We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country estate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ragnaie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Ragnaie to your Saves list
Le Ragnaie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Le Ragnaie, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful country estate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Views, terraces, country walking possibilities. Large pool. Extremely clean, our apartment nicely decorated. Breakfast included was varied & delicious. This is a working winery & if you can schedule a tasting, do it!
IF being inside the walls of Montalcino is important to you, this is not your choice, as you need to drive (it's close)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nestled on a hillside, over looking vineyards & olive trees.... only a handful of kilometers from the center of Montalcino....... This is a modernized agriturismo that is a fresh welcome after a long day of vineyard-hoping. Lovely breakfasts, , nice lonens, good pool and wifi in the rooms. Would recommend for travelers who like cleanliness and functionality, with less of the feel of an old Tuscan farmhouse, but more of a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had such a magical stay at this agriturismo! The location, yes, is not in the center of town. If that's what you are looking for, this is not the place for you. But we live in the city and wanted a quiet place to stay and it was perfect. The pool was great, the views were fantastic. We had a large group and rented several mixes of apartments, regular rooms, and 4 person rooms. All were clean, spacious, and well maintained. And the heavenly AC?!? Totally necessary!

Additionally, you should definitely do a wine tasting downstairs (below the breakfast room). Their wine is absolutely fantastic and very reasonably priced for Brunellos. We really enjoyed our tour and tasting. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 10 is massive. Apartment 3 had 1 bedroom with a sitting area/kitchen, balcony, and large bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Well I will say it is quite as there is nothing around for 5 km which means you have a bit of a hike to buy anything or have lunch or dinner. As far as we could figure out reception is locked 90% of the time with a note that they have stepped away for a few minutes and shows three cell phone numbers. All of the numbers sent us to voice mail. The “high speed internet” is the slowest I have seen in a very long time. To activate it you need to text on a cell phone, not very practical when one is from North America, does not have a cell phone or know how to text. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment; mine did not have a chair or a closet/wardrobe. Cleaning consisted of making the bed ONLY. As we had a kitchen, we decided to make coffee, BUT the coffee machine had a filter with some very old green moldy grounds in it, decided to skip the coffee and returning.

Room Tip: As they do not show or name the rooms when booking it is impossible for me to say which one you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It is a farm and the place is OK.

The rooms are simple but large. The place is hard to find. I would suggest they add GPS coordinates to their website. The website indicated a restaurant but they do not have one in operation. We needed to go back to town to eat and directions were not very good.

It does have a nice view of the country side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is one of the better agriturismos I have stayed at in Italy. The finishing in each of the rooms is superb and of extremely high quality. Ricardo and Francesca are wonderful hosts. We stayed here for one night on our way through Tuscany and wish we had more time (and better weather) to enjoy the property more. Our room was beautiful, extremely tasteful, and with high quality finishings (double-glazed windows!). The view from our room over the valley was superb. A true gem!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Finding Le Ragnaie proved to be a little difficult given the Tom Tom didn't locate the GPS coordinates correctly, but we found it after doubling back. I would suggest 10 minutes out of Montalcino as the distance so it isn't in the heart of Montalcino, but rather on it's own property in the outskirts of town/farming area. Upon our arrival to Le Ragnaie we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and check in was without issue. We were shown to our room, we had booked the family room given our group consisted of my wife and my parents. We selected our rooms and were pleasantly surprised to find a fully equipped kitchen as well as lounge room were included in this "apartment". I use the term apartment, but it was a large two bedroom flat - ample accommodation. As the weather wasn't permitting we couldn't make use of the beautiful pool area so we decided a venture into town was best. After chatting with what appeared to be one of the owners (Riccardo) and getting his recommendation and assisted booking at a local seafood restaurant. He also insisted on a few other "must see" locations in the area (including going to Sant' Antimo to see the monks). He also offered advice upon our departure for Siena, a very helpful host!!
The recommendation for the Seafood Restaurant was amazing - actually the highlight of our almost 2 weeks in Tuscany, Sant' Antimo was also amazing - we thank Riccardo so much for his advice. A shame that we were offered a tour of the winery (Le Ragnaie produces its own wine), but this never eventuated.
Aside from the great advice, the accommodation was nice and new, the grounds still had some unfinished areas (like lighting and cables visibly incomplete). Our room size was huge, but surprisingly lacked tea and coffee facilities in the room (given we were provided a fridge, kettle etc).
I have rated it "very good" given that there wasn't anything that was untoward during our stay that made it average. Overall it seemed expensive for what it delivered, but this may have been impacted by the weather given we did have a bit of rain which limited our use of the facilities. Yes it was nice, but to fit the price tag?? We still aren't convinced when compared to other B&B's during our trip through the region.

Room Tip: Family room is large but has a flight stairs to tackle with luggage (nothing new for Italy!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Ragnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ragnaie

Address: Loc. Le Ragnaie, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Ragnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the hills of Tuscany alongside the historical village of Montalcino one can find Le Ragnaie. Located in the midst of the Brunello wine region Le Ragnaie has a rich history dating back to the 1700’s when early settlers were using the land to hunt and plant crops. The use of such materials as terra cotta, large cut stones and massive wooden beams along with the tasteful decoration of local antiques, helps to retain the rustic charm of days past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Ragnaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ragnaie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.