We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at Giglio one night. Montalcino is very small, but it is lovely and worth a stop. If you do stop there, I highly recommend staying at Giglio. Based on other reviews, we requested room 1 and were not disappointed --the views are truly breathtaking. The room itself is small (but typical for Italy), but very cozy, well furnished and appointed and truly lovely. The terrace is gorgeous, with nice patio furniture, huge, blossoming hydrangeas and the best view I've ever seen.

We dined at the restaurant there and it was one of our very best meals in Italy. The food is outstanding (try the truffle pasta and the stuffed zucchini). We also really enjoyed speaking with the host (I believe he is the son who owns the hotel with his parents.) He was very knowledgeable about the food and the wine and graciously conversed with us in English.

I read the other reviews in which people complained that the hosts were unfriendly and/or rude. While they may not be as effusive as B&B hosts one encounters in this country, I found them to be perfectly pleasant and helpful. They booked a wine tasting at Poggio Antico for us (which I highly recommend --Danilo was a fantastic tour guide) and provided really wonderful accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for room #1. The views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
22
115
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first time we stayed here was about twenty years ago. We have returned several times with friends and both our daughters now have been there.
It is nice to have people remember you after so many years.
This is a beautiful part of Italy and a wonderful medium priced hotel to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Robert and Lucilla have a lovely home and are the perfect hosts. Their home is beautifully decorated. Breakfasts are made with local eggs and cheese and Lucilla's home made jams. I guess the best part was my father was not feeling well and they were perfect hosts to him while we were encouraged to tour the area. They both were able to make restaurant suggestions for us and Robert has a wealth of information about the region USE HIM WHEN PLANNING YOUR ITINERARY! We look forward to a return trip to Italy with a homebase in Montalcino next time! I miss them already.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel was great. The service lacked the friendliness I had elsewhere which was a shame, but they were pleasant. I was in the apartments, which were really good. The little touches made it really special. I think this is an expensive town to stay, and this was really good value for money. I also ate there one night which was very good.

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms in the main building, but the apartments were excellent. Mine was above a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Read in other reviews very positive things so decide to try it. Looking in trip advisor the average cost is between 70-100 euros a night in the hotel, we were charged 135 euros. This was the most expensive rate we paid in the six cities we have stayed in on our trip so far and has been the worst experience. The room and bathroom are fine in size and stocked with what you need. The bed has been the worst, extremely hard, uncomfortable, with a major roll to the middle. The walls have no soundproofing. We heard some kids laughing and screeching until late at night. At 10:30 someone started blasting the radio. The owners were very friendly to people they knew yet very rude to guests. Value for the money was not there at all. Frankly there is really no reason to go into the town at all. Nothing to do or see that is worth while. You are better off visiting the various wineries you will have a better experience. The wine stores in town are all owned by just a couple of people using different names on each store so the prices are very much the same and many charge for the tasting unless you buy. We bought plenty but would still suggest if you're on a tasting trip go to the separate wineries and enjoy the experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We loved this little boutique hotel! My wife said she felt like Rapunzel in her tower! Absolutely fabulous views, a comfortable room, and a warm and inviting reception area. Also, one of the best breakfasts we had on our trip. Regretfully, the restaurant was closed the first night of our arrival, and we opted for eating elsewhere the second night--wish we had tried the restaurant because it generally has very positive reviews. The staff was pleasant and accommodating but not overly warm, which seemed in keeping with our overall experience in Montalcino. We will definitely stay there again, but will reserve Room Number 1 well in advance, if it is available, since it is the only room with an outside terrace!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent much time in planning our trip to Tuscany and staying in the hill towns. Wife and I spent all four nights at Il Giglio Hotel & Restaurant. Could not of been happier with our choice. Boutique family run hotel and restaurant in the middle of this amazing hill town. We spend a couple of day trips seeing the other hill towns and with each town visited, we said that we stayed in the right town and right hotel. Very clean and wellappointed room. Bed was firm, but just the way we like them! View out the window was breath taking! Breakfast spread was fantastic. Homemade coffee cakes and pastries amongst the choices. Dinner is the restaurant should not be missed!!! Amazing food and wine suggestions/pairings are super. We ate two dinners here during our stay. Michelle (the son) is a sommelier and is very helpful in suggesting wines to taste and wineries to visit. Thank you Mario and Anna!!! You made our stay in Montalcino very special! We will brush up on our Italian better for our next trip! :-)

Room Tip: We had room #2 and had a fantastic view of the valley below out our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Hotel
Il Giglio Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.