaceful location. Joan and Emmett made us feel welcome in their home and treated us as if we were family. Our stay here was truly a highlight of our trip and one we will never forget

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Castle Country House during our first trip to Ireland in September, 2013. I had great expectations as I am a McGrath and, as the website makes very clear, this B&B is built on what is left of the McGrath's "Mountain Castle" dating back to the 16th century. We drove down to the Dungarvan area from Dublin airport, relying on a GPS to help us find the place, unaware that "Millstreet" is a separate village, and not the Millstreet that is in Dungarvan. So we "met" Joan via telephone when we realized we were in the wrong place and she very kindly and patiently explained how to get to the B&B, and said she would put the kettle on for tea. We felt welcome already.

We followed Joan's directions out of Dungarvan, down the highway, onto the country road and made the turn Millstreet which took us down and over the charming old Mountain Castle bridge. The setting, the house and the room were lovely, with everything we needed and more. Breakfasts were to die for - I would go back just for more of the delicious porridge with homemade preserves and yogurt, although that was just the appetizer.

Joan, Emma and Catherine all made us feel very welcome and ensured that we were well taken care of, in spite of the fact that Emmett was in hospital in Waterford and they were obviously concerned about him. My only disappointment was that I was not able to meet Emmett and share in his deep historical interest in the property and the area.

Emma, however was kind enough to direct us up the road to see the impressive ruins of Sleady Castle, the 2nd McGrath Castle, built in the 17th century. That walk up the country road was the highlight of my trip - it was a lovely sunny day and the area exemplifies the beauty of the Irish countryside.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior double room, which is the oldest part of the building (with the original 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here with our family of 14 for 3 nights as we toured the region- took all of their five rooms. The hosts (Joan, Catherine and Emma) were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept to a very high standard, the breakfasts were superb and the grounds were great for the youngsters. We even got to milk the cows and wade in the streams. We were in a mini bus so we were a little stranded when our driver left for the night (he had to stay elsewhere because we took all the rooms), but they let us take over the kitchen and we had family style dinners for a couple of nights. If you had a car you could go into town (about 15 minutes away). If it wasn't for that I'd rate it a 5 because everything else was great.

Room Tip: We liked them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were very impressed with every aspect of the experience. The hosts were extremely welcoming and attentive throughout our stay. The rooms were of a 5 star hotel standard in a B&B. The breakfasts were fantastic with plenty of options ranging from french toast to smoked mackerel, including the traditional Irish fry. The choice of buffet breakfast before or along side the cooked breakfast was equally varied and impressive with a range of cereals from porridge to muesli as well as other stable breakfast cereals. All the meat and fruit is locally sourced including from their own gardens. The grounds surrounding the property are beautiful and perfect for an early morning stroll. The Castle Country House is a gem located in a picturesque area of great historical interest, within 15 minutes of the towns of Dungarvan and Lismore which are both rich in history and well served by excellent restaurants. All in all a wonderful experience that wont be forgotten and can't be recommended highly enough!

Room Tip: Phone and book directly in order to pre-book particular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Joan & Catherine Nugent upon arriving at the front door. This grand home has been with their family for many many years. We received a large room plus ensuite on the upper most level which was almost an attic. The standard of accommodation was of a very high standard, and the same could be said of the delectible breakfast. The estate is not as large as once, but there is still lots of land in which to wander. We stayed two nights here which was a good decision as there was numerous places not that far to explore. We visited the working cattle farm next door which is owned by Joan's son Pat and wife Emma. It was great watching Pat round up the Friesian cows and herd them up to the milking barn (assisted by Scruff the dog). We visited the seaside villages and and local inland country villages and had our evening meals in Dungarvan the main town in the area. However you do need a car as the property is a little isolated. I highly recommend this establishment as it is a very friendly welcoming family run country guest house. We throughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kerry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went for a weekend with our three children, aged 15,13 and 8, so booked 2 rooms. Great welcome, beautiful old house, lots of old fittings and comfortable sitting room for guests, filled with books. Garden and grounds, where fruits are grown that are served at breakfast. Beautiful food. One of the nicest b and b experiences I have had anywhere in Ireland. I recommend it highly. Ken H in Kerry.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good. Not very large, bathrooms slighly on the small size, but it is an old hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Country House

Address: Millstreet, Cappagh, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Country House has evolved from a 15th century Norman castle. Later it was expanding and became the manor house of the O'Keeffe family. It is a unique property that has been lovingly restored and now provides luxurious accommodation in a beautiful riverside location.Breakfast, using home grown and local produce, is served each morning in the original castle dining room and every effort is made to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.