We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful apartment in town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cantuccio di Alina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montalcino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Cantuccio di Alina
Save
You added Il Cantuccio di Alina to your Saves list
Via Cialdini, 21, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Paso Robles
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A wonderful apartment in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at Il Cantuccio di Alina for 4 nights in June. We had been to Montalcino before, but wanted something with a little more room - the apartment on the 2nd floor is perfect. We had the entire floor - bedroom, living room, dining room, small kitchenette, bathroom and terrace (the best part). Alina is very welcoming!! But I believe in being honest with a review, because I depend on other reviewers to do the same. I cannot rate this a 5 because:
1) This is not a B & B as I was led to believe in e-mails with Alina's interpreter. I was told that the price included breakfast items which would be supplied. They were not, except for expresso coffee. There is a little store at the end of the block where we purchased breakfast items.
2) Alina is a real sweetheart, but she does not speak English, so if you need help from your host with reservations, etc., this will be difficult. We had been to Montalcino before, so we knew the restaurants and wineries that we wanted to visit.
3) There is no wifi. We went to a couple of the cafes in town to get wifi hook-ups.
4) Parking is provided, but you are on your own in finding a space. We suffered a parking ticket the first night because we were told it was safe to park in a spot - it wasn't. After paying the ticket, we inquired from the police as to the lots where parking would be safe - behind city hall, and also below the tennis courts. If you know where to park, this won't be an issue.
Even with these "negatives, " we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the apartment on the second floor - you have the whole floor to yourself with a lovely terrace f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantuccioDiAlina, delegato at Il Cantuccio di Alina, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Abby, I'm writing for Alina that, as you know does not speak english. I'm happy that you appreciate Montalcino and Alina's apartament, but i'm very sorry for the breakfast: maybe me and my girlfriend ( we help Alina with traduction and advertising, but we're not physically in Montalcino ) made a mistake translating, i really want to apologize. i will speak with Alina and ask her for organize breakfast.
I don't know how to help you and the other customer with reservation: of course i will leave in every room a paper with the restaurants and the places to visit near Montalcino ( maybe you can help me ).

I will think about a way to help customer in reservation from our rooms and to solve the wifi problem.

I apologize again,
Hoping to see you soon, greetings.

Samuele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijs, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Il Cantuccio di Alina. It's a great place from where to explore the surrounding sights. Sienna is within easy reach as are Pienza and Montepulciano. The apartment itself has its own roof terrace, very nice to have your breakfast in the morning sun. Montepulciano has a couple of nice resturants, if you can't be bothered to cook yourself. Alina, the proprietress, is a very charming lady who will go out of her way to make sure the apartment is all you could wish for. Just book it and enjoy your stay in Montalcino.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

we happened onto Alinas camere, and we were warmly welcomed.. lovely room in the heart of Montalcino, we have formed a friendship from staying a night with her. and received a lovely note from her almost 4 months after our visit. we highly recommend the cantuccio di Alina when you visit Montalcino.
We also manged to stay a thursday night so enjoyed a great friday market just a few blocks from our camere. Pat and Gary ,seniors from OK.

Room Tip: we often use rick steves but we just happened on to Alinas camere,We enjoy traveling with no set des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CantuccioDiAlina, Proprietario at Il Cantuccio di Alina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Sorry Pat e Gary for the delay, but only today i found someone who can reply to the review in english.
Now I have seen your review and i'm happy you enjoy in Montalcino.

Hoping to see you soon,
greetings Alina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Cantuccio di Alina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cantuccio di Alina

Address: Via Cialdini, 21, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a wonderful Tuscany, a comforting B&B, in the heart of Montalcino.An ancient house, composed from two apartments with pleasant rooms with panoramic sight.It's located in excellent position to visit the historical centre and to be able to reach and enjoy near city and all the wonder that the Tuscany offers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cantuccio di Alina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.