We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seanachai Bar and Restaurant

Seanachai Bar and Restaurant
Pulla Cross, Dungarvan 000000, Ireland
+353 58 46755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rosscarbery, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Given signs and thatched roof etc I was expecting something a bit more leprechaunish! However, the seanchai is a fine pub, small and cosy with roaring open fire. Service was friendly and relaxed. The food menu was fairly limited and I went with the fish and chips option - got two fine fillets of cod, well cooked in light batter, a lovely tartare sauce, and the chips were homemade and chunky with lovely crispy edges! One of the best fish and chips I've had in ages, and if same care is given to other menu options they would all be worth a try. Didn't stay long as v tired, but locals had friendly chat whilst I was paying, and I would have liked to pass a few hours there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    15
    3
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't miss dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stumbled on this restaurant by accident as we drove out of Waterford. To our surprise and delight we enjoyed a great pub lunch with friendly Irish service and loads of atmosphere. We were welcomed by the many locals present and on their recommendation we tried the rice pudding, which was superb. Highly recommended!
However I see that 13Josephine reports that the restaurant is closed - if so that is a great pity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we were in the Dungarvan area, in June. The B&B we stayed at, recommended Seanachai for dinner. It was just up the hill, so, sure, why not? So, up we went.
A lovely building, from the early 19th century, that has tons of personality and ambiance. Our hosts were prompt and pleasant. We sat by a huge hearth, that was original to the building. Ordered a Guinness, of course, and as we scanned the menu, we just soaked up the dining room. My wife ordered a grilled chicken, and I had the beef and Guinness. Both were nice sized portions, and delicious! We weren't rushed to eat and run, which is nice. It was one of the nicest dining experiences of our trip to Ireland. We would go back tonight, if we dind't live outside of Chicago.
Seanachai will be on our itinerary on our next visit to the Emerald Isle. No doubt about it...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pub & Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We love this place so much.The food is beautiful and the staff are very warm and friendly and always make us very welcome. We always go for a meal there when we are down in beautiful Dungarvan. We love it so much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good journey breaker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Located between Waterford and Cork, just off the main road, the Seanachaí Pub has been feeding travelers for a very long time and is always excellent. Not too sure of the evening fare as we stopped for lunch, but a carvery pub style lunch is offered or a table menu. Recommend their amazing seafood chowder with home baked brown bread, which goes down well with a pint of Guinness.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seanachai Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Seanachai Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seanachai Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.