We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel, Great Town, Valley View is Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Capitani to your Saves list
Hotel dei Capitani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lapini 6, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel, Great Town, Valley View is Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our second stay at DeCapitani.
Staff friendly and helpful, good restaurants nearby (after all, you're in Italy), wonderful breakfast.

If you're driving, be aware that parking is very limited and accessible via a short VERY STEEP driveway that will test your skills.

Be sure to request a valley view. The mornings are spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    130
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
170
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was very convenient for exploring the small town. The breakfast room was delightful and the food was good quality. The staff were very good and helpful. It was pleasant to sit outside overlooking the pool and the fantastic view from the hotel. Our room was quite small but the view compensated for this.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel have fantastic views, some with small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel del Capitani is a great little hotel. It's clean and conveniently located in Montalcino. It's a short walk (though uphill) to the cafes and shops. We stayed 5 nights here in July and loved it. It's on the side of the mountain with a small infinity pool overlooking the valley. There's breakfast every morning with fruits, cheeses, meats, pastries, and cereals and the staff are friendly and attentive.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was 2 stories. It had a bed in the loft and a great window looking out over the valley. Bathroom was on first floor and there was a small desk and wardrobe on first floor as well. Not a place to hang out in and relax, but was great for sleeping. The bed wasn't very comfortable, but none of the beds were during our 2 week stay in Italy. We also had issues with the shower (it was a bath with a shower attachment) not keeping water in the bath. Any time we showered we'd have a flow of water running on the floor. Luckily they provided lots of towels and it was easily remedied.

The walls are thin, which I'm sure is an issue at any small place in Europe, and on our last night a family stayed in the room next to us. Their infant kept us up a bit later than we wanted but it would be an issue anywhere.

The rooms were also reasonable by the standards we found in Italy and ended up being a bargain for the experience we had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This little hotel was conveniently by the gateway as we walked in, coming up the steep Via Francigena footpath into town. Our room was clean, with a sweet little balcony overlooking the amazing view across the valley. it was very quiet at night. Breakfast was disappointing though. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room overlooking the beautiful valley and then watch the sunrise from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is by far the most amazing hotel available when visiting Montalcino. The views, the pool, staff (especially Massimo), the room all combine to guarantee that your visit will be memorable. While here a must visit restaurant is "Trattoria L'Angolo", small, but with the best Brunello Risotto I have ever had!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view, well worth any extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel has (A) the most fantastic view across Val D'Orcia towards Pienza and Buonconvento. It has (B) a swimming pool (possibly the most 'refreshing' in Italy) miraculously cut into the hillside and offering a watery slant on (A), and a terrace (C) from which (A) is clearly visible throughout the day. The hotel also has rooms (D) which are unremarkable although some offer views of B, C and, if you are lucky, A. The other great thing about the hotel is that it is in Montalcino (E) which is without a doubt the best mediaeval hill town in Italy, surrounded by (A) and home to the fabulous Brunello (DOCG).

In short it's a nice hotel with a fabulous view. Without the view it would just be a nice hotel and there are plenty of those.

Cautionary note, there is no parking at the hotel and on busy days the free parking nearby fills up. Blame it on (A and E)

Room Tip: Only contemplate a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is not a destination hotel, but it is a great location for visiting the Brunello di Montalcino vineyards. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is free parking nearby. The breakfasts are very good and if the weather is fine breakfast can be taken on the terrace. The pool is small but in a lovely position. Wifi slow but free. After reading other reviews we booked a superior room with a small balcony and the views really are to die for. Incredible. Worth the extra 20 euros!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a superior room with a view.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Capitani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.