We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb facilities excellent food and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Hotel Aquaviva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relax Hotel Aquaviva to your Saves list
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Aquaviva, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb facilities excellent food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just returned from staying at the Aquaviva Hotel & Spa and can not recommend it highly enough. The facilities, espcially the pool were superb, the food was fantastic and the staff friendly and welcoming. It was a pleasure to stay there and a real dissapointment to come home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    66
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
50
84
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here the last week of June-and it was a great place to stay. It is located in beautiful countryside and away from traffic and noise. It is a great place to relax and chill out. We found the staff to be very helpful-even to cheerfully providing us with a proper cup of tea in the afternoon! The waiters in the restaurant were very diligent and polite. The spa facilities are great and my husband had an excellent massage. The pools were clean and well maintained, there is a waterfall to stand in-and the setting is amongst plantings of lavender, roses, and ginestra (broom)-it is a modern hotel but the outside is covered in ivy. Each room has a large private sitting balcony facing the valleys and the views go on forever: sheep on the hillsides and Casole D'Esta on the hill overlooking it. The bathrooms are spacious-plenty of water pressure and hot water. Our bed was very comfortable and with a good mattress. The b'fast spread is big-and typical of other Italian hotels I have been in. We enjoyed the food-it was lovely-and I say that having worked at a cooking school in Florence, Italy, with famous chefs...There are other good restaurants nearby. Poolside is clean and the chairs comfortable with working umbrella's. I would recommend this place-and have, especially if you are looking to simply rest, enjoy some R&R and not be an "tourist".

Room Tip: All the rooms face the valley-and have large, spacious balconies. Not a noisy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax Aquaviva ... C, Direttore at Relax Hotel Aquaviva, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are very pleased that your stay at the Aquaviva Hotel was nice!
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the review left by myself and all the staff. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel and the opportunity I invite you to try our spa with our treatments to make your stay truly relaxing!
Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great functional hotel- pool had a liner more akin to a paddling pool in terms of quality. Great though and you can't really fault it. Good views, big rooms and chilled out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good hotel and superb steaks ;) Nice people. Casole d'Elsa a short drive away also has a great restaurant at Osteria Casolina - set menu and great food. And always events in the town to watch out for. A really good place to simply relax and chill. (Second visit, btw.)

Room Tip: go for the sunny side overlooking the pool and a superb Tuscan view - but not a problem if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

having spent a wet week in tuscany we decided to check out of our previous hotel and were looking for a hotel with spa facilities and internet connection to escape the rain for a day and catch up on e-mails.

having read reviews and hotel description for the aquaviva we thought it fitted the bill.

the impression we had was that it was closer to siena than it turned out to be, but to be fair we hadn't checked hotel website for location details. Journey was hair raising at points , even our sat nav told us not to go!!


Upon approach our hearts sank - it was a motel style building. Upon check in they could not locate a key to a room for us, hotel was huge and i suspect no more than 10 parties were staying (a bit norman bates ) eventually we got our room. very spacious and a fabulous view. Huge wardrobe - what a bonus - only 4 coat hangers - how useful!

bathroom clean, but very basic - hardly any toilettries and horrible shower curtain etc

shower was not the best, water temp kept changing without warning.

bed soft squeaky and lumpy
hotel room had one power socket conveniently located miles from the mirror - not funny when I was trying to straighten my hair!
room had a safe - but you needed to pay for a key.

having checked in around 6pm and having time before dinner
we made a beeline for the pool area - were given a towel for the pool (had to pay if you wanted a robe)
pool area tired - mattresses on poolside beds were few and far between and ones that were out were mouldy. The jacuzzi was a bit of a death trap , but it sort of worked (only some jets operating) but indoor pool was a bonus.

the pool had no proper changing area so meant you either had to go through reception in swimmers or risk leaving clothes etc to get wet around pool

we enquired about spa treatments for the following day to be told it was the girls day off - so whole point of traveling there gone.
when we asked how to access the internet we were told they didn't have it that area! but as we couldn't check it out on our PC we couldn't argue about their description!!

dinner was ok (we chose really basic food grilled chicken and chips) we had a feeling everything else would be pretty bad, meal was overpriced but wine was nice enough. The waiter however was really nice and very helpful - kept us updated with the champions league results!

breakfast was absolutely terrible - waiter kept switching the toast machine off and turning the temp of the hot water / coffee machine to low. all i wanted was tea and toast and this seemed too much to ask for - and we were being charged euro26 each for the breakfast! we need to start liking processed cheese and tinned fruit a bit more.

based on the breakfast and no spa treatment and very tired pool area and very very remote location we cut short our booking and left immediately!

