We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo al Cerro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo al Cerro to your Saves list
Borgo al Cerro
Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Gavle, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Borgo al Cerro was a fantastic place also in low season. Apart from that the place it self is great with all needed comfort, it works very good as a base to discover rest of Toscana. Given the fact you have a car of course. Thanks to Pablito and also the tips for genuin restaurant where I finally could eat the real famous Fiorentina steak.

/A couple from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoalcerro, General Manager at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
carissimi Andreas and Veronica
thank you very much for the nice words!
with my best wishes for a Happy 2012
Pablito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    36
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shimshit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were two families there, one with 3 kids and one (ours) with 4 kids.
It was our highlight of the 2 weeks in Italy this place and so easy to get anywhere in tuscany from there.
It is a beautiful place, inside the fields, all green and groomed
It was a wonderful time in the hotel.
Our relationships were with
Pablito, who was a generous and cooperating, and has an excellent english
The kids had plenty of places to run, even small football field
The sweaming pool is great and there are games like ping pong , darts, football table and few more.
we ate nuts from the ground, that fail from the trees. It was all pieceful and quite.
The room was well equipped, even a dishwasher and lots of pots, pans and knives to cut with
There are 2 bathrooms, very important for family with 4 kids
Pablito was always there to help and so does the crew.
All then time working , cleaning, mowing, painting, fixing something, and always with a smile.
Not far from the close village, and you can even walk there for joy if you want to climbthe hill.
REALLY recomended
p.s. - free internet with decent quality
אני ממליץ בחום.
היינו 2 משפחות, 7 ילדים מתוכם 2 תינוקות וזה היה פשוט מקום נהדר, מכניס אורחים ומסודר. חבל לי שלא המשכתי שם עוד כמה ימים.
מחיר הוגן ונותן תמורה

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoalcerro, General Manager at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Nimrod and your nice family
it has been a pleasure for us to host you in our place and really hope to have the opportunity to meet you all again :-)
all the best from Tuscany. Pablito & Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Our extended family (mum, dad, 3 year old, 9 year old, granny and grandad) stayed here for 7 nights and had a memorable stay - for all the right reasons I might add. It is in a rural location, with well kept grounds and well maintained "homely" accommodation. It is a fantastic spot. OK there is no air conditioning and if you sit outside at night or leave the door open you may get a few mosquito bites. However, I did expect that to be the case having researched the property fully. Shut the door and put on your repellent. I didn't find it to be a big problem. It was mid-80s F when we were there in late September and we did not find the accommodation to be overly hot inside. The gardens give a useful area for outdoor dining etc. Although not entrely private, they do provide an area for exclusive use.

We picked it because it was out of town, had a nice pool but also offered a short walk to the town (Casole d' Elsa). The walk may be short in distance, but be warned it is rather steep, with uneven stones under foot. It is a strenuous walk, not to be underestimated if you have any mobility issues (not really suitable for a stroller/ buggy either). However the surrounding views/ countryside are beautiful. It was extremely quiet when we were ther and relaxing. The pool is not heated and is pretty cold in September. There is a fussball table, dart board and table tennis table, which was all good family fun. We enjoyed stayoing around the pool so much that we only went sightseeing every second day.

Casole d' Elsa has perhaps 4 restaraunts, 2 pizza takeaways, a small convenience store, a buthchers, ice cream shop, ATM. It has real Tuscan charm and comes alive after 8:00pm. It seems to be a popular base for tourists exploring the local areas. If you want a supermarket then the best bet is the Co-op in Colle d' val de Elsa, which is about 10 miles away.

There is a good restaraunt at the apartments right next door (100 yards away), its quite reasinably priced and the food is good. It was very quiet when we were there and lacked some atmosphere as a result, but I coudn't fault the food. The staff are a freindly bunch too.

Pablito, the manager, was very professional, curteous, friendly and helpful. A real gentleman and a credit to the establishment.

I would love to go back again.

Room Tip: rooms looking onto the pool area get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoalcerro, Direttore at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Family,

thank you for your detailed and very nice review. But thank you especially for spending some of your time sharing with us, and other travelllers as well, your opinion.

We are very glad to read such a precise comment about Borgo al Cerro, because we can understand in this way what our guests really feel about us. We found it to be very useful to read your review, which deals with all the main aspects of a holiday here. This is the main goal of our asking our guests to provide us with a feedback: to get to know what they have really liked, and to become aware of any possible negative point.

