We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casey's Caravan & Camping Park

Casey's Caravan & Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casey's Caravan & Camping Park
Save
You added Casey's Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list
Clonea, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wicklow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location at the beach. Camping facilities excellent, toilets cleaned twice daily (before people get up in the morning). Has play ground. Friendly. Can park beside tent. There are rules but they are appropriate. It is well run.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    8
See reviews for
17
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed in Casey's Caravan Park many a time over the years and it is well run, staff are excellent, and great beach front location. My recent visit was the June bank Holiday weekend 2013 and arrived early Friday afternoon, to find there was no hard stands available with electricity. That's long weekends in Ireland for you.
We where directed to the open field behind the kids play ground. which was fine, and our daughter of 2.5 yrs loved to be able to play in the grass, but we had no electricity connection and showers and toilets where a bit of a walk. You need to have a torch to find the way to the Loo at night.
We enjoyed Friday night, and by Saturday lunch time we where hemmed in by the new arrivals in their droves, (what a gold mine no wonder they call it the Gold Coast !) It was very family friendly and we got to know people better, than we have in the hard stands which seem to have their own cronies-regular summer season long term people who setup there for the whole summer and seem to consider weekend arrivals as an intrusion.
Clonea beach is lovely, and great for the early morning walk to clear the cobwebs.
The showers are always clean, and hot water is plentiful, but at 1€ tokens per shower, it would need to be. My gripe with Casey's caravan park as with many caravan parks around Ireland is, their PRICES are high at 30€ to 33€ + Showers at 1€ and wash-up token at 25 cents an extra also and these charges are high even without electricity connection. We don't do our tourism business any favours do we!! The gathering OMG.We screw the foreigners and ourselves also with OTT Ferry crossing costs, and then when they arrive to Casey's Caravan park **** they are again paying top dollars prices, with nothing to justify the high pricing. On arrival large deposit for the barrier dongle and keys and then they charge for infants 2 yr plus (bloody robbery ).
Go to France, stay in any four star or 5 star Campsite your showers are free onsite fun park with water slides and no way do you ever pay for hot water for washing your plates etc. Wi-Fi never works in Casey's and this is every year same old story, they are making money hand over fist and forget the customer needs.
But we Irish support them at any cost. I think we need to create some more camping sites (Competition ) around Ireland and Aires would be nice, to boost town and villages shops and cafes, but the travellers do injustice to that notion . In case you haven't noticed there, is a lot more people camping and more motorhomes and caravans on our roads nowadays.So if you are an investor I be only too happy to setup and manage this type of exciting JV venture which is now almost an all year round business even with Irish climate. Location Location of course..
Anyway, Casey's have almost got it right- sort Wi-Fi and all in price for using your campsite and you will have a lot of happy campers. Your staff are friendly and try and have a few electric points up in the back fields and we all be snug as a bug. I know planners may have restrictions on this notion. Anyway we have come a long way from the primus and gas lamps, but we need more choice. Youghal -Red barn Garryvoe beach front is wide open for this touring Caravan campsite venture not just statics only.

Room Tip: Complain about the prices !!! they might listen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was my first camping trip and I'm delighted it was at such a well run site. Staff were very helpful and the girl cycled in to show us where we could pitch our tent. The beach is a short walk and it is beautiful. The site has two takeaways on site which are good value, it also has a shop which seems to stock everything. The hotel which is just outside the campsite was a godsend as we had teenager boys with us and they spent some time in the pool and gym which kept them happy. I loved the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi! I would recommend this site to couples, families and all looking for a bit of fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have to say, I'm not sure it is the best start to any camper's stay at a campsite when presented with two sides of A4 when it comes to rules. The husband, on walking the dogs early the next morning, found various notices around the site with everything from 'no water guns' through to 'no driving lessons on camp' etc. All a bit off-putting for first time campers.
It was a bank holiday weekend which meant this family-friendly campsite was full and very, very busy BUT, having said all that, the two girls at reception were very pleasant and useful when asked about local amenities etc.
The showering facility was clean although there is another notice in here "children must be supervised when placing tokens in the showers"! We were just looking for a night's sleep which we got no problem but we were parked at the furthest point from the toilet block, which meant a walk past the play area ("No unsupervised children in the play area - NO exceptions!") which wasn't too much of a problem but a long way first thing in the morning!
Great hotel round the corner were we had the first pint of Guinness; they also do food and there is a small shop here too.
Great beach and a lovely location but alas, not our type of campsite. Sorry :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Top notch park one of the best. Right on clonea beach with direct access. beach is also very safe clean and lifeguarded. Caravan site is spotless with all modern facilities. No prebooking unfortunately which means u are not guaranteed ehu but u will always get a space . Great holiday atmosphere in the park. Great for children, good playpark, areas to cycle, crazy golf, games room s tv. Two takeaways and ice cream parlour, wee shop and a hotel bar. We are thinking of getting static here if we can get information , no website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We try go back to this campsite every year, we all love Dungarvan. My kids aged 6&8 love the playground in campsite & theres a few more lovely playgrounds in Dungarvan town. My husband & I love the area too, v clean, beside the beach & just a cycle away from the town. A pity u cant prebook but well worth a visit, cant recommend it highly enuf !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013.

When we arrived the staff were friendly. We were given an extensive list of rules of the site but no map or information about amenities which wasn't very useful. The campsite is huge, well maintained and the shared areas are very clean. But we were stuck camping on a slanted pitch among the mobile homes (at full price). So there was none of the usual camping atmosphere.

It has an excellent beach location and a large playground.

The showers are terrible. No family shower so showering the kids was a nightmare. The cubicles are tiny, the token operation is outside the cublicle so you have to run in and out to put tokens in. The water was far too high up & too hot for children, and the water wasn't much more than a trickle so hair washing took forever!

Not enough bins on site. You have to pay hot for water to wash dishes.

It's not a great family place, much better suited to older people / couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casey's Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casey's Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Clonea, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dungarvan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casey's Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.