We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montalcino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Porta Cerbaia | Angolo Via Landi, 1, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Montalcino
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A stunning little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay in this wonderful hotel. We had three nights there last year and just had to go back again to prove we hadn't been dreaming. This time it was better still as I had arranged a surprise for my wife..our grown up family were joining us and it took a lot of organising. The hotel were amazing in joining in the subterfuge and everything worked out prefectly. Montalcino is a dlightful little hill town and the hotel is perfectly placed, just inside the walls, with some lovely restaurants a short walk away. The hotel has private parking which is a bonus as that is not always the case in some of these Tuscan hill towns. Everything about the place is first class.

Room Tip: The view from the 1st floor rooms is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night at the Oliviera and it is great to have such a central hotel at good quality not far from Montalcino.

The view is great, the swimming pool is ok, the rooms are spacious, the bathroom is a but dated but clean and efficient and the stuff is very friendly helpful and always ready to help.

I strongly recommend to stay here.

They also have an handy car park .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for it's great reviews and it's easy access to town. Last time we were in the area we stayed out in the vineyards and we had to drive everywhere. With this hotel, you have easy parking below the hotel and you can walk into town for anything you need, including dinner every night.

The staff were very helpful and sweet, every day I brought breakfast to the room and they made me a cap to go and gave me a tray to carry everything. They were at the desk each time we picked up our key at all hours.

We were in room 8 with an amazing view of the vineyards below. The room was large and had a lot of light during the day. The negative we found was first and foremost, the bed- the frame is metal and has a thin mattress with no box spring or mattress cover so it was hard and you can feel the springs. It was fine, but by the last night, we couldn't wait to come home to sleep in our own bed. The bathroom was pretty large, there was great pressure in the shower and a fantastic view again.

We stayed here for 7 nights, if they update their mattress situation to something a bit more comfortable we would certainly be back!

Room Tip: I think 7 or 8 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here in July 2012 and had a really beautiful stay. My room had a door which led me outside to the small pool which made my stay! The breakfast was fantastic and it was made even more special by the fact that the staff had gone to the trouble of arranging soya milk for me even though I hadn't accepted it. This small attention to detail says it all for me. All staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in mid-November while on a walking tour of Tuscany. We spent two nights...we had the corner room (I don't remember the number) which had beautiful views of the countryside and sunrise in the morning.

The staff were very friendly and were helpful in making recommendations for dinner. While we waited for our room to be ready, we had cappucino and relaxed on the terrace. The breakfast was wonderful. So much to choose from!

I would definitely stay here again if I were in Tuscany. Montalcino is a lovely little town, there are some wonderful restaurants, great little shops, and very friendly people.

Room Tip: The corner room was lovely! Large, beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were recently supposed to honeymoon in Italy and were staying at the Hotel Vecchia Oliviera for part of the trip. Due to hurricane Sandy hitting the East Coast of the US, our flight to Italy was canceled and our trip inevitably cancelled as well.

Although we haven’t gotten to stay yet, we can’t say enough about the hospitality we received from the staff at the Hotel Vecchia Oliviera. They were overly accommodating in the booking and cancellation process. We are going to try to postpone our honeymoon trip in the future and we will be sure to rebook with them because of the level of professionalism they showed us during this misfortunate situation. If you are looking for a hotel, I would recommend booking with them based off the high level of hospitality they have shown us during this circumstance.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have often brought our guests to this hotel, whether friends when we don't have room, or for events which I have created, because they have always been so delighted with the charm of the rooms and the reception. We have always found people who go the extra kilometer, as it were, and go out of their way if need be to make sure that their guests are well and having a lovely time. People who have been used to big luxury hotels have said that this was one of their favourites, because of the charm, the incredible view, and the quiet care that is shown to them.
So we wanted to write a review for them, because, even in a recent and rather difficult situation, they came through with flying colours and saved the day. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vecchia Oliviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Also Known As:
Vecchia Oliviera Hotel
Address: Porta Cerbaia | Angolo Via Landi, 1, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel is situated at the gates of Montalcino in the province of Siena. A town of noble traditions, Montalcino lies at the heart of the Val d’Orcia and is the home of Brunello, the prestigious wine known all over the world for it’s excellent quality. The surrounding landscape of charming singularity reflects the unaltered bond established between man and nature. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has it’s home in a fascinating old olive oil mill that has been carefully renovated. Both it’s location and considerate service make it a fully relaxing place to stay.The Hotel consists of eleven rooms: 4 Double Standard (bathroom with shower); 4 Double Superior with view (more spacious and bathroom with whirlpool tub, in some of these rooms you can add 1 or 2 extra beds); 1 Suite triple (one bedroom with double bed and one bedroom with single bed, bathroom with shower); 1 Family Suite (livingroom with double sofa bed and double room, bathroom with shower, 1 Single room (bathroom with shower). All room are furnished and provided with every comfort: TV, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom with shower or whirlpool tub.The swimming pool, with hydromassage, is situated amid the greenery and perfumes of a panoramic garden that offers a delight to the senses that only such unique settings can provide. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has a private car park and lies at a distance of only 2 minutes walk from the main square of Montalcino. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vecchia Oliviera to your Saves list