I would not recommend this hotel - so many better places to go and it wasn't even well placed for commuting to many other places.

on our trip we stayed in a mix of basic city hotels, motels, relais and luxury 4 star plus venues and visited a number of other venues (looking for wedding destinations) so I think fair to say this did not live up to reviews

to add insult to injury, the web rates for the hotel were euro76 but hotel was charging euro 105 (we booked direct as internet cafe not secure for credit card payment)

good news is we left and spent an unexpected day in san gimignano - checked into a lovely 4* that really is a 4* (but not had breakfast yet - will keep you posted!)

  • Liked — the wine and leaving!
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

Ok so it is not very easy to get to this hotel. We drove from Lake Garda to Tuscany and obtained directions through MapQuest which were very helpful until we got around Siena. From there the directions get very vague and just tell you to turn right in 800m or left in 2 km. Considering there are many roundabouts we got lost. So we stopped at a local gas station/car repair shop and since I don't speak Italian but do speak Spanish managed to explain where we wanted to go. One of the attendants was nice enough to escort us to the hotel :)

The area around the hotel is beautiful. There are endless rolling hills...you literally feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Note: may not be best suited for those who get sick to their stomach easily since the roads in/out are extremely windy (as in they wind alot, not the weather). The hotel was ok...the room was very large and we had a balcony facing the view. The reception was polite but couldn't really recommend anywhere where we could book a wine tour or any tours for that matter, One woman did suggest we visit Volterra, a nearby (about 20km) old town atop a very large mountain/hill that specializes in alabaster production. There was also some kind of torture museum there for those who are interested in that.

We didn't have time to use the hotel's pool but it always looked busy. All in all the hotel served the purpose was had intended- a place where we could base ourselves and explore cities in Tuscany. Next time we'll probably stay totally in Tuscany rather than commuting to other places.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

Having been told just before our holiday that we were being re-located to this hotel because of sanitation problems at their sister hotel (Gemini Hotel) about 4 miles away we were pleased with the location and beautiful far-reaching views. The room was spacious and had a private patio on to the garden. Cleaning was thorough and linen and towels changed regularly during our 10 day stay. The reception staff - French, German and English were helpful and pleasant. I had lovely aromatherapy massages (by a Romanian girl) and the gym facilities looked good although the jacuzzi was grubby.
UNFORTUNATELY the food in the hotel was poor, breakfast was a buffet of indifferent ham, processed cheese, cold boiled egg, some cereals, long-life packet croissant, bread that appeared stale every day and awful coffee. There was also a choice of tinned pineapple or tinned fruit salad every day for 10 days!!! In a country where the markets were overflowing with gorgeous fresh fruit - we started bringing in our own!! We were told that Italians don't do breakfast just coffee and croissant - well one of the delicious fresh croissants from the village bakery would have been fine for us, or a choice of the fresh breads we saw everywhere.
As the nearest restaurant was 4 miles away ('The Colombaia') and another one was an Enoteca in the village serving the same meal to everyone with no choices and no menu, the hotel restaurant was more convenient but the only thing we enjoyed was fillet steak (we asked them to hold the gloopy sauce!) Unfortunately always served with frozen frittes! Our verdict on the food was agreed with by other residents we spoke to of various nationalities.
It was very warm during our stay (28c) and nights were hot and sticky but we were told by the staff that by Italian law the aircon had to be switched off by the 1st October - so we sweltered!
It was quiet at the hotel and we did wonder whether it had just been a cost cutting exercise to move us and others over from the sister hotel. The Spanish owners were apparently on holiday in Spain so we couldn't ask them!
This hotel is well situated for visiting the beautiful Tuscan towns and villages - close to San Gimignano, Sienna and Volterra but do your homework before you go as the hotel do not provide any tourist information whatsoever - not a single leaflet in the room or at reception!! You must have a car as public transport was non existent, it was too far to walk to the village comfortably and taxis difficult to track down!
The advertised 'satellite' TV ( for english speakers) means CNN and BBC World news only!

  • Liked — Situation and views
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relax Hotel Aquaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Hotel Aquaviva

Address: Localita Aquaviva, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relax Hotel Aquaviva 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hilltop in Tuscany's Chianti wine district, Aquaviva Hotel & Spa offers panoramic views of the hills around Siena. It features a wellness centre with heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming pool, and a traditional restaurant. Each room comes with a balcony or patio. At Aquaviva you have free access to the pools. Children can have fun in the playground and baby pool. You can book the wellness facilities which include massages, a steam bath, sauna and Kneipp hydrotherapy. This relaxing hotel is decorated with antiques and original paintings that belonged to the owner's great-grandmother. Rooms and suites are air conditioned and come with satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Some rooms have a spa bath. The restaurant, Il Frate Godente, offers an a la carte menu of classic Tuscan and Italian cuisine. A generous sweet breakfast is served daily. Just 3 km away you will find the picturesque village of Casole d'Elsa, while the centre of Siena is 36 km away. San Gimignano and Volterra are within a 30-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relax Hotel Aquaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquaviva Hotel Casole d Elsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relax Hotel Aquaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.