We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad camp site in a lovely town and setting.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Butterfly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camping Butterfly to your Saves list
Camping Butterfly
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Lungo Lago Garibaldi, 11, 37019 Peschiera del Garda, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not a bad camp site in a lovely town and setting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I am basing this review on the 2 previous years in Bella Italia Camp site on the opposite side of Peschiera . In Bella Italia we booked direct with the site. In peak time, it’s from Sat to Sat, we usually arrive on a Sun and leave on a Fri. The great advantage of this, on leaving day we did not need to be out by 10am. But obliviously we were losing 2 days.
We also travel with 65 litre rucksacks which weight under 10kg for hand luggage on Ryanair. They are also used as our shopping bags for the bigger supermarkets such as Penny Market and Lidl.
The site is closer to the train station, 20mins walk. The nearest supermarket was Penny Market about 20mins away. We found the camp site supermarket very expensive. The cereals, meats and beer was almost double of the Penny Market. We did walk to Lidl which took about 40mins. There is a big supermarket about 20mins out the Gardaland road that I can’t remember the name.

The main reason we booked this is that I work most or part weekends and we could book with Canvas from any day to any day. Ended up booking 20 days, all my holidays, Thursday to a Wednesday, June/July for under €1700. It cost us this for 2 weeks with Bella Italia last year so we thought it was a good deal.

The camp is very small, with the reception small window access, with queues sometimes. The mobile was 6 berth with a deck and a/c. We found the beds very comfortable. The a/c had a push button time switch system. It switched its self off every 2hrs.
Initially when I was booking I rang the campsite to see if I could book for 20 days directly with them (they have a Sat to Sat policy so did not suit us) and enquired about towels and sheets and they told me the cost. Bella Italia have a laundry room where you collect and/or change your sheets/towels after paying at reception.
But when we arrived on site the Canvas rep showed us to our mobile (lovely free welcoming bottle of wine was waiting) and I asked about towels and sheets and he said because we did not book them online with the mobile they had none available. Went to the reception and they told us that because we did not book with them we needed to go back to Canvas. I explained that they had no sheets/towels and they gave them to us as a favor at a cost of course. The cost from the campsite is half the price from Canvas by the way.
Seemingly when you book with Canvas you leave sheets/towels in the mobile when you leave the last day and in our case if we did that, Canvas would take the sheets/towels and say they were theirs even though the site owned them. The receptionist was not impressed with Canvas and said this was happening too often.
In Bella Italia you actually bring the sheets/towels with you and hand them over for your deposit.

The funny thing is we did not have to pay a deposit. I did not query it but I thought it unusual.

After all this we settled in to a very quite holiday. The mosquitoes we out this year compared to the last 2 years where we got no bites.
This side of the lake is great for walking. We walked for 3 hrs on acceptable paths towards Lazise. We did not like this side of the lake for swimming. The wife is a bit nervous out of her dept and we found the Bella Italia side lovely to swim from one jetty to the other jetty in comfort, for her as you could stand up, way out.
The onsite restaurant was just ok. We thought €2 euro for an Americano was a little steep as again Bella Italia was only €1 for the same. On our walk to Lidl we found an Americano for €0.90.
The pizza’s were nice but the spaghetti was just ok. The staff were lovely though. It was the same price for a take-away aswell.
We found some lovely restaurants in the town such as La Terrazza out the Sirmione road. The clam soup was really lovely. Another was across the road from the Tourist Information down a little street towards the centre of town. It had lovely steak, spinach and Italian potatoes. My judge this year was to get Italian potatoes and not French fries in a restaurant. My idea being that if the restaurant do only French fries they were lazy with the rest of the menu.

