We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place, will definitely go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo al Cerro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Borgo al Cerro to your Saves list
Borgo al Cerro
Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning place, will definitely go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have never written a review before but had too for this place. The accommodation is beautiful, even in the hot weather the rooms were so cool due to the thick stone. The grounds are beautiful and the swimming pool divine. My 4 yr old loved the play area and football area, it is ideal for people with children.You are in easy reach via car to pretty much all tuscany has to offer. We travelled around italy seeing rome and the amalfi coast also. Hands down my favourite part of the holiday was tuscany, and the truly stunning borgo al cerro residence played such a big part in making our stay in tuscany perfect.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Visited last week for a family wedding - what a great location for a wedding venue!
Our apartment was large with a garden, the swimming pool and grounds were superb and the staff friendly.
My only slight negatives were that the Wi-Fi was somewhat erratic and our apartment didn't have air conditioning, but neither would stop me recommending it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place for exploring Tuscany. Not so close to Florence, but well connected to the main roads (if you drive like Italian - fast :)).

Perfect place for families with kids. So the room was clean, equipped with necessary coffee machine and kitchen stuff. Pool is not the biggest in the world, but it's big enough.

Service is english speaking, so no problem with communication.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Borgo al Cerro. The grounds were beautiful, with fresh figs ripening on the trees, bushes of rosemary and sage, and grapevines with tasty grapes. The Villa we stayed at had a nicely equipped kitchen (even had a dishwasher!) and was very comfortable. Management was very friendly as well as all of the other guests. Our kids had a blast at the beautiful pool and we enjoyed meeting and chatting with folks from many different countries. The outdoor kitchen area by the pool was fantastic - a nice big built-in brick charcoal grill and a decent sized prep area allowed for a fantastic dinner one night. Also, there is a very good restaurant that is adjacent to Borgo al Cerro, so if you don't feel like cooking or driving, a very convenient and tasty option.

The location was fantastic and we were never too far from most of the more popular hill towns in Tuscany. We can't wait to stay at Borgo al Cerro again and are already planning another trip to Italia

Room Tip: C2 is a two level villa and has five bedrooms and can accommodate large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The most ideal place for families. We were in Villa Number C2, ten persons. Spacious great. Equipped with all necessary things and beyond. The place itself wide open with a large pool, a great place to have a barbecue. Although it is not hotel sheets and towels are clean and can be replaced during the week. There is a daily cleaning service available in an extra charge but also has simple cleaning measures to keep the place clean.The owner of the place, Mr. Pabalito helpful and helps all you need. Fluent in English. You can and should shop nearby (14 km) supermarket then prepare breakfast every morning with well-equipped kitchen. The villa's location is excellent. Located at the midpoint between Florence and Siena in Tuscany so that each point is far from a half hour to an hour away. Great place for a fair price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our third visit to Borgo Al Cerro, the first though as a full family holiday including our small dog - who was made very welcome.
We love the location and the ambience of the Borgo. Pablito and the team make you very welcome. we were pleased that the very good restaurant next door was open this time and we used it 3 times in the week, very handy to walk to and a good choice of menu.
The pool and the gardens are kept very neat and tidy - guests are invited to pick fruit from the many trees for their own consumption and the apartments are well appointed and a good size. The shower cubicles are perhaps a little small for some larger guests but that is really only a minor point. Overall the Borgo is a delightful little gem which we are happy to share - with perhaps just a chosen few!

Room Tip: families may prefer the pool facing apartments - those wanting a more peaceful stay or more shade, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We discovered Borgo al Cerro a few years ago and have been coming back regularly since. For families with small or growing kids this place is ideal. The pool and its surrounding areas are fantastic. Very family oriented so the little ones always make friends and play in both the pool and the beautiful gardens. Moreover, every year that we've been has seen upgrades in the facilities and apartments. Pablito and his staff really go all out to make your stay pleasurable.

The apartments and grounds are superbly maintained and well appointed, and all the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and easy going and the location is ideal. 10 minutes walk up the hill to the lovely village Casole d'Elsa, a lovely restaurant within 2 minutes walk of the complex and views everywhere that are sublime.

We've already booked for next year and are already looking forward to it. We love it here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool mean you can easier see your kids and still sit in the gardens if you like. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo al Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Cerro

Address: Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Borgo al Cerro is not easy to reconstruct, but from the old walls one can see signs of fortifications, which were perhaps justified by the fact tht it is located on the old customs road for Casole d'€™Elsa. Our 15 apartments of various sizes, and our 3 one-room apartments have simple and functional furnishings, but they are warm and inviting. All rooms have their original timbered ceilings and Tuscan terracotta flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgo al Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Al Cerro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo al Cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.