We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montalcino and Canalicchio Di Sopra are a Must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canalicchio Di Sopra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canalicchio Di Sopra to your Saves list
Canalicchio Di Sopra
Localita Canalicchio Di Sopra, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Montalcino and Canalicchio Di Sopra are a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience! We stayed 4 nights between Florence and Rome and the serenity was much needed. We were in the one bedroom suite which was extremely spacious with a living room, kitchen and huge balcony overlooking the Tuscan countryside. The only minor issue was the AC did not get cold, but luckily the evenings were cool enough to sleep with the windows/doors open. Montalcino became our very favorite spot in our two week tour. What a great little town! The restaurants recommended by the staff were all incredible and very affordable. The wine from the winery is available for sale at a discounted price - it is awesome! The pool was too cold for us to swim in but we laid out one sunny afternoon and it was so relaxing. The staff was attentive and friendly.There is a continental breakfast available for an extra 10 Euro per person. I highly recommend if you are traveling through Tuscany to visit the Canalicchio di Sopra and Montalcino!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed five nights in the relais and we loved the view, quietness and luxury enviroment.
We met the whole Ripaccioli family as they really care for you.
Francesco is fluent in English and helps with evryting, we had a very good winetasting in the farm in front. Don´`t look further, buy the wine of the estate it is a tre bicheri at reasonable price.
one day I had a flat tyre and my battery was dead, thanks to Francesco evrything is arranged in due time, although full insurance it would have taken two more days without his help.
The swimming pool is wonderful, you need a car to go to the center of Montalcino but if you are in good shape, try the step walk. Every restaurant the family recomended was great, the others we tried were tourist traps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just a short drive from the heart of the town of Montalcino, a beautiful hilltop Tuscan town, the Relais at Canalicchio di Sopra is a beautiful playground set back from the road amidst olive trees and vineyards. The family Ripaccioli provides some of the finest hospitality in the area, from Francesco's enduring enthusiasm for providing the best quality service, to the delicious food Simonetta puts out each day, it really is a great travel experience. Francesco knows everyone in Montalcino, it seems, and is quick to recommend some of the finest restaurants and cafes in town.

It is a short, scenic drive to Buonconvento and Siena from the Relais. Buonconvento is a charming little walled town nearby with great restaurants and an outdoor market (at least on a Sunday afternoon), and Siena has plenty of sights worth seeing, including the Piazza del Campo where the twice annual Palio di Siena is held.

The land surrounding the relais is beautiful, the buildings very modern with a classic Tuscan feel. The fridges are stocked with sparkling and still water, artisan beer from Tuscany and bottles of good bubbly! The red wines are from the estate and are some of the best Montalcino has to offer. They also have a the best wi-fi connection I experienced in Italy, if you need internet access. There are televisions in each bedroom and in the living area of each apartment, as well as full kitchens with everything one needs to make a great home cooked meal. Enjoy an afternoon by the pool before or after sightseeing in Montalcino, or a nighttime swim if you choose. But don't forget to ask about what vineyards are theirs, how they make their outstanding wines and when you can return!

I will come back on my next trip to Tuscany, for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our 4 nights at Canalicchio Di Sopra were great! It is everything you expect from a vacation in Tuscany. Our family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit. It was great having the kitchenette as my kids were tired of eating in restaurants after 2 weeks of traveling. Francesco and his family were fantastic - helping with recommendations for all kinds of things (from laundry to restaurants). We especially enjoyed the pool. Such a relaxing oasis during a busy vacation. As expected, there was no daily housekeeping and only Italian television stations. The views across the olive trees and grape vines are spectacular. Our pictures don't do it justice. Montalcino was a great base for us to explore Tuscany.
Helpful tip... A 4-wheel drive or diesel vehicle is useful on the steep hills - our front-wheel drive, gasoline car created some scary moments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scudman
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Ripaccioli family was so welcoming to our family during our three night stay. My wife and I brought our three children ages 4, 4. and 5, along with our Mothers and we all stayed in the 2 bedroom with loft 6 person unit. Everyone of us enjoyed our stay and did not want to leave. Two of us were treated to a beautiful wine tasting with generous portions. We used the swimming pool with barbecue area extensively as the weather was very warm. View and scenery sandwiched between olive trees and vineyards just below the town of Montalcino were stunning. We used fully equipped kitchen for all of our food needs. I can't say enough about how beautiful this place was and I think it is very good value considering the quality. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valgiano, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Relais at Canalicchio di Sopra is a beautiful escape. Located only about a 5 minute drive from the center of town in Montalcino, it provides brand new luxury accommodations. The Ripaccioli family is extremely warm and welcoming. They are also happy to arrange a wine tasting of their excellent Brunelli and Rosso (a must do!), and make restaurant recommendations.

The rooms are very clean, quiet, comfortable and full of amenities (everything from a wine refrigerator, to flat screen televisions and wifi). There is also a beautiful affinity pool and patio area.

I had a excellent stay there and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I were amazed by the beautiful sight of the Tuscany valley last Easter. The hotel is the best Tuscany style Villa to enjoy a vacation between olive and wine plantations. The rooms are beautiful, private, and with all the comfort needed for a romantic getaway. The Wines of the Canalicchio di Sopra Azienda are delicious, and the quiet environment was just perfect. We are looking forward to go back in summer to enjoy the pool and the Tuscany sun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canalicchio Di Sopra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalicchio Di Sopra

Address: Localita Canalicchio Di Sopra, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canalicchio Di Sopra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canalicchio Di Sopra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.