We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Banfi - Il Borgo to your Saves list
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay a couple of nights in an amazing room (San Angelo) which was overlooking the rose garden as part of a driving holiday. Room was split over three levels and beautifully decorated.
We dined in both La Taverna and the more formal restaurant and experienced some wonderful food and wine. Canapes and wine were also served in the library area. We were able to have breakfast outside on one of the mornings as the weather was in our favour. The grounds and buildings are spectacular with stunning views.
Service was exceptional throughout with many extras included and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Bathroom in San Angelo room was brilliant but only had a shower which suited us perfectly. Also as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
171
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BUENOS AIRES
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Right in the middle of italian Tuscany (la Toscana) not far away from the ancient Montalcino city, is located Castello Banfi (Castello di Poggio alle Mura) where we stayed three nights.
We were in one of the just 14 rooms it has, number 15, named Excelsus. An appartment with bedroom living room and two enormous bathrooms (each the size of a reasonable appartment bedroom about 20/25 sq meters. Is a recently renewed construction with fabulous views to the vineyards, exceptional service from the reception, the people at the restaurant, those who carry the luggage and the guides of the winery tour. Everybody speaking english, some of them also spanish all of them directed by a Spanish guy from Mallorca, Juan Miquel, exceptional manager with whom we talk several times. We dined all the three nights to avoid driving to and from Montalcino in the night. The food was very good but maybe they need more options to satisfy returning clients. All that paired with their exceptional wines like Brunellos de Montalcino or SuperTuscans. An experience to recomend and repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had the most amazing visit at Castello Banfi. We highly recommend doing the tasting dinner at the restaurant, they match wonderful wines with delicious dishes. The tour of the Banfi winery was also great, and the wine tasting. The staff was stupendious, answered all our questions, arranged visits to other wineries, dinners, and day trips. There is tea at 4 and wine at 6. Breakfast was delicious. The entire stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Everything at Castello Banfi was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We didn't want to leave Castelllo Banfi. What a wonderful, peaceful place. A perfect location to return after daily road trips to villages and hilltop towns. Every morning we took long walks along the vineyards - discovering a hidden old farmhouse, lakes and a friendly donkey. We found the staff very helpful and courteous and the restaurant was excellent. The best location in Tuscany to relax and enjoy - an anniversary to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everything at Castello Banfi is done with the comfort of the guests in mind. The design and decoration of the rooms is beautiful, and it all retains the character of Tuscany - we absolutely loved it. We strolled around the grounds, visited the glass museum, and relaxed in the reading room. Everything was perfect.

We did the tasting menu in the restaurant and were impressed with the food, the wines and the service. The breakfast, with eggs cooked to order, was a rarity in Italy.

I can't imagine that anyone would ever find reason to be disappointed in any aspect of the facilities or services at Castello Banfi. It was our final stop before returning to Rome to fly home, and I couldn't have asked for a better end to our 3 1/2 weeks in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved Castello Banfi. We stayed four nights at the beginning of a three week holiday in Italy. Our room number 37 "Principessa", was a free standing building with a large bedroom, separate sitting room with table and chairs and a very spacious bathroom ( shower only). The bedroom and bath had large windows with beautiful views of the valley below.

We found the food to be excellent. We had their five course "Tuscan" dinner with wine pairing. With all that food and wine it was a challenge just to finish. Luckily we only had to walk a short distance back to our room. We also ate lunch there and had one other dinner at the hotel restaurant.

The property is situated on about 7,000 acres of vineyards, olive trees and forested land and we took walks everyday down the roads that cut through the property. There was an olive tree in the middle of the guest parking lot that I was told was over 300 hundred years old! Although the property is located in the quiet country side, there are several dining options close by so your not confined to eating at the hotel every night nor do you have to drive all the way into Montalcino for a meal. The village of San Angelo in Colle is about 15 minutes away and has two really nice restaurants. There is a small village just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel that has one nice local restaurant where we had an excellent pizza. However, this property is so tranquil and beautiful that staying on the property is a good option.

We hope to return to Castello Banfi again someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Now this is called a property and experience combination...truly world class...
It's expensive but worth every penny
If you get a chance ....don't hesitate to stay in the middle of nowhere cause this is world class in every way

Room Tip: Any room is good but the first floor ones better cause of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.