We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterford County Museum

Waterford County Museum
Saint Augustine Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 attractions in Dungarvan
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to preserving and promoting the history of County Waterford. Completely renovated in 2009, admission is free of charge. The museum is open Monday to Friday during the Winter and early Spring. It also opens on Saturday afternoons during the Summer and Autumn months. The museum is a non profit, registered charity, community run organisation that has won several national and international awards for it's work preserving the localities history.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Waterford County Museum is a must if visiting or passing through the County, a wealth of interesting artifacts and information. The Staff are really helpful and its really child friendly. There is no admission charge and it is worth checking out the website before you visit to see what exhibits are currently on display.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Waterford Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waterford County Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What can I say this museum -it is by far one of the best museum for local history in Munster it's one of the hidden gems in dungarvan and a must for a family day out. The staff are very friendly and have a special area for kids to explore & be creative. I must add that there is no admission fee which is fab, they also do genealogy, have a big selection of books on sale and also you can download the 'Dungarvan Town Trail App' which allows the listener to explore 1000 yrs history of the town. Definitely a must if in Dungarvan.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Love this museum!! It has a lot of local interest but anyone that has an interest in history would enjoy a visit. It is very child friendly with little colouring area for children and the staff are friendly and interact with children giving them information on the many displays etc. well worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williewh, Committee Member at Waterford County Museum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am glad your children enjoyed their visit. We have put a good bit of effort into being child friendly. It is great to hear from someone that thinks we are getting that element of our work right. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. It is much appreciated. Yours Willie Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Priceless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Smashing place, great insight into this chunk of Irish history and very important resource for people of today, tomorrow and forever.

It is vital that we all support our local museums and to preserve our history and heritage for all generations. It is very easy to lose and impossible to recover. Be smart - support Waterford County Museum.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently spent a day in Dungarvan with my wife and teenage son, and had the pleasure of visiting the museum. We were absolutely taken aback by the quality of the exhibits, the information provided, and the helpful and friendly staff. I would thoroughly recommend that anyone visting Dungravan should put the museuim on their itinerary. I for one will definitley visit again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williewh, Committee Member at Waterford County Museum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I'm glad your family enjoyed their visit and that you took the trouble to write a review. It is much appreciated. Yours Willie Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterford County Museum also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford County Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterford County Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waterford County Museum to your Saves list