We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Banfi - Il Borgo to your Saves list
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
W-burg, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our three night stay at this beautiful castle hotel was the highlight of our two week trip to Umbria and Tuscany. We stayed in room #15 and it could not have been lovelier, with a bedroom, spacious living room and two full bathrooms. The staff is wonderful - from the concierge, to the hotel director, to the staff in the dining room - they were more than helpful and gracious. We had two dinners at La Taverna and both were absolutely fabulous, but the wine tasting dinner exceeded all our expectations. The Banfi wines and olive oil were excellent. The setting, overlooking the vineyards and olive trees, was like a dream come true. There were many extras, including a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning, and wine in the library in the afternoon. Our day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino were easy drives, but very glad we had a GPS. If you want to splurge on one fabulous hotel during a trip to Tuscany, I would vote for this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
171
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Castello Banfi is the height of luxury and Tuscan beauty. It has it all - beautiful location, winery, wine tasting and tours and top notch restaurants. The e-book Tuscany by Car - Central Hilltop Region has downloadable GPS coordinates that will bring you straight to Castello Banfi and some of the best hotels, restaurants and sites throughout Tuscany. It was worth it just for Castello Banfi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this place. Didn't want to leave. Booked a three night package, and it was worth the splurge. Stunning property in a beautiful area. Good location for day trips to Siena, Piensa, etc...Service and rooms were excellent. Ate in the on site restaurant twice and loved it. Lots of complementary wine to drink in the minibar and library. Tip - don't buy wine or other products on site. Cheaper in nearby town. Ask to see the Balsamery (where they make the vinegar even though they aren't allowed to call it Balsamic vinegar) and make sure you taste it, especially during meals. Beautiful pool, glass museam and walking grounds. Make sure you have a map and directions!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

First off the setting and arrival is amazing. Fortunately the navigation recognized Poggio alta Mura, which is very important to know if you are relying on technology to assist in navigating the vast windy roads of Tuscany. The Castello is breath taking and the views inspiring. The staff was attentive, friendly and eager to speak english or italian. After a year or so of studying italian, I wanted to speak italian, but realized I needed to study more. Either way they enjoyed my effort. We were not advised of the complimentary Library wines at first, but the atmosphere is conducive to mingle with guests or isolate if desired. We opted for a junior suite with sitting area, nice to have extra space to spread out. My only wish unfulfilled was a balcony from the room in which I could enjoy the outdoors without having to leave the privacy of my room. For those who want complete isolation, the resort only offer 14 rooms, so you rarely see people, but the rooms are located in a small concentration of buildings originally built in the 1800's for the wine staff. Meaning, you are close to your neighbors. I have traveld to many destinations, especially love the wine regions, and this is among a top 10 for me personally. I sugest an upgraded room with a view/balcony if available (I don't think they exist), and make sure you walk the grounds and enjoy the splendor of the locations. Bellissimo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The day we checked in turned out to be the wettest day of our trip and even Andrea at Banfi commented that it was coming down really hard. The weather though did not discourage us and as you drive up to their location you can't help admire the setting you're in - from the large, deep valley views, to the brilliant castle-like setting this place is quite amazing. The room we stayed in was very large and exuded the country like setting we were expecting. As someone else stated in an earlier review, the bathroom is indeed very dated and quite definitely use an update. The grounds are stunning, and when the weather had cleared overnight, the views from the pool were incredible. Dinner at their taverna was a very decadent 5 course tasting event and I found their wait staff to be friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wines. We did do some wine tasting prior to our departure and enjoyed the complimentary cheese and salumi provided. Overall I give this place 4 stars - the 1 star missing would be for the very dated bathroom and the fact that we were on the ground floor and could hear our neighbors upstairs and behind us. The sleep quality because of this wasn't as great as we would have liked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our visit started off on the wrong foot as we discovered the driving directions on the website are absolutely awful. You need to look for "Poggia Alle Mura", the name of the historic castle where the hotel is located. I'm to sure why it doesn't say that anywhere, but the omission caused us much time and frustration. By the time we got there we were tired and very hungry, but were told was no room for us at the restaurant, causing even more frustration. So we had a sad little snack from the breakfast nook, and hoped things would get better, which they thankfully did. Our room was large and lovely- a nice mix of period decor and modern amenities. We booked a package which included massages and a large tasting dinner. The food at the restaurant was fantastic - some of the best we had in Italy- but the massages were pretty awful. I definitely would not book them again.
The grounds are stunning. Truly an extraordinary place to have a hotel. I really wish the pool and gym were nicer. The latter is a small room with a stationary bike and an elliptical machine. Nothing more except bugs.
I'm not sure it's worth going to Banfi as a destination in itself, but if you want to be in the area for other reasons, it's a nice place to stay. Oh it should be noted that Banfi wines are far from the best in the area, in my opinion. So if you're a wine snob, like we are, you might be a touch disappointed in them.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Prior to our arrival we had a number of logistical questions; despite the time difference, we received prompt, helpful responses. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to a suite. The pictures don't do this location justice! Staff was warm and hospitable. The attention to detail and the anticipation of needs (stamped postcard in the room, wine in the library,, etc) is what makes this property stand out. The food was outstanding! The saltwater pool is fabulous, as is the intimate feel given the 14 rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.