We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadfully disappointing.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel & Leisure Centre to your Saves list
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shandon, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dungarvan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dreadfully disappointing.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband & I stayed here last year & we had a wonderful stay. We booked again with my children 10 & 8. My 1st disappointment was the email sent to the hotel prior to our visit went unanswered. The hotel is clean but very tatty and old looking (our cramped room was literally battered and scuffed everywhere) Our room had cigarette buts under the window ledge on the roof outside - despite non smoking. We asked reception to move these....no response. Requests for wake up calls were ignored on 2 mornings too. Complaints at reception were acknowledged with an apology but no action. The bar staff were very friendly & we enjoyed the outside seating area. The food service was appauling the night we ate in the restaurant. The quality of food has plumeted to a cheap cafe. The foreign waitresses / waitets were rude & abrupt & we were rushed every breakfast time. The location is great and Dungarvan is a lovely town. I did complain on check out......surprise surprise no follow up from the hotel.

Room Tip: Drive on by..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Secondhoneymooners10,
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very disappointed to hear that you encountered some difficulties during your stay. The Park Hotel has an excellent reputation in food and service and it is of great concern to me to learn that you were not happy with your experience. I will bring all issues to the attention of the relevant departments and I trust that this was a very unfortunate and rare occurence.
I hope you will return again when we can renew your perception and prove that the latter was indeed a very isolated occurence.
Thanking you,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    104
    65
    34
    18
See reviews for
134
98
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
louth ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here in a single room, and I have to say that I was very disappointed. The walls were not clean, in fact the plaster was coming off the plasterboard so that you could see the stud nails, and th room smelt very heavily of smoke. The single bed was practically the size of the larger section of the L shaped room, although the bed size was ample. I tried for a change but a wedding party arrived and that was the end of that! The meals were good, no fault with breakfast or dinner, but the room was definately not a place where you could do your paper work, or even relax and read a paper. I think that maybe Tripadvisor should have a section for single traveller's reports.

Room Tip: Tell them you will put photo on TripAdvisor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Verilyemcfie,
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your room was not to your satisfaction. We are constantly upgrading our rooms and facilities and your points have been noted. I am pleased that you enjoyed all meals with us.
Thanking you,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Park Hotel & Leisure Centre is a nice clean friendly hotel. We were unsure about staying here having read some of the recent reviews, however our doubts were soon allayed.

The hotel rooms are bright and airy and food in the hotel was excellent. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful.

There was a debs / wedding on at the hotel during our stay and neither event distracted from a pleasant stay and staff were well able to handle both events without detriment to other hotel users.

My only criticism if any would be the speed at which dinner was server - starter, main course and deserts all completed within 1 hour, so felt a bit rushed. also our server did not ask if we would like to see wine list or if everything was ok, so that was our only disappointment.

Overall a pleasant stay and would return again to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no lift in this hotel and rooms at the top of the staircase can be noisy with people return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hello Mike2006,
The Park Hotel, Leisure Centre & Self Catering Holidays Homes is a family-run Hotel set on the outskirts of Dungarvan town in the Heart of County Waterford. It is a very friendly, relaxed hotel with a real warm, welcoming and cordial atmosphere. Family functions are a regular aspect of the hotel, with fresh food; cooked to order being our primary feature.
Thanking you again for your appraisal,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in a family room four nights and overall was very satisfied with our stay at this hotel.
Room.The room including the en suite is approximately 32-35 sqm² in area - the floor to ceiling height is above average,
the beds were very comfortable -arge double and two singles-- mattresses used were kingcoil pocket spring with memory foam overlay which are very comfortable and rather expensive mattresses giving a good night sleep to all of us.

Family room was on the ground floor and was relatively quiet even though the hotel was full during our stay in August. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant.

Breakfast- Because breakfast is cooked to order in this hotel rather than the standard buffet style quality of the food is better than the buffet style breakfast, however when the hotel is busy you may have to wait for a table- some may find this an inconvenience it did not botheR us too much -selection of the breakfast menu was very good and the service was good.

Bar food- we partook of bar food and number of nights and again the hotel was very busy but despite this service wasn't bad we found the value offered for the food given to be pretty good.

Restaurant: we had one meal in the restaurant, qualitiy of food again was good and the service was good again the value for money and the food was what I would consider good.

Leisure centre we didn't avail of the gym but we did use the pool and the children's pool -- the pool is a bit dated and the water is on the cooler side although compliant with regulations. We enjoyed three family swims in the pool, changing rooms are large, also a bit dated

Parking is free both to the front and rear.

Entertainment: The hotel provided evening music in the bar while we were there which we enjoyed on a couple of nights.

Kids club to the rear the hotel four-year-olds upwards we didn't avail of the service.

