We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchia Oliviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Porta Cerbaia | Angolo Via Landi, 1, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Montalcino
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera for 5 nights in July during our vacation to Italy. It was a perfect location for spending quality time in Tuscany. We took day trips and had a nice hotel in a lovely town to return to in the evenings. The parking lot was a huge bonus. After driving around Tuscany during the day, we parked the car until the next day and enjoyed dinners at the nice restaurants within walking distance in Montalcino. Our hosts were terrific. They responded to our emails while we were planning our vacation. While we were there, Sandro and Elisa helped us with reservations and driving instructions. The room was quite comfortable. The bed was comfortable. We had plenty of room for our luggage. The A/C had a remote control and it worked well. The bathroom was a nice size. The breakfast room was charming. The service at this hotel was top notch. We asked lots of questions and our hosts were ready with answers. Our room was on the main floor and we heard no noise from the lobby. Everything about our stay was perfect. I want to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed out stay at this lovely hotel in the heart of Montalcino. It is steps away from restaurants and shops. First off, our room was spacious. I was a bit concerned since we stayed in a quadruple since we were traveling with our children. We were surprised our room had space and charm (I loved the wood beamed ceiling). The view from our room and bathroom was breathtaking. What a wonderful way to start each day. The bathroom was of normal size, the only thing I would change is the hair dryer ( I have a lot of hair and needed something stronger than the built in that they had). The breakfast ( which is included in the room rate) was very good with enough variety to satisfy children. The owners were very kind and accommodating to any request. Finally, the hotel has a pool which was a huge hit with the kiddies. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

While conveniently located within a few steps of the old towne of Montalcino, and presenting a charming family-run facade, this hotel is sub-par even by European standards. The rooms are tiny, with barely any room to accommodate luggage. The bathrooms are small but sufficient. But the primary problem is the beds. At best, they feel like thin cots from a summer camp bunk. At worst, they feel like prison cots. They consist of only one thin, hard, box spring mattress on a metal stand. We could not sleep at all because do these beds. To make matters worse, you are provided only a thin top sheet with a heavy blanket in the closet. And the air conditioning units are so loud they will provide background sound while you lay in bed trying to sleep. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vecchiaoliviera, Responsabile reception at Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,
looking at the other reviews of your trip to Italy, we believe that your standards travel are higher those of a three star hotel. We believe a great hotel with nice rooms, to offer an excellent service and lots of comfort to our customers and especially we try to solve, as soon as possible, any problems that may arise ... obviously if we are warned ...but nevertheless we remain a three star hotel!!!
As you can see from our previous reviews, our customers appreciate both the rooms and the quality of our services. Our beds are measures of european double standards and the air conditioner has a night mode in the remote control, to be quieter but none had never complained of the noise, until today! Your room consisted of a two bedrooms (double bedroom and single bedroom) and the bathroom. The luggage space was generous had available all a single room with a closet.
And sorry but we did not understand in the bed in addition to cotton sheets, a bedcover and other blankets available in the closet of what you needed in July!
However, we want to clarify because we think that your claims are unjustified:
the real problem is that, unfortunately, the agency that arranged your trip, has chosen for you, in other stops of the tour, luxury hotels of 4 or 5 stars and you did not know that our hotel is of a lower category. Sorry about this but it is not our fault!
We write only a little difference, looking at the other reviews that you have written:
in the other hotels of your trip in Italy the price for a room for two persons, one night is superior to 350EURO per night in some cases is much higher to 500euro per night. In our hotel (MAXIMUM) 190EURO per night.
Certainly, what it offers the hotel from 500euro per night is very much higher at what provides our hotel... but you can not expect from us the same level of service and type of rooms.
However, we regret not being able to make for you a nice stay in Montalcino but we have the subjective opinion that the responsibility is not our and absolutely we dont deserve a review so negative.

Cordially

Elisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay in this wonderful hotel. We had three nights there last year and just had to go back again to prove we hadn't been dreaming. This time it was better still as I had arranged a surprise for my wife..our grown up family were joining us and it took a lot of organising. The hotel were amazing in joining in the subterfuge and everything worked out prefectly. Montalcino is a dlightful little hill town and the hotel is perfectly placed, just inside the walls, with some lovely restaurants a short walk away. The hotel has private parking which is a bonus as that is not always the case in some of these Tuscan hill towns. Everything about the place is first class.

Room Tip: The view from the 1st floor rooms is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night at the Oliviera and it is great to have such a central hotel at good quality not far from Montalcino.

The view is great, the swimming pool is ok, the rooms are spacious, the bathroom is a but dated but clean and efficient and the stuff is very friendly helpful and always ready to help.

I strongly recommend to stay here.

They also have an handy car park .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's great reviews and it's easy access to town. Last time we were in the area we stayed out in the vineyards and we had to drive everywhere. With this hotel, you have easy parking below the hotel and you can walk into town for anything you need, including dinner every night.

The staff were very helpful and sweet, every day I brought breakfast to the room and they made me a cap to go and gave me a tray to carry everything. They were at the desk each time we picked up our key at all hours.

We were in room 8 with an amazing view of the vineyards below. The room was large and had a lot of light during the day. The negative we found was first and foremost, the bed- the frame is metal and has a thin mattress with no box spring or mattress cover so it was hard and you can feel the springs. It was fine, but by the last night, we couldn't wait to come home to sleep in our own bed. The bathroom was pretty large, there was great pressure in the shower and a fantastic view again.

We stayed here for 7 nights, if they update their mattress situation to something a bit more comfortable we would certainly be back!

Room Tip: I think 7 or 8 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in July 2012 and had a really beautiful stay. My room had a door which led me outside to the small pool which made my stay! The breakfast was fantastic and it was made even more special by the fact that the staff had gone to the trouble of arranging soya milk for me even though I hadn't accepted it. This small attention to detail says it all for me. All staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchia Oliviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Address: Porta Cerbaia | Angolo Via Landi, 1, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel is situated at the gates of Montalcino in the province of Siena. A town of noble traditions, Montalcino lies at the heart of the Val d’Orcia and is the home of Brunello, the prestigious wine known all over the world for it’s excellent quality. The surrounding landscape of charming singularity reflects the unaltered bond established between man and nature. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has it’s home in a fascinating old olive oil mill that has been carefully renovated. Both it’s location and considerate service make it a fully relaxing place to stay.The Hotel consists of eleven rooms: 4 Double Standard (bathroom with shower); 4 Double Superior with view (more spacious and bathroom with whirlpool tub, in some of these rooms you can add 1 or 2 extra beds); 1 Suite triple (one bedroom with double bed and one bedroom with single bed, bathroom with shower); 1 Family Suite (livingroom with double sofa bed and double room, bathroom with shower, 1 Single room (bathroom with shower). All room are furnished and provided with every comfort: TV, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom with shower or whirlpool tub.The swimming pool, with hydromassage, is situated amid the greenery and perfumes of a panoramic garden that offers a delight to the senses that only such unique settings can provide. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has a private car park and lies at a distance of only 2 minutes walk from the main square of Montalcino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Vecchia Oliviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchia Oliviera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.