We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, perfect vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Banfi - Il Borgo to your Saves list
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious, perfect vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My fiancé and I just came back from a 3-day stay at Castello Banfi where we experienced a perfect vacation. Everything from the location and rooms (stunning 12th century castle), the view (this is on top of a mountain, serene breath taking view of the rolling hills...just wow), the accomodations (warm and inviting room, the pool was beautiful) the friendly and welcoming staff, to the wine and food. They even gave us 3 bottles of wine as a welcome gift and a bottle of olive oil upon our departure. You can expect the absolute best at Castello Banfi, we would definitely come back and recommend it to all of our friends and family.Good value for money well spent!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
170
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Luxury oozes out of this hotel, but in an understated way. Beautiful old refurbished castle, surrounded by their own vineyards. We stayed in a characterful room that was larger than our humble apartment at home, in what must have been the old stables or something. Everything we needed was catered for.
Very relaxing sipping sparkling wine by the pool, overlooking the stunning Tuscan countryside. Went wine tasting in their wine cellar/shop. Visited the glass museum on site.
Excellent taster meal with different wines for different courses.
This gorgeous hotel isn't cheap, but definitely worth every penny for the 10-star experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was there for a few days in June and liked it very much. The scenery around is beautiful, food very good, service equally so. Rooms are outstanding. The place is not cheap but a fair value for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a charming bit of Tuscany Castello Banfi is. An impeccable property, from the staff, to the winery, to the dining, and especially the rooms. Expect the best and you will not be disappointed.

Sitting at the pool, you hear the woodpeckers chattering, you smell the rosemary, see the birds grabbing a drink from the pool as they skim by, you feel that famous Tuscan sun. And at lunch or dinner, you taste a wonder meal. All your senses come alive at the Mariani's Castello Banfi!

Room Tip: The Summus suite was marvelous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Castello Banfi is a beautifully kept, luxurious castle in the Tuscan hills, with wonderful rooms, beautifully views, amazing food and, of course, fabulous wines from their own vineyards.
The staff are all extremely helpful and we felt super spoilt from the moment we arrived till the time we left - a once-in-a-lifetime break for us and we loved every minute of it!
This is not a cheap hotel but if you're looking for somewhere special for a special occasions, it is just so perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The room was incredible and worth the drive from Rome.

The quality of the food and needless to say the wine was first class. You can't go wrong with a Sangiovese wines, chardonnay's were all incredible. We had hoped to extend our stay for an extra day to enjoy the calm serenity of the amazing historic castle venue.

Worth a visit, and on the way through Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I have rented an apartment in Rome for 3 months to use as a base for traveling around Italy and Southern Europe. We recently spent three nights at Castello Banfi and had a wonderful experience at this amazing property. All of the great reviews that have been written on TripAdvisor are accurate and are well deserved. The property is exquisite, the views are breathtaking and the facility is very special. Our suite was large, clean, well appointed and had the towels and linens as well as soaps, etc. that one should expect from a five star facility like this one. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, so much so that my wife and I felt right at home as soon as we entered the gate to the hotel. The breakfast was very good and enjoying a cup of coffee while overlooking the beautiful valleys of grape vines was indeed a very special way to start the day.

My wife and I indulged in two dinners at their fine restaurant and both dinners were very good. Our dinners were accompanied by some very fine wines, and the total experience of dining in the candle-lit room was a wonderful experience. But what I found to be most special about staying at Castello Banfi was the serenity in midst of the Tuscan Countryside. It is impossible for me to describe how totally relaxed we felt after spending just a short time at this very special place.

The only regret of our stay was the massage that we had in our room. We had a masseur and a masseuse come to our room to give us both a "deep tissue" massage. The therapists were not good and they were very expensive. This was the one part of our stay that I would skip. If my wife and I ever return to Tuscany, we will definitely stay at Castello Banfi ... It is a truly amazing and very special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.