Location - The location of the hotel is very convenient to the town. The town is a few minutes walk from the hotel meaning you can leave your car at the hotel and walk. within striking distance of the hotel there are two children's playgrounds .

In fact Dungarvan town is a very nicely maintained town fair dues to the local Council.
There are some maintenance issues and repair issues with the hotel and building reg issue that needs attention. I'm in the facilities management business and if the hotel indicates so , I can advise them directly of one or two of the issues i noted .

Summary - as a family we were very satisfied with the comfort, service, staff and the value we obtained in this hotel, despite parts of the hotel needing some upgrade here and there, overall if we obtained similar value in the future we be happy to return to the hotel for another break -- well above 3 stars --i guess 4 stars from us

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear DavidandClann,
Your analytical and thorough review of The Park Hotel was very well received by both The Management and Staff of this hotel. You took the time to appraise all sections of the hotel and we found this very helpful not only for ourselves but also for prospective clients who will read this review.
Evaluations of this nature which are balanced are most helpful, and they also serve to boost staff who work hard to ensure all patrons are facilitated at the highest level. Your feedback in relation to the exterior is also noted and this has been passed on top the relevant department.
Thanking you,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a wedding party. Hotel is very easy to find (we drove from Cork airport) and there are very few gripes that we had. Rooms were clean, pleasant and a good size - beds were super comfortable which was great for the day after the wedding! Breakfast was good and included in the room rate we got - if you don't want a fry up however your choices are limited to yogurt, pastries and tinned fruit!

Bar selection and variety of drinks was fantastic, even in the wedding venue the drink selection was fabulous. Food was tasty, although I only ate as part of the wedding dinner. My only two gripes are that the bath towels are much to small for a four star hotel and better signage is needed for the location of the rooms.

Overall a pleasant stay in Ireland..

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear AussieNat24,
Thank you very much for submitting a review of our hotel, where you stayed recently for a friend's wedding. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments in relation to the location and accessibility of the hotel were very encouraging. We are located on the N25 on the outskirts of Dungarvan Town with ample parking for even the largest of weddings.
We are also very grateful for your comments in relation to the Rooms, Beds, Breakfast, and Drinks selection at the bar. Your comments in relation to the towels and signage have also been noted. Thanking you,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsearcher2009
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel recently, for a family wedding, we had a family room, could not fault anything about the hotel, the wedding in particular was excellent, food was first class and very efficiently served, had bar food the second day which was very good and reasonably priced, breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sunsearcher 2009,
Thank you for posting a review on this website following a stay with us for a wedding recently.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding which took place in our Banquet Hall. Weddings are a huge feature of The Park Hotel and we really thrive on making weddings so special and making dreams come true for couples.
The location and setting of the hotel as well as the parking are also major benefits with our Hotel. Inside the hotel: food, service, comfort and elegance are the primary ingredients to creating that perfect day.
Thanking you again and hoping you will return again very soon,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel for food and drinks for a couple of years now and have always found the staff very very friendly. The food is is fantastic. On our last visit our 2 year old fell asleep before his dinner arrived (he was tired anyway, did not fall asleep because the food took too long!) and the waiter kindly asked if we would like to take it with us, we agreed and he returned within 2 minutes with the food covered on a foil plate. Exceptional service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imelda_Walsh, Sales & Marketing Manager at Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Darenday,
I was very grateful that you posted a review on this website, and that you cited a particular example to highlight the level of service in the Hotel. Bedrooms, Food and Service are a priority to us and we are thrilled that you commented on these as well as the atmosphere in the Hotel.
Thanking you,
Imelda Walsh
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel & Leisure Centre

Address: Shandon, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel, Leisure Centre & Self Catering Holiday Homes is the perfect venue for a relaxing getaway break on the beautiful Waterford coastline. Situated in idyllic surroundings; The Park Hotel is located on the N25 (main road from Rosslare) (just 15 minutes from the M9, and 30 minutes from the M8 – on the outskirts of the vibrant Dungarvan town on the main Cork – Waterford Roadway. The hotel is situated on it’s own 5 acres of landscaped gardens overlooking the Colligan Estuary; and adjacent to Dungarvan Bay, and Dungarvan Town Centre. Dungarvan is a lively town with a list of award winning restaurants, Bars, and with only a 5 minute drive to 3 Golf Courses and the beautiful Clonea Beach – this is Paradise for all discerning holiday makers who want quality food, accommodation, service, shopping, sight-seeing, golf, combined with a truly Irish social life to enhance the trip. Set on an excellent road network you will not spend your holiday on the road or stuck in traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel And Leisure Centre
Park Hotel Dungarvan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel & Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.