We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dun Ard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dun Ard to your Saves list
Dun Ard
2 Na Ceithre Gaotha | An Rinn, Dungarvan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Joe and Anne were wonderful hosts. My girlfriend and I stayed for one night and we had palatial accomodations. The king bed was very comfortable and our suite included a nice living room and separate bathroom wing. Beautifully decorated and everything was just so. This was easily the best accomodations we had in two weeks in Ireland. The icing on the cake, was Anne offering us a glass of wine after checking in -- which we accepted -- and then sat around and had a nice chat with other guests for an hour or so. Lastly, the breakfast was top shelf as well. The only regret we had, was not booking for several nights in Dungarven. It is a scenic and interesting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
121
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We happened on Dun Ard by chance and are very glad we did. The Fear and Bean a'Ti were lovely as indeed was their home. It is a wonderful quiet peaceful, even romantic location with much to be seen and done in the area whether by foot, bike or car. Dun Ard provides a wonderful base for such activities. Certainly to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at Dun Ard on the recommendation from a friend and were very glad we did! Joe and Anne are great hosts and couldn't do enough for us. Besides that the room was beautiful and had an amazing view of the water. And Anne's breakfast choices are just delicious. We loved Dungarven and can definitely give this whole experience 5 STARS!

Room Tip: Our room had a whirlpool tub and shower plus a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Joe couldn't have been more helpful from the word 'go'. Dun Ard is just minutes out of Dungarvan and Joe wanted to make sure we got the most out of his local town, with plenty of suggestions about what to do and where to eat. When it came to eating, Anne's breakfast was excellent, the perfect way to start an Irish day. Dun Ard is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I were on our honeymoon. This was probably the nicest place we stayed. Owners were friendly and helpful, room was large and breakfast was great. Neither one of us had stayed at a B&B before and we now look forward to trying the experience again because of our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We wanted to stay one night (I travelled with a friend, we had a Twinroom), but it was so nice that we decided to stay for another night. Joe, the owner, was very friendly and gave us some advice what to do around Dungarvan.
The room was very comfortable with its own bathroom (with tub AND shower).
TV and Wifi are included. So is the breakfast. Which was absolutely delicious.
If you have the chance, stay at this B&B!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here as a base for visiting relatives in the area. What a find! Have stayed in lots of B and Bs in recent years..I would struggle to find anywhere better. Accommodation was clean, comfortable and stylish. Ann and Joe were wonderful hosts and were friendly without being intrusive. The breakfast was excellent and we loved it that guests sat together at a dining table..this made for some interesting conversation about our various travels. If we go back to the area would not hesitate to book again. The Oyster room has the wonderful sea views.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Val and Victor.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dun Ard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun Ard

Address: 2 Na Ceithre Gaotha | An Rinn, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dun Ard is rated 5 Star by the Irish Tourist Board (Failte Ireland). Dun Ard is aptly named, as it enjoys spectacular views of the Comeragh Mountains and Dungarvan Bay. Dun Ard is situated in the heart of the Ring Gaeltacht, just outside Dungarvan and is ideally situated to experience some of Waterford's and Ireland's most stunning scenery. Championship golf courses, fishing, walking and award winning restaurants are all on the doorstep. A stay in Dun Ard is one not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dun Ard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dun Ard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.