There was one pool compared to Bella Italia 6 pools. Swimming hats must be worn. Nice for a dip but busy and only early in the morning for length swimming as it was empty.
The beds cost €2 a day. You have to pay at reception and they give you a receipt which you bring to the pool attendant. He will then give you the necessary mats for the beds and an umbrella.
Booking around 9pm, there was no problem getting where you want and leaving a towel on the seat was good enough. But I seen newcomers pay and put their beds in order and not having towels on them. If around lunch there are bed with no towels it seems to be acceptable to take them for free. Also some people would take beds with no mats without paying and would only be put off if someone arrived with a receipt for it. A younger pool attendant was very strict and did not allow drinking our own bottle water beside the pool. He was also very strict with the kids in the pool and people using beds without paying.

It’s a very small campsite and a nice walk to town. We were situated well away from the night time activities. The mobiles were a little close and you could hear people talking in the one behind when you were inside, probably coming in from the vents. This site is suited to family with small children as there was no sun bed rush in the morning not like Bella Italia and the activities suit them.
We prefer Bella Italia as the kids are late teens and the pool is not our thing really. It just seems to be more professional.
We had a bad experience with a restaurant just outside the front gate which we did not go back to.
We flew into Bergamo and paid €2 each for a zone 3 bus to the train station. Get your ticket in arrivals hall (place selling all kinds of coach tickets) and not at the machine outside as its quicker. The train to Peschiera was €6.80 each and we changed in Bresia. Total time takes about 2hrs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
56
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed in camping butterfly august 2011 with my 12 and 17 old daughters. I was disappointed in the poor access to the lake requiring stepping over endless stones and rocks. The pool in the campsite was excellent and very inviting. The mobile homes were on top of one another with no privacy. I found the Canvas reps Terry and Carmel friendly and helpful. I would recommend hiring a mobile which has decking as the dried up ground at the front of my Canvas mobile was unattractive and fully exposed to passerby . I did not enjoy my eating experience in the campsite restaurant. The pasta was originally presented cold and I returned it but I was offered dry up pasta with very little sauce. I would recommend hiring a motor boat which is good value at 38 euros for one hour accommodating 6 people. Garda Land was good fun and was 15 euros per person in the evening after 6pm with free transport to and from the theme park from Peschiera. I would like to return to Lake Garda but will travel the extra miles to the North of the lake

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We'd read some mixed and poor reviews of this place after booking and so were a little nervous. It is small, and if you were placed near some of the poolside activities I can imagine it would be noisy. We were well situated away from the pool and neighbouring camps. The site is mainly geared up for Dutch and Germans, but this was no problem for us and our 10 and 11 year old boys as the on site activities were of little interest to us.
As a base for exploring the lake and surrounding area it is excellent. Peschiera itself is lovely. The beach - 2 mins walk away - is great. Verona is 15-20 mins by train and Venice is 1 1/2 hours away by car. Canvas Holidays reps were friendly and helpful. Mobile home was comfortable and the a/c was invaluable. On site restaurant is good value and quality. The shop is no worse for prices than any other on site shop we've used.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We have just returned home after staying at Camping Butterfly with two young children (under 7 yrs old). We chose this campsite as it was described, on its own website, as an 'oasis of peace and fun', leading us to expect a small, quiet, relaxing site. This may be true in low season... however, we were there in July and found it more like a holiday camp than anything else. There are daily activity sessions in the pool, involving loud dance music for 1.5 hours every afternoon (same songs every day). Then the mini disco every evening (same songs again), usually followed by bingo/karaoke or other activities in the open air bar, only a few metres from the nearest mobile homes/caravan sites, until 11pm. Initially we felt lucky that our mobile home was not near to the activity area, until we realised that just the other side of the hedge from our pitch was the activity area of the much larger Del Garda campsite. Complete with LED screen, live music blaring out until between 11pm and midnight at least 6 nights a week, and sometimes in the daytime as well. Some of the pitches had noise disturbance from two sides - Butterfly and Del Garda. The second night our daughter was in tears at 10pm as she could not sleep due to the noise (so loud in the children's bedroom that we could have sung along to the tunes had we so wished). She finally dropped off, exhausted - but we then had tired, grumpy children in the daytime to deal with. After two days I was almost in tears. We tried to move but had no good options as it was high season. In the end we escaped as much as possible, and wore out the children in the daytime so that they slept through the noise. We have been to 15 campsites in France and never had this problem - we enjoy sitting outside in the evenings once the children are in bed, looking at the stars... this time we just could not relax. We love Italy very much but next time we'll try Agriturismo. Butterfly is ok if you like the constant entertainment and music, some of the pitches are quieter and it was clean, but they and the tour operators should be much more honest about what they are offering to avoid such disappointment.

