We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new B&B outside of Montalcino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ragnaie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Ragnaie to your Saves list
Le Ragnaie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Le Ragnaie, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice new B&B outside of Montalcino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Finding Le Ragnaie proved to be a little difficult given the Tom Tom didn't locate the GPS coordinates correctly, but we found it after doubling back. I would suggest 10 minutes out of Montalcino as the distance so it isn't in the heart of Montalcino, but rather on it's own property in the outskirts of town/farming area. Upon our arrival to Le Ragnaie we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and check in was without issue. We were shown to our room, we had booked the family room given our group consisted of my wife and my parents. We selected our rooms and were pleasantly surprised to find a fully equipped kitchen as well as lounge room were included in this "apartment". I use the term apartment, but it was a large two bedroom flat - ample accommodation. As the weather wasn't permitting we couldn't make use of the beautiful pool area so we decided a venture into town was best. After chatting with what appeared to be one of the owners (Riccardo) and getting his recommendation and assisted booking at a local seafood restaurant. He also insisted on a few other "must see" locations in the area (including going to Sant' Antimo to see the monks). He also offered advice upon our departure for Siena, a very helpful host!!
The recommendation for the Seafood Restaurant was amazing - actually the highlight of our almost 2 weeks in Tuscany, Sant' Antimo was also amazing - we thank Riccardo so much for his advice. A shame that we were offered a tour of the winery (Le Ragnaie produces its own wine), but this never eventuated.
Aside from the great advice, the accommodation was nice and new, the grounds still had some unfinished areas (like lighting and cables visibly incomplete). Our room size was huge, but surprisingly lacked tea and coffee facilities in the room (given we were provided a fridge, kettle etc).
I have rated it "very good" given that there wasn't anything that was untoward during our stay that made it average. Overall it seemed expensive for what it delivered, but this may have been impacted by the weather given we did have a bit of rain which limited our use of the facilities. Yes it was nice, but to fit the price tag?? We still aren't convinced when compared to other B&B's during our trip through the region.

Room Tip: Family room is large but has a flight stairs to tackle with luggage (nothing new for Italy!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Va
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Both my son and his girlfriend and my wife and I stayed at this wonderful place for six days. We have stayed in Montalcino for the past six years and now we feel we have found a better home for our future stays. Augusto and is wife plus our Chats with Ricardo made us feel as true friends. No complaints about staff, breakfast or rooms as they were GREAT. My wife and I are already planning our return for 2013 with the high hopes of staying at Le Ragnaie again.This time we are going to try and bring friends. I would love to have our hosts, Ricardo and or Augusto come and visit Virginia's wine country and share a meal or stay in our home. Again, thank you for a wonderful time. One suggestion, more light in bathroom Dave Zullo, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a lovely room with a view. I did see there was some rooms without a view as other reviews mention so would make sure to confirm with them. Everything was very tastefully decorated and high quality. The high point of our three week stay in Italy. Area is fantastic and hosts were extremely helpful with suggestions, and friendly. Make sure you get the tour of the wine making facilities if you stay, was fascinating. Breakfast was simple but very tasty, fresh cakes every day, and great local cheeses and cold cuts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our honeymoon tour of Italy brought us to Montalcino and Le Ragnaie, a beautiful Agriturismo located high on a hill several kilometers south of Montalcino.

We stayed in an apartment, which, as noted elsewhere, was tastefully and simply decorated. There was a kitchenette and living/dining area (including, in the kitchen, pots, pans and everything we needed to prepare and serve a meal). There was a large, comfortable and quiet bedroom and a well-appointed, clean bathroom with shower. I am a big fellow and was completely comfortable with the accomodations. Topping it off was a private patio off the bedroom, overlooking a beautiful vineyard and with distant views of the countryside. Our room was cleaned, beds made up each day, and linens were changed as needed.

Each morning we had the breakfast buffet which included juices, hot drinks, cereals, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and ham, fresh fruit and fruit salad, homemade cakes, cookies, breads and jams. On request, other egg preparations were available.

Le Ragnaie is a working farm winery, making Brunello di Montalcino among other wines, and we were fortunate to arrive in September during harvest and wine-making. The staff was very busy with their winery work, but we were treated to a tour of the entire process - from picking in the vineyards, to the selection and preparation of the grapes for pressing and the actual crushing. For wine lovers it was a fantastic experience - and the wines we tasted were terrific (even though the tasting room was closed to the public at the time because of the harvest we were served a tasting at our request).

