We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairbre House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairbre House
Abbeyside | Dungarvan, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Erie, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited Dungarvan for one night in the middle of a wonderful trip to Ireland late August to early September 2012. First of all the city is a beautiful port city with surrounding mountains. We arrived late in day after a quick check in set out to find some good food. Brian was very helpful in finding Cairbre House (we got a bit lost at last roundabout). The Cairbre House is very unique in that it was used to be a hospital then turned in to a B&B over a hundred years ago. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We loved our stay in Dungarvan and the Cairbre House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We are a family of three who stayed for two nights in July in a triple room. The house is in a great location, looking out over the estuary, away from but within easy walking distance of the town centre. Our host, Brian Wickham, was very assiduous and attentive to all our needs. The house oozes age and the character that comes with it and he has kept the original shape without sacrificing modern comforts. The breakfast is lovely; all the usuals and plenty of fresh fruit. Brian maintains his own fruit and vegetable garden the results of which make their way to the breakfast table.

Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently stayed at Cairbre House and loved it. A period house dating back to the early 1800's, it has been wonderfully maintained and a joy to stay in. Host, Brian Wickham has a wealth of knowledge about the area. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and breakfast is a treat. The views are spectacular and the gardens are tranquil with a vast array of flowers, shrubs and trees. The house is situated within a ten minute walk of the town. We only stayed one night but would recommend Cairbre House to anyone visiting Dungarvan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After a not so memorable stay in Dublin the Cairbre House was warm and welcoming. This nearly 200 year old home was easy to find and located on a tidal estuary on the North side of Dungarvan. Our host Brian made tea for us after we got settled, explained the local area and reviewed a number of locations and menus for dinner options. He was very cordial and outgoing, making you feel right at home. The room was large and comfortable and the ensuite bath was more than adequate for our needs. Guests has their own sitting room to use. There is a patio or solarium on the back of the house overlooking the water that makes an excellent spot to watch the sunset. Breakfast was an event, cooked expertly by Brian and using all fresh local products. Delicious! If you have the good fortune to stay at Cairbre House, don't miss Brian's garden; it is beautiful and the roses rival those in the gardens of the Powerscourt Estate. We only stayed one night, but would highly recommend this classic home to anyone traveling across Southern Ireland.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all the rooms were generous and comfortable. We seemed far enough away from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had a wonderful two week adventure in Ireland with my parents in their 80s. The highlight of our trip was our stay at the Cairbre House in Dungarven. Brain was warm and welcoming and made our stay during the yearly gourmet food festival outstanding. He was kind and helpful and took great care of us.

I would recommend to everyone- especially families. It was a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I cannot imagine why this B & B has so many recommendations. Yes, it is on a tidal lagoon. But on the other side of the lagoon is the main motorway into town, and it roars and thunders with traffic throughout the night. The house was an incoherent mess, and not very clean, and our room was just terrible. It was a twin-bedded room, so small that there was nowhere to put the suitcases, and the bathroom was a cubbyhole without a window. One of the beds stuck out halfway across the bathroom door, ensuring barked shins if you needed to get up in the night, and the carpeting was the sort that you feel sure has been chosen not to show the dirt. In fairness they did serve a good breakfast, with some of the much-vaunted fresh herbs from the garden on the scrambled eggs, but that was enough to compensate for the rest. Our host was not there when we arrived, and when he did pitch up we suspected he had been drinking. In short, we couldn't wait to leave. Avoid it.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is an excellent B&B in a lovely location beside the River Colligan. It is an interesting old house with a large garden. We chose Dungarvan as a stopover between Killarney and Rosslare and really enjoyed the short time we spent there. Brian is a most considerate host, and in the lounge there is a very good satellite TV with lots of channels! He also has a credit card facility which is unusual in B&Bs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cairbre House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairbre House

Address: Abbeyside | Dungarvan, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairbre House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cairbre House to your Saves list