We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Casole d'Elsa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca to your Saves list
Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca
Via Aringhieri, 29, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B in Casole d'Elsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our two-week stay at this hotel (13-27 October 2012), which is really an up-market B&B. Rooms and common areas are clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were adequate, but not exceptional. The manager, Rachelle, was very welcoming, friendly and obliging - a really lovely person. We were a little disappointed that, having sat in the garden one day, the next day all the chairs were removed - the hotel suffers from a lack of areas to sit out and enjoy the views which are exceptional, although, to be fair, the garden is stated as being closed at the end of September. Plumbing in room 6 was rather hit and miss (inconsistent shower temperature). As other reviewers have mentioned the Tower Room (room 5) has stunning views. Parking is a little incovenient as it is approx 150 metres down a hill, but loading/unloading luggage can be done in front of reception.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5, the circular Tower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

this is a little gem. Only a handful of rooms- the best is number 5 the tower room.
A round bedroom with views to the north, east and west. Perfect hosts who will make you feel very welcome.
Excellent spot for exploring the hilltop towns of San Gimignano, Voltera, Radda and many more.
Sienna is only 30mins south east.
Casole d'Elsa is a pretty village with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops.
Fantastic scenery which is best viewed from the hotel terrace.

Room Tip: ask for room 5 - the tower room - best views in tuscany
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Torre dei Serviti for a complete week and it was the best hotel we had in our 21 day trip to Italy. It was a lovely experience away from the tourist crowds. Casole is small town, my favorite in Tuscany because it is so genuine and pretty.

The hotel is very cozy and romantic: the room is huge and has a great view. Everything looks very new and clean.

And the best part is the staff of the hotel. Very helpful and friendly.

I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night as it was the nearest location to a function we were going to in another town but this town did appear pretty and somewhere worth exploring. We got the fabulous tower room (which looking at their website is I think La Stanza di Francesco di Giorgio) and it is just gorgeous. Huge room and huge bed with the quintessential view of the Tuscan countryside out of the window. Very romantic. Small but well appointed bathroom. There is also a quaint English style garden across a laneway which is a pleasant spot to enjoy the sun. No swimming pool though (which is listed as an amenity on some of the booking websites) but a large Jacuzzi. Breakfast could be better – very standard and not making use of local produce. Unfortunately there is no outside terrace on which to eat it. The reception area is untidy which creates a rather bad impression on arrival. However I would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Wow! What a beautiful place to stay. The room was spacious, comfortable with stunning views over the tuscan countryside. If you are looking for a taste of real tuscany I can certainly recommend staying here. Casole d Elsa is a small but beautiful medieval village with an excellent restaurant in the centre serving traditional tuscan food. You will need a car to explore the surrounding area but you are in easy reach of San Giminanigo, Chianti, Florence and Sienna. If you want a relaxing day make sure you find the gardens.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights whilst touring Tuscany. We had a tower room which was huge with the most amazing views. Make sure you try the hot tub which overlooks the valley we had the whole garden to ourselves!! Only downside is breakfast fresh fruit would have been nice and the baked goods didnt taste fresh-this could easily be improved. A great quirky place though!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Casole d'Elsa is a nice place but this little hotel has a very stric policy about times, not very flexible.
If you get up in the morning after 9.30 you won't have a full breakfast but eat the left-overs!
If you leave your room after 11 in the morning, nobody will celan your room and didy up your bed !
Not to mention that this hotel is composed by only 4 rooms!
This is not exactly what we expected from a holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite and for the best treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via Aringhieri, 29, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medieval village of Casole d'Elsa, the Torre dei Serviti is a delightful small hotel, built partly into the city wall and one of its towers, reputedly designed by Francesco di Giorgio (the most fashionable military engineer of the early Renaissance until Leonardo came along...). Rooms and public areas are inside of a XIV Century Monastry and the Tower. All spaces have been completely renovated and Guests can feel unique sensations by living the history of the building. A stunning view over the Val d'Elsa hills, San Gimignano and all the Chianti area is at guests disposal from the Hotel rooms and common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre dei Serviti - Residenza d'Epoca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.