We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay at Banfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Banfi - Il Borgo to your Saves list
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay at Banfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Luxury oozes out of this hotel, but in an understated way. Beautiful old refurbished castle, surrounded by their own vineyards. We stayed in a characterful room that was larger than our humble apartment at home, in what must have been the old stables or something. Everything we needed was catered for.
Very relaxing sipping sparkling wine by the pool, overlooking the stunning Tuscan countryside. Went wine tasting in their wine cellar/shop. Visited the glass museum on site.
Excellent taster meal with different wines for different courses.
This gorgeous hotel isn't cheap, but definitely worth every penny for the 10-star experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
182
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was there for a few days in June and liked it very much. The scenery around is beautiful, food very good, service equally so. Rooms are outstanding. The place is not cheap but a fair value for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a charming bit of Tuscany Castello Banfi is. An impeccable property, from the staff, to the winery, to the dining, and especially the rooms. Expect the best and you will not be disappointed.

Sitting at the pool, you hear the woodpeckers chattering, you smell the rosemary, see the birds grabbing a drink from the pool as they skim by, you feel that famous Tuscan sun. And at lunch or dinner, you taste a wonder meal. All your senses come alive at the Mariani's Castello Banfi!

Room Tip: The Summus suite was marvelous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Castello Banfi is a beautifully kept, luxurious castle in the Tuscan hills, with wonderful rooms, beautifully views, amazing food and, of course, fabulous wines from their own vineyards.
The staff are all extremely helpful and we felt super spoilt from the moment we arrived till the time we left - a once-in-a-lifetime break for us and we loved every minute of it!
This is not a cheap hotel but if you're looking for somewhere special for a special occasions, it is just so perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The room was incredible and worth the drive from Rome.

The quality of the food and needless to say the wine was first class. You can't go wrong with a Sangiovese wines, chardonnay's were all incredible. We had hoped to extend our stay for an extra day to enjoy the calm serenity of the amazing historic castle venue.

Worth a visit, and on the way through Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My wife and I have rented an apartment in Rome for 3 months to use as a base for traveling around Italy and Southern Europe. We recently spent three nights at Castello Banfi and had a wonderful experience at this amazing property. All of the great reviews that have been written on TripAdvisor are accurate and are well deserved. The property is exquisite, the views are breathtaking and the facility is very special. Our suite was large, clean, well appointed and had the towels and linens as well as soaps, etc. that one should expect from a five star facility like this one. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, so much so that my wife and I felt right at home as soon as we entered the gate to the hotel. The breakfast was very good and enjoying a cup of coffee while overlooking the beautiful valleys of grape vines was indeed a very special way to start the day.

My wife and I indulged in two dinners at their fine restaurant and both dinners were very good. Our dinners were accompanied by some very fine wines, and the total experience of dining in the candle-lit room was a wonderful experience. But what I found to be most special about staying at Castello Banfi was the serenity in midst of the Tuscan Countryside. It is impossible for me to describe how totally relaxed we felt after spending just a short time at this very special place.

The only regret of our stay was the massage that we had in our room. We had a masseur and a masseuse come to our room to give us both a "deep tissue" massage. The therapists were not good and they were very expensive. This was the one part of our stay that I would skip. If my wife and I ever return to Tuscany, we will definitely stay at Castello Banfi ... It is a truly amazing and very special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had looked at this hotel on line before a trip to Tuscany and discounted it since it was just so expensive. However, one lunchtime we found ourselves in the wine shop enjoying some tastings, chatting to the staff and soaking up the amazing views and enjoyed ourselves so much we thought, what the hell, went on the ipad using their free Wi-Fi and booked a room for the next two days (we had one night left at our hotel in Montalcino). I booked the most reasonably priced room that they had but cheekily said in the email that we were making the booking from their wine shop and was there any chance of an upgrade.

The next day we drove back feeling very excited (no problem finding it this time!) and checked in. Glass of sparkling wine pressed into our hands, lovely friendly staff checking us in. One of them said - we noticed you asked for an upgrade and we do actually have a better room available for the next two nights so we have put you in that one - I was surprised, very pleased and a little bit embarrassed, but hey why not!!

Our bags were taken care of and we were shown around the beautiful and perfectly formed hotel and grounds. On to our room - which turned out to be a fantastic suite of rooms - 2 huge bathrooms, a lovely sitting room and large bedroom with fantastic views. The fridge contained complimentary chocolates, half a bottle of sparkling wine and a sweet pink wine. We were also given a complimentary half bottle of red wine. I later found out that we had actually been given a triple upgrade!

Back to the hotel. The swimming pool area was lovely, nice seating, fabulous views. Complimentary water was available nearby. Breakfast was served near the pool and there was a fantastic selection - hot choices cooked to order - fantastic omelettes. At 7 every evening there was a complimentary wine hour in the library. A waiter was on hand to served red, white or sparkling wines, canapés were available. It was a lovely chilled experience - board games and books available - a nice way to spend a civilised hour before dinner. We had the tasting menu at the restaurant the first night - the food was exquisite - it was all just so perfectly done - the wine amazing. We decided to go back the next night because despite the cost we just did not want to leave the Banfi bubble until we had to.

It was a dream of a stay - when we left we felt like we had been there much longer than two nights - but not long enough! It was expensive but it was worth every single penny and I am so so glad that we stayed there. It is a hotel in a million - but it would not be the place it is without the incredible staff

Room Tip: they all look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.