Le Ragnaie was wonderfully located for our day trips. The owner and staff were responsive to every request, whether it was for the tour of their own facilities, or for touring suggestions, directions, call-aheads or reservations for winery tours, wine tastings or meals elsewhere.

Our experience at and visit to Le Ragnaie was exceptional and we will return to enjoy another season in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Ask about availability of rooms with a view of the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I find it hard to recognise the property from other revues. As it is on a fairly main road it was not quiet. We rejected the room we were offered at 100E, no wardrobe, nowhere to sit except the bed and a really dark bathroom - lighting totallyl inadequate. We moved with friends to a suite at 300E, very poor value. Only one bedroom had a wardrobe, no safe, one TV you could only watch if you stood between the kitchen and sitting room. The robes we were given were suitable for children so no use to us (and we are both 'petite'). Additional bed coverings were a single quilt/sleeping bag and an old quilt - neither of which looked very clean. Cleaning was almost non-existent, I had to find the maid and beg her to give us fresh towels and bed making was roughly pulling the sheets back over the pillows - no change of linen in 4 nights. Breakfast was very poor. We might have discussed our problems with the staff had they been available. it was made quite clear to us at check in (and in other reviews) that the winery comes first. This is fine but then perhaps they should not try to run an agriturismo at the same time. I had hopes of a lovely b and b in a beautiful area, I was sorely disappointed.

Room Tip: Most rooms open onto a paved area with no views. Little privacy in most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvarinoflorence, Owner at Le Ragnaie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Customer,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
There is no excuse for lack of cleaning, however we do clean all rooms and apartments at least once a day. As for towel and linen changing we try to use common sense and not waste or change them if they are still clean and usable. It is not because we are cheap but because we do not want to waste for no reason. As for breakfast, most people like our homemade items and usually we have very few complaints.
As for your other complaints let me say the following:
Our property is an Agriturismo, which means a working farm with accomodations. You came right in the middle of harvest, our busiest working time in the vines and cellar. We let you know upon arrival that service might be a little off during those days, and most of our customers were understanding and actually lots of them enjoied taking part in the harvest, picked grapes and loved it. As per your complaints about our robes and the lack of a safe perhaps next time you will be better served by going to one of the 5 star hotels that we have in Montalcino, their prices are 3 times higher than ours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice room and ensuite - decent size and simply decorated. No view - which is a shame when staying near a hill top town in Tuscany. (It's not in Montalcino - it's about 2 miles (not km) out) Bathroom curtains so thin that, when dark outside, people can see in, so we showered in the morning (with the lights off!).
Nice guy who ran the place - perfect English.
Great coffee, but the rest of breakfast wasn't great.
Wifi sometimes drops connection and access is by using a 3-hour card with username & password - a pain if it runs out late at night when you're researching what to do the next day! (My iPad wouldn't disconnect, so the 3 hours were used up faster than expected). It would be better if you could just log on with a password and it's sorted for the rest of your stay.
Bed wasn't the most comfortable - especially the pillows.
Overall - a perfectly decent place to stay, but we'd say it's a bit over priced for what it is. We paid EUR100 a night for B&B in a room with no view.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any rooms with a view. I suppose there must be some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alvarinoflorence, Owner at Le Ragnaie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a view, I guess that's common to all hotel and B&B though. I suggest when checking in to always ask if something better is available and we can try to accomodate. Unfortunately the law in Italy has all hotel guests checking in with password and passport registration, we are updating our system in order to have longer connection time with the same password and should be done soon. I am sorry you did not like ou breakfast , we try to keep it simple and fresh. Other places have a wider variety sometimes sacrificing quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at Le Ragnaie, wonderful setting just outside Montalcino. We had a one bedroom apartment with Kitchenette, and a lovely view of the Tuscan countryside from our Balcony. Excellent breakfast buffet, friendly staff, and a laid back atmosphere all contributed to an excellent experience. Would thoroughly recommend it! Wonderful wine tasting too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Ragnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ragnaie

Address: Loc. Le Ragnaie, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Ragnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop the hills of Tuscany alongside the historical village of Montalcino one can find Le Ragnaie. Located in the midst of the Brunello wine region Le Ragnaie has a rich history dating back to the 1700’s when early settlers were using the land to hunt and plant crops. The use of such materials as terra cotta, large cut stones and massive wooden beams along with the tasteful decoration of local antiques, helps to retain the rustic charm of days past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Ragnaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ragnaie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.