We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atomosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Davitt's Quay, Dungarvan, Ireland
+353 (0)58 41461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 restaurants in Dungarvan
Cuisines: European, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atomosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Moorings is a charming pub/restaurant right on Dungarven Bay with great service. Their seafood chowder was our group's favorite out of our whole Ireland trip (and we had chowder everywhere we went). The fish/chips were also very good. I highly recommend The Moorings.

(you can ask for garlic bread with your soup instead of the traditional brown/soda bread that Americans might not care for as much)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    38
    22
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a great place to eat, the food is generous, tasty and the exceptional service and friendliness of our waiter really added to an enjoyable dinner. Well done The Moorings!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a meal there recently, it was very average and way overpriced for what we got. If you want nice fish, walk up the street to Crews for a much better quality meal at better prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We arrived here late, last orders at 9pm, we were welcomed by the bar staff and free iced water was delivered to the table before we ordered. We both had steak, salad and chips, the food was served quickly and was well cooked to our requirements. The atmosphere in here is good, nice relaxed evening, nice food with really good service to match. Postcards with the bill was nice touch too, not expensive as steak goes these days.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killaloe, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Food only average
portion size s/m
expensive for what you get
Lawlors hotel is the best restaurant in dungarvan for value and food

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.