We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piombaia

Save Saved
You added Piombaia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piombaia
Localita La Crocina 1, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were so pleased with Piombaia when we stumbled on it during our honeymoon. It is family run and the owners are so warm and cute. They will really go out of their way to make sure your trip is wonderful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed six nights, and I wish we were still there. Located between Montalcino and San Antimo with views of the valley, vineyards, and olive groves. We bought food for breakfast in town and prepared it each morning in the kitchenette. Very private, excellent value, simple Tuscan charm. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Love the views, location and staff!
Room is basic but well maintained.
We, however, do not like the food at the Osteria, except the desserts which are spectacular.
Thank you, Vittorio and Susanna, for the hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here. Massive rooms with all kinds of stuff do to! Very friendly and accomidating.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We visited Piombaia for 10 days in August as a family holiday. We had a fantastic time in every way. The farmhouse accomodation, although basic, had everything that we needed and anything that we required as an extra (such as a cot for our baby) was supplied.
The setting of Piombaia is beautiful. The views from every window are like looking out at a picture postcard scene of Tuscany. The swimmng pool is uncrowded and surrounded by lavendar bushes. The swimming pool is cleaned daily and topped up with fresh water.
The Rossi- Cantini family who run Piombaia were friendly and helpful. They came to chat and to check that we were happy, to recommend places to eat and to help us to make reservations. We did a cookery lesson with Cecilia which was great fun and she was able to cater for one of our party's special dietry requirements.
All in all, we had a relaxing holiday and would love to return to Piombaia if we ever get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very attentive staff who were always willing to help us with whatever we needed. They were very nice and warm people, who really seemed to care about our holidays being good. If we had any trouble with internet or whatever, they were instantly responsive. They would make reservations for us at wine tastings, restaurants, etc, and they knew all of the good places to go. The rooms was spacious and the prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were in Piombaia just 3 days, and it was great! Romms are very clean and nice, the location is very calm and pleasant. Stuff was really friendly and we felt like at home. We are very glad, that we stayed in Piombaia. Looking forward to the trip back to Montalcino.
Dear Piombabia team, thank you very much! We wish you a lot of success in future.
Oksana & Thorsten

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Piombaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piombaia

Address: Localita La Crocina 1, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty lodging in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Piombaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piombaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.