We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castello Bonfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castello Banfi - Il Borgo to your Saves list
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Castello Bonfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Castello Banfi in Montalcino. We have stayed at many of the best resorts in the world and this is now one of them. The facilities are beautiful, the staff was incredible and the food and wine were also wonderful. This is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
163
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I had one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had! Castellow Banfi is an amazingly romantic place. The staff is incredible. And the food and wine are wonderful. We could not have asked for a better romantic getaway...and we have traveled all over the world. We would highly recommend staying here, enjoying the natural beauty, the accommodations, the staff, the food and the wine!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, we would recommend asking for a room with a view. You will not be disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

While many reviewers have lauded the setting, the service and the wine - all of which are superb - our fondest memory of Castello Banfi will always be the hours we spent cooking with Chef Samuele Scinardo. His cuisine is delightful in the restaurant, but his delightful, patient personality makes even the clumsiest cook achieve greatness. He guided us through the preparation of a four course meal, and then we got to eat it accompanied by the appropriate Banfi wines, of course. It was simply terrific and we'd do it again in a heartbeat! Thank you, Samuele!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

BEAUTIFUL place, literally a little piece of Heaven
Fantastic rooms
Location is super cool and so so beautiful
Service is really good
Just breakfast a little bit "quiet" but good enough to start the day
Lunch & dinner great restaurant, great service
Wine, so so

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful property twice during this trip. After the disappointment of arriving in a touristy Florence we phoned up the wonderful staff at Banfi and returned for a second stay the following day. We booked a Spring Special consisting of the Suite and Breakfast, a sumptuous Tuscan Tasting Feast, and Wine tasting / Winery tour. We actually as a result experienced the special twice!

The actual property is 7000 acres as Banfi now is the largest winery in the area. (noted comment by Lotsofpepper about the Mariani's owning too much of Brunello Territory) There is the option to hike over their spectacular property with stupendous views, sights of deer, rabbits, and even wild boar. The food was spectacular both in the Taverna and the Sumptuous Tuscan Breakfasts.. The highlight of breakfast being small custard filled home made "donuts" fruit tarts and made to order omelettes. Dinners too were spectacular.

Thanks to Marco our waiter, and Andreas the hospitality manager for facilitating both of our visits.

A word to those trying to get to Banfi... MAKE SURE YOU HAVE AN ACCURATE GPS... It is almost impossible to find without one!

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

amazing,fantastic experience in castello banfi il borgo,staff very very friendly,rooms big,excellent and confortable.
breakfest very good,you must try castelo banfi once if you visit tuscany
swimming pool medium,may be because now is winter,but a little dirty your area,could be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The American firm Banfi own (too) much of the Brunello territory. In my opinion they are not the best wine makers, but they sure know how to build a great hotel. Just like Disney knows how to make good kids movies.
Everything is excellent. The room is huge (the shower alone as big as a room in NYC), beautiful, comfortable. The service is perfect. Breakfast is great. We had a package deal with dinner included, which was great, only minor point was our smoking neighbor.
The pool is beautiful, with breathtaking view, service around the pool is truly 5 star.
In the reading room one can drink as much (Banfi) wine as one likes, while listening to (good) classical music.
To be short: fantastic experience! Very memorable indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.