Room Tip: If you want relative quiet in high season make sure you are away from the activity area and the bord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slagelse, denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed here with two teenage daughers. The site is busy with activities and a good family restaurant.
But forget about updating blogs and facebook. They charge 15Euro for 10 hours of internet usage, but it is insanely slow so uploading pictures is not possible. Complaints during our 10 days stay had no effect. Download speeds was 3-6 kBskbs,, yes!! THAT slow :). and it was on 3 differnet laptops and during all times on the day. Internet access just HAS TO BE THERE !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights in June 2011. Having stayed on many campsites before we arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were immediately dissapointed as to how crammed in the accomodation was. This is not a campsite if you want a relaxing, quiet evening. Every night about 8.30pm for an hour you get the same CD blarring out of kids songs, sometimes unnecessarily loud and then often a singer/caberet until 11pm which can be clearly heard round most of the site. On the first night i was also kept awake in the early hours of the morning for a long time by a drunk man singing and shouting on the top of his voice at the campsite next door, which our caravan backed onto. I am aware this is partly our fault for not researching the site better, but it didnt strike me when booking the site that it was like this.
On a good note though the staff were always very friendly and helpful, and the caravan was very clean and tidy. The site is also in a good location for travelling round the lake and visiting Verona and we enjoyed eating out in Peschiera town which is easy to walk into for evening meals, there are some very nice restuarants over looking the lake/river. Unfortuantly though this site was not our cup of tea, and would not stay here again.

Room Tip: noisiest accom near restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011 via mobile

We booked through Canvas and got what we thought was an excellent deal. Under £200 for a two bed caravan for a family of four for 12 nights.
The campsite itself was very clean and catered for small children. They had baths specifically for small infants close to the main entrance. There was a childrens pool and childrens play area. Our 15 month old boys loved it. The pool was quite cold but it was may and you have to wear swim hats. Sun beds were €2 each and you paid for these at the main reception.
The caravan itself wasn't spectacular but was excellent value for money. To say it was the start of the season the reps hadn't cleaned the carvans or checked the equipment worked. We had to write faults down on a piece of paper in he canvas tent. In fairness the light bulbs, smoke alarm battery and bedding were delivered within the hour of reporting. Canvas did cater for twins I.e provided two cots and highchairs. However, they couldn't / wouldn't take the bunk beds down in the second bedroom which meant the cots blocked the doorway.
We had a caravan with air-conditioning and I would recommend it as I was really hot during the day and really cold at night.
We also bought a bedding pack through canvas but it was approximately £10.00 cheaper to buy it through reception. Canvas reps were hardly ever available to speak with but the reception were fantastic and gave directions and maps.
We did lots of sightseeing. The campsite is approx a 15 minute walk into perschiera or the train station. There are frequent trains to Milan Venice and Verona. There are also frequent boats to various places around lake Garda. All are reasonably priced.
The camp site has a well stocked supermarket and except for alcohol isn't much more expensive than the larger supermarkets. We luckily took nappies with us because we didn't see any to buy in the right size.
We used lake Garda taxi firm to and from the airport. I booked them on the Internet before we went and they appeared to be a professional and well run firm.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Italy and are looking to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Butterfly

Address: Lungo Lago Garibaldi, 11, 37019 Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camping Butterfly 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Camping Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Butterfly Hotel Peschiera Del Garda
Camping Butterfly Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Butterfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.