We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilled Our Expectations And More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bookmark
You added Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
pamdaugavietis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fulfilled Our Expectations And More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We loved our five-night stay at Il Giglio in Montalcino for numerous reasons including comfort, cleanliness, convenient location, quiet charm, congeniality and helpfulness of the owners and staff, and the delicious meals. What more could one want? We will hopefully return to stay there again someday. A memorable and totally pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 and had a balcony and fantastic view of Montalcino, including magnificent sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    19
    11
    1
See reviews for
20
109
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent one night in Montalcino at Il Giglio. We were a little concerned reading tripadvisor after we had booked. However, we found the owners were very nice people, provided us with good service and ran an immaculate hotel. Our room had a very modern bathroom (spotless) with all the conveniences you would expect. The views from our room were breathtaking.

We ate dinner at restaurant in the evening and had a very good meal. My wife had a first course of Risotto Brunello and was one of best dishes she had over our 2 weeks in Italy. The other dishes we ate were excellent, but less memorable. Service was great for both the hotel and restaruant and both provided a great value for the money.

We highly recommend Il Giglio if you're staying in the Pienza or Montalcino area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a hill-top town hotel with limited space. We were put up in rooms down the street. Once we had lugged our baggage down the street and up a very steep hill followed by a flight of steps we found ourselves in very comfortable and spacious accomodation,

Breakfast a little on the minimal side with no eggs but good cappuccino but overall quite good for a busy town such as Montalcino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotels location is amazing andt his town is a must see! In terms of hotel quality - linen, bed, pillows, bathroom extras etc, the hotel was really good. The rooms were very clean and tidy, but really small. The bed was almost not a double bed in size. It seemed to be more between a three quarter and a double. A large couple would struggle. We had a village facing room but we caught a glimps of the view from one of the valley facing rooms - wow! They also looked significantly bigger.
However if it is friendliness that you are after, this you won't get from the owners. They weren't unhelpful they just never smiled very easily (or at all).
The food at the restaurant was really good. We had dinner there and our waitress was great. The breakfast the next day was also comprehensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We did not stay here, but the restaurant isn't listed under tripadvisor restaurants in Montalcino and should be, as the food is wonderful. We had an excellent dinner (cinghale and beef), with a bottle of wine, 2 secondos, 2 sides and a shared dessert (pears in Brunello, spectacular!) for 66,00 euro, which was really reasonable for the quality of the food. Our waitress was a sweetheart. We would recommend this place to any one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Great wine list. Fresh pasta made with local and in season ingredients. Lots of Italians eating there, always a good sign. The owner (I think) has a great knowledge of wine and local wineries. Service was very good. They use a dumb waiter to bring the food to the dining room, very cool. 2 tables have a view but the food is so good you don't necessarily need them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed as part of an iron donkey cycle tour of Tuscany. We checked in pretty easily and the owner stored our bikes in the garage without any fuss. The room had plenty of character with exposed beams and furniture to compliment. It was spacious enough, well maintained and quiet. The bed was comfortable and good selection at breakfast. Great view over the valley from the window. We would seek this place out if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Hotel
Il Giglio Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.