We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant is GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Guilderland, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Restaurant is GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We did not stay here, but the restaurant isn't listed under tripadvisor restaurants in Montalcino and should be, as the food is wonderful. We had an excellent dinner (cinghale and beef), with a bottle of wine, 2 secondos, 2 sides and a shared dessert (pears in Brunello, spectacular!) for 66,00 euro, which was really reasonable for the quality of the food. Our waitress was a sweetheart. We would recommend this place to any one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    71
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
22
116
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Great wine list. Fresh pasta made with local and in season ingredients. Lots of Italians eating there, always a good sign. The owner (I think) has a great knowledge of wine and local wineries. Service was very good. They use a dumb waiter to bring the food to the dining room, very cool. 2 tables have a view but the food is so good you don't necessarily need them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed as part of an iron donkey cycle tour of Tuscany. We checked in pretty easily and the owner stored our bikes in the garage without any fuss. The room had plenty of character with exposed beams and furniture to compliment. It was spacious enough, well maintained and quiet. The bed was comfortable and good selection at breakfast. Great view over the valley from the window. We would seek this place out if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a wine tour. We both have nothing but wonderful things to stay about our experience. The check in was smooth. We have not stayed in Montalcino prior to this trip, but the rooms were larger than many of the rooms that we experienced in other parts of Italy. Lots of great Brunellos to chose from. Breakfast was very good. We would stay here again and recommend this to anyone traveling to Montalcino. We plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We love this place and will always come back.

The family are true gentile personne. The parents do not speak much English which others confuse with rudeness. This is nonsense! They are very welcoming and simply make you at home and comfortable.

For the last few visits we have had the opportunity to use the family mansard apartment. It is private and very comfortable with full facilities. There is no lift so be prepared to walk up to floors. It is however a home from home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. The location and setting could not have been any better in Montalcino. The accomodations were a little tight but adequate, and was consistent with what we would expect from a building and town with this much history. I felt the price for our room was extremely fair. The staff was very responsive, the dinner was very good and the wine list quite impressive if you are into Brunellos.

Room Tip: We requested room 1N which has the patio but it was not available. Instead we stayed in the room di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while on a cycle tour of Tuscany. We appreciated having a locked garage for our bikes. The hotel is family run, they speak excellent English and were very welcoming. Our room was spacious and had a wonderful valley view. Breakfast was very good and included hot scrambled eggs and fresh baked (still warm) bread, as well as a delicious fruit tart and two other kinds of coffe cakes. Meats and local cheese were also available. We enjoyed our stay and the only somewhat quirky item regarding our stay was the short half tub in which one had to squat/sit in to take a shower.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Via S. Saloni 5, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Hotel
Il Giglio Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.