We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vecchia Oliviera to your Saves list
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Porta Cerbaia | Porta Cerbaia, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in mid-November while on a walking tour of Tuscany. We spent two nights...we had the corner room (I don't remember the number) which had beautiful views of the countryside and sunrise in the morning.

The staff were very friendly and were helpful in making recommendations for dinner. While we waited for our room to be ready, we had cappucino and relaxed on the terrace. The breakfast was wonderful. So much to choose from!

I would definitely stay here again if I were in Tuscany. Montalcino is a lovely little town, there are some wonderful restaurants, great little shops, and very friendly people.

Room Tip: The corner room was lovely! Large, beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were recently supposed to honeymoon in Italy and were staying at the Hotel Vecchia Oliviera for part of the trip. Due to hurricane Sandy hitting the East Coast of the US, our flight to Italy was canceled and our trip inevitably cancelled as well.

Although we haven’t gotten to stay yet, we can’t say enough about the hospitality we received from the staff at the Hotel Vecchia Oliviera. They were overly accommodating in the booking and cancellation process. We are going to try to postpone our honeymoon trip in the future and we will be sure to rebook with them because of the level of professionalism they showed us during this misfortunate situation. If you are looking for a hotel, I would recommend booking with them based off the high level of hospitality they have shown us during this circumstance.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have often brought our guests to this hotel, whether friends when we don't have room, or for events which I have created, because they have always been so delighted with the charm of the rooms and the reception. We have always found people who go the extra kilometer, as it were, and go out of their way if need be to make sure that their guests are well and having a lovely time. People who have been used to big luxury hotels have said that this was one of their favourites, because of the charm, the incredible view, and the quiet care that is shown to them.
So we wanted to write a review for them, because, even in a recent and rather difficult situation, they came through with flying colours and saved the day. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I hesitate to write for fear of attracting even more tourists to Montalcino. This hotel is everything you would want from a Tuscan small town place. Wonderful staff, wonderful views, wonderful breakfast, great location with a charming stroll into sweet Montalcino, Brunello central. We had to leave early for a family emergency, and can't wait to get back. Before you go to Montalcino, grab a copy of "Vanilla Beans and Brodo" by Isabella Dusi; a fine introduction to the town. Be prepared: Italians seem to like hard mattresses and pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, mo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We loved this hotel. It was quaint and small and the staff knew us by name the minute we walked in the door. The most amazing aspect was the view from our room! A panoramic Tuscan hill scene. Pictures just can't do it justice. The view was absolutely therapeutic. I highly recommend Montalcino and this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is wonderful, Montalcino is a really nice town and this hotel is well located right at the entrance of the town. The breakfast is really good and the view from most of the rooms and from the terrace is amazing. There is free parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The staff at Vecchia were outstanding - so warm & helpful. On check in the lady at reception spent at least 20 minutes fielding our questions. They were always happy to help & book us tables at restaurants. The room was very spacious - the Rosa is more like a suite with a single and a double bedroom separated by a corridor. Will definitely return here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vecchia Oliviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchia Oliviera

Address: Porta Cerbaia | Porta Cerbaia, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel is situated at the gates of Montalcino in the province of Siena. A town of noble traditions, Montalcino lies at the heart of the Val d’Orcia and is the home of Brunello, the prestigious wine known all over the world for it’s excellent quality. The surrounding landscape of charming singularity reflects the unaltered bond established between man and nature. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has it’s home in a fascinating old olive oil mill that has been carefully renovated. Both it’s location and considerate service make it a fully relaxing place to stay.The Hotel consists of eleven rooms: 4 Double Standard (bathroom with shower); 4 Double Superior with view (more spacious and bathroom with whirlpool tub, in some of these rooms you can add 1 or 2 extra beds); 1 Suite triple (one bedroom with double bed and one bedroom with single bed, bathroom with shower); 1 Family Suite (livingroom with double sofa bed and double room, bathroom with shower, 1 Single room (bathroom with shower). All room are furnished and provided with every comfort: TV, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, air conditioning, hairdryer, bathroom with shower or whirlpool tub.The swimming pool, with hydromassage, is situated amid the greenery and perfumes of a panoramic garden that offers a delight to the senses that only such unique settings can provide. The Vecchia Oliviera Hotel has a private car park and lies at a distance of only 2 minutes walk from the main square of Montalcino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vecchia Oliviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchia Oliviera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vecchia Oliviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.