We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel with a view of the Tuscan countryside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Save Saved
You added Hotel dei Capitani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel dei Capitani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lapini 6, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Montalcino
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel with a view of the Tuscan countryside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great location, right in Montalcino, so no need to worry about driving home after a few glasses of Brunello in one of the local restaurants.

We stayed in a superior room which was enormous, basically a suite, with a view over the Tuscan hills, which was gorgeous.

The staff were helpful and friendly. There was free parking nearby, though the streets are pretty hilly so late at night it wasn't the easiest of walks. Still, it's very close by.

The restaurants recommended to us by the hotel were both very good.

The buffet breakfast was included and was quite good, though there were no eggs. There was a good selection of cakes, bread, pastries, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt etc... and good coffee/hot drinks. The fruit juices left a lot to be desired - they were not great, very sweet and not 'real' fruit juice.

Room Tip: The superior room is worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    105
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
132
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Both my hubby and I don't drive. We were so worry there would not be anything for us to do in that small town until we met the reception lady in this hotel. She spoke very good English and was so helpful. She was so patient when helping us to book the local tour and hire the taxi. The 3 days we spent in Montalcino was the best part of our Italy trip, probably it was because of that helpful lady. I was so sorry that I didn't take note of her name and could not send a compliment to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We found the hotel from Tripadvisor. The recommendation to have a room with the view was helpful. We arrived late night, and the hotel stuff was kind to have a welcome. They were helpful to show where to park. The room was clean and avrg size. We were at the 3rd floor and woke up with the nice view of the plain and fields. The village and so the hotel is on the hill and the view is nice. You can easily walk to any eating place ( there were some in the village). The only thing is the elevator makes some noise. Breakfast is average. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

spotless rooms, big baths, super buffet breakfast, free computer for internet, great staff, all are winners, but the best is the view in the sunrise of the valley (only the "view rooms"), free on site parking (fabulous in a hill town)

Room Tip: great pool. take their recommendation for the "best restarant in town, and go there - EARLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
I read these beautiful words, passes me the fatigue of work throughout the year.
I'm glad to share this with all staff members and even the walls and hotel furniture.
I'm happy for you and for us and we hope to share again this wonderful experience.
I take this opportunity to wish You and all our dear Customers a MERRY CHRISTMAS and a HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First: the staff of Dei Capitani were first rate - professional, considerate, kind, and helpful. I have no complaints with the service. Also, the views from the hotel are truly extraordinary - if you have a room with a valley view. Our room, which had that lovely view, was large and basic. The weather was cold and rainy and there was no heat in our room for the first night - but later nights were quite comfortable. The breakfast was adequate. Our one issue - and it is important - is that the walls were quite thin. We could hear EVERYTHING in the room next to us and above us. We could hear footsteps, doors closing, toilets flushing, people talking, and many more personal activities. None of the reviews mentioned this which surprises me. Comfort and quality food are all well, but walls so thin that you can hear someone brushing their teeth... I cannot recommend Dei Capitani based on this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for the compliments to the staff, the view and breakfast.
Sorry for the inconvenience you have had, probably your neighbors was not exactly silent.
This does not excuse us and we apologize for this
Best regards
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here recently for a second visit during a walking tour. We found our room comfortable and clean with a beautiful view; the breakfast is excellent (served in a conservatory area) and the staff we met (breakfast waitress, a young man at reception and the night porter) were pleasant, helpful and professional. The only blip was the TV which leapt into life in the middle of the night! (The young man said he would deal with it in some mysterious way.)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

You've been with us twice, we are hoping for a third time.
Thanks for appreciating our services and our Hotel. Concerning the TV, we may have discovered the mystery, probably the previous customer had set the timer on the radio.
Sorry for the inconvenient.
Best regards

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had rooms 302 and 303 (a little suite off the main room) and the views were absolutely incredible! Contrary to other reviews I've seen, we found the staff to be very helpful and sweet. They assisted us with reservations at local wineries, etc. The breakfast and staff were very good each morning. There is a small parking lot on-site and additional parking a few blocks away. We used Montalcino as our base in Tuscany, spending six nights there, and took day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena, etc. We found the location perfect for us and loved spending the evenings in Montalcino where the locals were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back to both Montalcino and the Hotel Dei Capitani!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a view. Having the additional room made it easy for us to settle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your gratitude, your words gratify me and all the staff.
We hope that as you hope you can come back.
We look forward to welcome you again

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino
Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Capitani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.