We are glad that you liked both our place, our geographical position and the town of Casole d'Elsa, a little pearl that tourists are gradually discovering (and we do agree about the walk from Borgo to Casole: it is only 800 mt, but very steep indeed!).

Finally, I cannot but be pleased to read your comment about our staff. We all try to do our best to provide our guests with the most enjoyable vacation time and a welcoming atmosphere.

For the moment, our most sincere thank you for sending us your nice opinion, which is so much appreciated.

Best regards, hoping to see you soon again.

Pablito Portigiani
Borgo al Cerro Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Visited Borgo al Cerro in midt October and stayed in the Pisa apartment. Friendly people in the reception. Very nice place and everything kept in perfect conditions even in off season times. We were 2 adults and 2 kids and the Pisa apartment is perfect for a family of this size. Everything again clean and well kept in the apartment. A big plus is that the apartment has private heating so no problem when visiting in the non summer periods. Fresh bread was orders the day before and delivered each morning. Football table and table tennis for the kids. Just beside the Borgo is the "Antica Fonte" residens that has a restaurant within walking distance. All in all a great visit and we will come back one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoalcerro, Direttore at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Thomas,

it is with great pleasure that we have just read your review. Thank you especially for spending some of your time sharing with us, and other travellers as well, your opinion.

We are glad that you liked your holidays at our place. We try to take great care of all our 18 apartments, so that our guests can feel like home, in the meantime experiencing a Tuscan atmosphere around them. Thank you also for your nice words about the restaurant: we are happy it provides our guests with a useful (and very good!) service just a few steps away.

We always hope to improve more and more, but for the moment, thank you for sending us your positive opinion, this is very much appreciated.

Best regards, hoping to see you soon again.

Pablito Portigiani
Borgo al Cerro Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

A nice Tuscanian site, a bit remote (but that what makes it so special), some 1 hr from Florence and 40 min from Sienna. We’ve stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, well equipped and spacious.
Each room/apartment has its own garden, a nice pool (which we couldn’t use due to the weather).
We’ve stayed in October, and nights were cold. Apparently they don’t heat the rooms before November due to some local law.

We’ll be happy to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoalcerro, Direttore at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Alon and family,

it is with great pleasure that we have received your review. Thank you especially for spending some of your time to share with us, and other travelllers as well, your opinion.

We are glad that you liked our apartments: the two accommodations you chose for your group are particularly well located in the residence, being only a few steps from the pool; also, they have nice, big ground-floor living rooms, which is good for bigger groups like yours. We apologize about the heating, but it not permitted to switch it on until the 1st of November.

Thank you again for sending us your nice opinion, this is very much appreciated.

Best regards, hoping to see you soon again.

Pablito Portigiani
Borgo al Cerro Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This property was great. Large and spacious and well suited to day trips all around.

The restaurant next door is excellent.

The only thing we could have wanted was an oven for cooking and the charcoal BBQ is a challange.

Pablito the manager was fabulous .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoalcerro, Direttore at Borgo al Cerro, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear Niel,

it is with great pleasure that we have just read your review. Thank you especially for spending some of your time to share with us, and other travelllers as well, your opinion.

We are glad that you liked especially our geographical position (in the middle of Tuscany), and also the spaciousness of our place. We take great care of our two houses, so we always hope that our guests can feel like home, with something more: that is to say, a Tuscan feeling everywhere around them. We are also very fond of our pool and garden, which we think have always to look as nice as possible. Thank you also for your nice words about the restaurant and management.

We hope, nevertheless, that we will improve more and more. For the moment, thanks for sending us your nice opinion, this is very much appreciated.

Best regards, hoping to see you soon again.

Pablito Portigiani
Borgo al Cerro Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A very very kind staff, lovely place, useful facilities... Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo al Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo al Cerro

Address: Localita Casanova, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Borgo al Cerro is not easy to reconstruct, but from the old walls one can see signs of fortifications, which were perhaps justified by the fact tht it is located on the old customs road for Casole d'€™Elsa. Our 15 apartments of various sizes, and our 3 one-room apartments have simple and functional furnishings, but they are warm and inviting. All rooms have their original timbered ceilings and Tuscan terracotta flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgo al Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Al Cerro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo al Cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.