We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wine drinkers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Save Saved
You added Castello Banfi - Il Borgo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Montalcino
bucharest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“wine drinkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

would say best choice for wine drinkers ,special thanks to sara ,mr matei from lerida,also familia marianni to make such a great place .had great dinner but most important we had try all the good wine they had from rosso di montalcino till poggio al oro,bellnero,poggio alle mura and more
great wiew and great people all the best

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
150
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

And I mean UNBELIEVABLE. I giggle at times when visiting Banfi, because it seems almost cliche'! So cliche' you don't think this kind of place REALLY exists, but IT DOES!

This is the FIGURE HEAD property for the Banfi brand, so it is marketed mostly to Americans, but Italian through and through.

When you arrive, you won't believe your eyes. Layed out in an old village, each block of rooms is a different part of "town". A private little town though, population: guests of Bafi.

We were upgraded on arrival (standard practice in Europe, if avail) lovely views, HUGE room, and even larger bathroom! We even had a view of the vineyards from the toilet!

Side note: As I mentioned above, it is STANDARD practice in Europe, in all hotels, to upgrade you IF AVAIL. So, don't pay extra for a travel plan that offers this at a premium! Is a free service anyway!!! Anyway, back to the review. . . .

Romantic, PLEASE, oh yes! We stayed here while traveling with friends on their 10 yr. anniversary, but each couple had plenty of space to have their own "anniversaries"!

Make sure to tour this wonderful property! Hand holding required guys! There are hidden gems around each corner. Ask where the library is for sure. You'll find a self serve bar there :-).

Now, I wouldn't recommend this for a long stay. It's quite lovely to be sure, but there isn't much to do here. It's out of the way, quite a ways out of the way. But a must stop if in the region.

I would recommend three or four days TOPS!

Service is TOP DRAWER! Expect it! We were told the place was nearly FULL when we were there, but we felt like we were alone, even at the gorgeous pool!

There's quite a lot of stuff complimentary here. Each night we had a free bottle of wine (YMMV) in our room, and there are complimentary selections at the self serve pool area too. Of course, if you desire a finer selection of wines, they are available for a fee.

Banfi wines are NOT high end, so their wines are inexpensive to drink on the property. My kind of place ;-)

There is a fine dining facility here. Your only option on the property for dinner. Yah, do this. Fabulous meal and service each time. This is the kind of place you spend 150 per person (if you drink wine) easy, and you feel you ripped THEM off!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, you'll most likely get one free. Ask to see your options! I think there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Banfi for 3 nights in September while on our honeymoon. Service was excellent, the grounds are very well kept. The hotel is on a hill surrounded by vineyards, amazing view. Daily breakfast had fresh pastries, fruit, eggs made to your taste and of course coffee. The room had complementary wine selection from Banfi winery, each evening complementary drinks were served in the library. Food at the restaurant was the highlight - we actually ended up eating there lunch and dinner each day - that's how good it is!

The hotel is in remote location, so more suitable for those who are looking for quiet time with great food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's hard to know where to begin. We had 3 wonderful nights here in a fabulous suite. The meals (especially the 5 course dinner with wines) were incredible and it was made even more special by the amazing staff. If that wasn't enough, the location was great for exploring the area. We found some great (reasonable) wines which we sent home. When we open them we'll remember the magically time spent in this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This property is amazing and so romantic. We stayed here two nights and it wasn't enough. They immediately upgraded us when we got here and I loved our room and bathroom....both HUGE and filled with so much charm and character. Definitely take some time to walk around the property as everywhere you go is just gorgeous and you'll find little hidden gardens. We didn't have time to use the pool but it was beautiful. Breakfast every morning was excellent and we ate at the restaurant one night which was excellent as well. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly. Another little perk....free bottles of water around the property. We stayed in five hotels in Italy and all charged anywhere from 7-10 euros a bottle so this was a nice extra! I would love to go back! One side note...if you're using a gps to get you there it doesn't recognize Castello banfi or the address. You need to put in something else which another reviewer below mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

OMG! Wow! Tuscany has long been on my bucket list, so when my husband surprised me by telling me to plan a trip there for my birthday, I selected Castello Banfi from reading all the wonderful trip advisor reviews. We were bowled over by the beauty of the region while traveling by car to get to the estate. Upon driving up the long, tree lined driveway it became apparent that this was going to be a special place. It is a very private location. You must ring the bell at the gate to speak with Reception and they immediately send the porter on small cart to open gate, load your luggage and transport you to the reception area. Our reservations were made at the end of their season, therefore, we were given an upgrade to a gorgeous suite overlooking the vast acres of hills of vineyards into the valley. It was hard to leave our beautiful suite - it was just too perfect and too easy to linger. This was an excellent place to use as a base to travel to the historical towns of Tuscany. Some of those easily accessed from Castello Banfi are Montalcino, Pienze and Montepulciano. Also, the Val d'Orcia is moments away and as an UNESCO site, one of the most gorgeous vistas on the planet. Getting back to Castello Banfi, dinner at their lovely restaurant was wonderful. We had a five course tasting menu with paired wines on our first night there and it was the best meal of our trip. Better than any dinner we had in Florence. It was so good, we decided to eat there on our 2nd night, a la carte, and we were not disappointed. Awesome food and service. Of course, there is also the tasting room within steps of the restaurant which has got to be the most lovely tasting venue in Tuscany. Castello Banfi mails the wine back to the states. Try the Italian blends flight. Heaven. Already planning next trip there, only this time with my lady friends because Castello Banfi offers a great package to do culinary lessons at local farmhouses, simple Tuscan food. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Only 14 rooms, all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W-burg, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our three night stay at this beautiful castle hotel was the highlight of our two week trip to Umbria and Tuscany. We stayed in room #15 and it could not have been lovelier, with a bedroom, spacious living room and two full bathrooms. The staff is wonderful - from the concierge, to the hotel director, to the staff in the dining room - they were more than helpful and gracious. We had two dinners at La Taverna and both were absolutely fabulous, but the wine tasting dinner exceeded all our expectations. The Banfi wines and olive oil were excellent. The setting, overlooking the vineyards and olive trees, was like a dream come true. There were many extras, including a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning, and wine in the library in the afternoon. Our day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino were easy drives, but very glad we had a GPS. If you want to splurge on one fabulous hotel during a trip to Tuscany, I would vote for this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.