We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with decent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location with decent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This B&B is located in the heart of the small town of Montalcino. It was great for walking around and exploring the whole town. The B&B itself is all stairs like most places in Italy with no elevator so travel light. The room was rustic Tuscano style with basic amenities and great toiletries. Breakfast was also generous and quite tasty. The free valet parking was a pleasant surprise. The location of this little B&B is really the best part about it and the price is pretty reasonable for Europe.

We had mixed feelings about the service which is why I gave it 4/5 rating. If I had written this review during the stay I might have considered a 3/5 rating. The odd couple that runs the place can be unpleasant by customer service standards. We had dinner here one night and the food was ok. We had maybe one glass of wine left in our bottle from our day trip and was told rather rudely we cannot drink it in the restaurant. Honestly, we would not have been offended if told nicely that they do not allow you to bring your own wines. Part of the mixed feelings comes from this dining experience. FYI The pizza place down the street is fabulous and we were able to enjoy a whole bottle of wine there. To be balanced in my criticism, we were rather happy that they were able to let us come a day earlier than planned.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the city and the location of this B&B was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
20
109
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Arrived there on the day of floods. Cosy and rustic room. Everything worked out well for us and the owner ( the husband) went out of his way to assist us. Breakfast was good. Centrally located and well worth the rates.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night during a two-week cycling trip through Tuscany and felt this hotel was one of the better. We stayed in the B&B rooms down the street from the hotel. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. We did use the hotel lobby and Wi-fi. Breakfast was the best of all the accommodations we stayed at during our trip. All in all, a greatplace to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabright
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything was wonderful. The room was cozy with a lovely view of the Tuscan valley. Everything was fabulous. It simply felt beautiful here through the entire hotel, the family/staff were incredible. Breakfast was awesome. Happy happy and totally recommend! We were sad to leave.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamdaugavietis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We loved our five-night stay at Il Giglio in Montalcino for numerous reasons including comfort, cleanliness, convenient location, quiet charm, congeniality and helpfulness of the owners and staff, and the delicious meals. What more could one want? We will hopefully return to stay there again someday. A memorable and totally pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 and had a balcony and fantastic view of Montalcino, including magnificent sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent one night in Montalcino at Il Giglio. We were a little concerned reading tripadvisor after we had booked. However, we found the owners were very nice people, provided us with good service and ran an immaculate hotel. Our room had a very modern bathroom (spotless) with all the conveniences you would expect. The views from our room were breathtaking.

We ate dinner at restaurant in the evening and had a very good meal. My wife had a first course of Risotto Brunello and was one of best dishes she had over our 2 weeks in Italy. The other dishes we ate were excellent, but less memorable. Service was great for both the hotel and restaruant and both provided a great value for the money.

We highly recommend Il Giglio if you're staying in the Pienza or Montalcino area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a hill-top town hotel with limited space. We were put up in rooms down the street. Once we had lugged our baggage down the street and up a very steep hill followed by a flight of steps we found ourselves in very comfortable and spacious accomodation,

Breakfast a little on the minimal side with no eggs but good cappuccino but overall quite good for a busy town such as Montalcino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Hotel
Il Giglio Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.