We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best - anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tannery Restaurant

Tannery Restaurant
10 Quay Street, Dungarvan, Ireland
+353 58 45420
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Tannery Restaurant, Dungarvan, Co Waterford. Modern Irish Cooking. Chef/Owner Paul Flynn.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best - anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

my wife and i have enjoyed this restaurant on a handful of occasions. We have never been disappointed. Service is friendly and efficent, lovely atmosphere. The real star is the food .
Consistent quality and always something a little bit different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    67
    24
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic dining room. Service was friendly and professional. Food was superb if a little expensive . Great place for a special occasion

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ate in the tannery last week and had a lovely meal my monkfish was cooked on the bone and was cooked perfectly. The service was efficient but not really engaging, a bit cold to be honest. I had a nice glass of Albariño for €7.50 not over the top for a good quality by the glass. If passing through dungarvin would recommend a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning, excellent, need I say more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited here today after hearing about it for so long. I cannot say enough about this place in terms of getting it right. Keep it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful set menu for a large group last October at the Tannery. The menu was very reasonable at €30 per person. We had a nice choice from the menu and the food was very good. My favourite was the main course, a chicken cassoulet, cooked to perfection! I also really enjoyed the chocolate dessert. The staff were very attentive, and the restaurant was very busy. If I had to pick a flaw, it was that we waited quite a long time between courses and drank a lot of wine while we did so, that made for a fantastic evening, but perhaps not something everyone would appreciate. I look forward to returning so I can sample the main menu, that seems even more appealing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tannery Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Tannery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tannery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.