We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Torretta

Ristorante La Torretta
Via G. Galilei, 12, 37019 Peschiera del Garda, Italy
+39 045 755 0108
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $39
Cuisines: Chowder, Noodle, Barbecue, Brasserie
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We decided on this restaurant after reading tripadvisor reviews, and we were very happy we did. We had a home made pasta first course with a mushroom and black truffle sauce, a main coarse of veal steak with rolled rosti filled with mushrooms and a side of grilled vegtables, I had a chocolate souffle with vanilla ice cream, and my wife had tiramasu all equally good, one of the best meals we have ever eaten.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    89
    26
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious traditional food, lovely atmosphere, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We chose this place on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews and were glad we did! It was literally a few seconds from the hotel we stayed in (Ai Capitani) and the outside dining bit was lovely.

The staff were polite, the atmosphere was lovely and the menu had a good selection of meat and fish cooked in 'the chimney' and traditional pasta dishes. I had the chimney-cooked lamb with potatoes and polenta and my boyfriend had some chimney-cooked fish, and we shared a plate of grilled vegetables. Everything was delicious. For dessert, we had tiramisu and the chocolate fondant (small but heavenly).

My glass of prosecco and then one of Rose came to less than his one bottle of beer! The total bill came to around 30 euro each, which we thought was pretty reasonable for what we got. A really enjoyable meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recommend this lovely restaurant. The staff are welcoming and the food is great. My son had a beautifully cooked piece of steak and rated it 10/10. Stay away from the front square and eat here. It is well worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a small restaurant on a side street so does not get too busy. The main part is in a conservatory-like bit at the front; slightly cramped but perfectly OK. We were seated in the back where there are only two tables and in the same area as the "chimney" cooking (basically a griddle) and on a hot evening this place got very warm! DON'T LET THIS PUT YOU OFF. The food is superb - try the local lake fish. Two of us had lavarollo (translated as chub?)
whole and grilled in herbs and oil. Best bit of fish I have had in a long time (beware though it is a bit bony). The service is very good; the waiter was good humoured and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

By far the best restaurant we experienced in Peschiera. This is 1st rate restaurant with food which you would be prepared to pay much more for in a top restaurant, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful to us. Their Engish and our Italian was very limited, however they were very helpful and tried very hard to chat to us.
We shared the shellfish starter, which was plenty for 2, perfectly cooked and came in the most delicious fresh garlic and tomato sauce. We literally left the plate bare, minus the shells!
For main courses my friend had the king prawns wrapped and fried in a pasta sheet, which was delightful and a fabulous twist on the typical foods of the area.
I had the Beef Chateubriand (a snip at 20Euro!). This was possibly the best piece of fillet I have had, served with delicious cheese and marinated vegetables, it was a delight.
I can't rate this restaurant enough, although it was a little more pricey than we had paid in other restaurants in Peschiera it represents excellent value for money and offers a fantastic service and food to match.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Torretta also viewed

Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante La Torretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Torretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.