We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Save Saved
You added Hotel dei Capitani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel dei Capitani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lapini 6, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had rooms 302 and 303 (a little suite off the main room) and the views were absolutely incredible! Contrary to other reviews I've seen, we found the staff to be very helpful and sweet. They assisted us with reservations at local wineries, etc. The breakfast and staff were very good each morning. There is a small parking lot on-site and additional parking a few blocks away. We used Montalcino as our base in Tuscany, spending six nights there, and took day trips to Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena, etc. We found the location perfect for us and loved spending the evenings in Montalcino where the locals were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back to both Montalcino and the Hotel Dei Capitani!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a view. Having the additional room made it easy for us to settle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your gratitude, your words gratify me and all the staff.
We hope that as you hope you can come back.
We look forward to welcome you again

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    120
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
27
152
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Dei Capitani and had friendly service, a wonderful breakfast buffet, and an amazing view every morning of the Valley below. We had easy parking and the location for us was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a high unit which had an amazing view BUT it was a tight spiral staircase up to the bedroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are happy that your 3 days with us were perfect.
It 'an infinite satisfaction and your words gratify us much.
Many thanks

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel de capitani has the most gorgeous views over the surrounding valley and is hard to beat for atmosphere. Our room included a seperate lounge area with tv as well as a reasonable sized bedroom and separate bathroom. The hotel is situated on the edge of the inner city of montalcino and hence the great views. Breakfast in the conservatory was a highlight each morning with a good range of buffet style food and drinks. The swimming pool/deck area also has great veiws of the valley and is a good place to spend some time (although no drinking allowed in the deck area). The hotel is easy walking distance into town, but you do need to climb a steep hill every time you wish to go shopping, eat or have a drink somewhere. Parking is also not available on-site and it can actually be quite difficult to find a spare parking spot within a kilometer of the hotel (not so easy for day trips to wineries/spas and bringing your wine purchases back to the hotel). The staff were freindly and reasonably adequate when asked to do something, but were not particularly warm or helpful (except when we were leaving and paying the account). The free internet was very poor and worked less than 10% of the time from our room, although was better from the lobby area. Overall, I would recommend this hotel based on the wonderful views alone. However, I would not expect too much in the way of service and room ammenities.

Room Tip: Pay for the view from your room. They are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Our hotel is located in an ancient city, we can not make up for the climbs but fortunately the city like so many of our guests.
We, however, we treasure your advice and learn so much.
Best regards

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The true delight of staying in this hotel is having a room with a view of the valley. We stayed here in September 2009 and could not wait to come back this year. Each stay, we were very pleased with our room. The hotel is very quaint, the breakfast plentiful, and the staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

many thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you again in the nearest future to enjoy the beatiful Montalcino and Hotel dei Capitani

Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our brief visit to Montalcino, between staying in Florence and Le Marche. While it was nice to stay right in town and the view of the beautiful hillside from our 3rd floor window could not be beat, the hotel experience was otherwise only fair. The bed was uncomfortable- not enough pillows an the sheets were scratchy, the wi-fi signal was weak from our room, and worst of all, the air conditioner started dripping water in the middle of the night, right onto the side table where my phone was! (Thankfully it was not damaged). Breakfast was fine. If you stay here, just make sure you are very tired!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Sorry just read that you had a terrible stay.
The bad luck would have it, in one night you did all the negative imaginable. I hope you can come back and have a better stay.
So sorry
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is very dark and has very small rooms. The thing we disliked the most is the guy in reception. His attitude is you are bothering me, why are you here. He is not a people person and his unfriendly, arrogant, disinterested attitude puts a flavour to the whole stay at the hotel.
I would not recommend this place nor would I return to it

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
I'm sorry that your experience was so terrifying. I beg your pardon for this because it is right to do so. In Italy we say that the customer is always right. Maybe you've been too hard with the guy in the reception, maybe he did not want to be rude and maybe it was very busy.
If you really have been our guest, as I certainly have not seen him only, (Normally, you can see other reviews mentioned a very highly of him) so I'm wondering if we have changed the entire staff and I would not be realized. I do not want to defend anyone, and I'm here to apologize, maybe I would have preferred to be able to apologize personally and maybe explain if necessary.
Have already said that it is humanly impossible to make everybody happy, with you we did not succeed. You said you will not come, I tell you that you could do it and you may change your mind.
Wishing you the best
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There cannot possibly be a better view of Tuscany than from our room (202 I think). Small balcony- we opened doors and placed two chairs almost out on it to soak in all the golden light and hills. Nice sitting room. So great to walk the town after dinner and be close to the hotel. Breakfast great, nice staff who dealt pleasantly with a cranky guest who did not want to sit outside but the breakfast room full, outdoors was what we wanted so no problem for us. Unloading right in front of hotel, parking close. Swimming pool too cold, would agree with reviewer suggesting alternative glassware to sit by pool and enjoy the brunello wines from the region. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Location In town very good, room with view worth every euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We're almost at the end of this season. I say this with a sense of pride that we are very happy as we passed. We have had many lovely guests and we do everything to do our utmost. I recognize that is not easy and sometimes we make mistakes. Certainly like your comment does not let us become arrogant but gives us the charge to be even more careful.
The Persons like you are the oxygen to our days
many many thanks
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Capitani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.