We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small family-run jewel . . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria L'Antico Forno

Trattoria L'Antico Forno
Localita Ferrone-Impruneta-Firenze-Italia | Ferrone, 50023 Impruneta, Italy
+39 055 207131
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Impruneta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $71
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Marin County, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A small family-run jewel . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We tried this restaurant while staying in a villa a few kilometers away with a party of six adults - based on the TripAdvisor reviews we'd read. It was every bit as good as other readers have said - one of the two best meals we had during 12 days in Tuscany and Venice. When we arrived (with a reservation) at 7:30, the restaurant was empty and I was a little worried. But no need, from the very warm welcome from the owner couple, who somehow turned out amazing food from a tiny kitchen, to dessert and coffee, we loved every bite. The restaurant soon filled up with locals, but service was quite good, considering the number of guests. We enjoyed the best caprese salads we had on our entire trip, pasta with porcini mushrooms, veal scallopini, beef fillet with truffles, and thin cut fried potatoes followed by divine dolci. The wine list was fairly priced and had a good selection of almost exclusively Italian wines. Worth a detour! We had a driver who avoided the curvy 3km road from Impruneta but it's that close.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    40
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pleneuf-Val-Andre, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Everything just a bit better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

We've eaten here twice this week, not for lack of choice, but because we like typical Tuscan food (which is already pretty great) and here everything is just a bit more perfect. The pasta - of course everyone worth anything ofers homemade pasta - but here it's better (both the ingredients and the preparation) Or there's a dish you can get anywhere - Bistecca alla Florentina - but here the meat is so very, very tender and perfectly cooked. In short, everthing is truly wonderful, as for example the house wine, a Chianti classico from Tenuta Branca, a small producer just up the road. It's as far from a house wine as the thin cut fried potatoes with sage are from your average frites.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lucky pitstop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

With a long drive ahead of us, we decided to detour off the A1 motorway for dinner. We had intended to drive to Greve, but with 17km to go, we took a chance on this little Trattoria along the way. How lucky we were! We fell upon delicious veal ragu and ravioli with tomato and mascarpone. Service was very friendly and patient, especially given our lack of Italian. Bread was a disappointment though, and as with many Italian restaurants, don't bother with the insalata mixta. Save room for the perfect pasta!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sensational!!! Really!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Cosy little restaurant with wowww food.
A nice change to the usual italian kitchen.
the food was delightful and if you are into chianti wine you will love this place.
the perfect tuscany experience!
really enjoyed this!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy & USA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“What a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

A quick business lunch turned into a real pleasure.

Small family run place with good honest food at a reasonable price.

I am sure that my visit today will be the first of many.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria L'Antico Forno also viewed

Impruneta, Province of Florence
Impruneta, Province of Florence
 
Impruneta, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria L'Antico Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria L'Antico Forno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.