We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great service, Great views and super prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Boccon Di Vino

Ristorante Boccon Di Vino
Via Traversa Dei Monti, 201 | 53024 Montalcino, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
0577/848233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
St. Jean Cap Ferrat
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, Great views and super prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Enjoyed a dinner in July 2013. The views over the valley are spectacular and eating 'el fresco' was necessary given the warm summer temperatures. We ordered the standard menu, which was excellent and at 35 euros per person, a bargain. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The wine list was very large, with bottles available at every price level.

To be highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    66
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Magnificent view from the heights of Montalcino on the fields and vineyards of Toscane. Very friendly personnel, excellent Brunello and nice food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end our stay in Montalcino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant is a "step above" most of the other restaurants in Montalcino. The view is a knock-out, and we were able to enjoy it for a while before darkness came.......so plan to get there early enough to see it. The atmosphere is a bit more formal, but isn't "stuffy," and the food was fabulous. We missed this restaurant on our last trip to Montalcino, but I'm glad we went this time. We would definitely go again. It is well worth a little extra money! It was our best meal in Montalcino.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sublime food and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We found it quite hard to select a venue for lunch our first day in Montalcino . We tried Poggia Antica but they were temporarily closed due to having lost thier Chef . They kindly recommended B d V .
We were not disappointed, as we sat outside we were captivated by the view, I was sublime . The service was wonderful and friendly , even though we were early and had disturbed the staffs per work meal the owners daughter Marina made us very welcome and sat us in wonderful seats on the terrace even accommodating our Dog Hector.
The food was fantastico, I had an amazing duck Ragu with courgettes and pichi followed by a wonderful tagliata and Izi had salmon which she loved . Now the real reason for being here ......the Brunello . The wine list was a leather bound book of parchment paper with each page cleverly exhibiting the label from the relevant bottle and offering the available years and prices . A lovely touch that I found really enjoyable just to thumb through . We had de Nero which was a treat like the meal . We had a good chat about Montalcino with Marina in her perfect English and really enjoyed our first Montalcino experience .

Great food outside with a wonderful wine list ( assuming you like Brunello or Rosso )and warm good hospitality , highly recommended in fact we went back again that trip .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Food in Beautiful Montalcino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We first ate here more than 10 years ago and it was one of the culinary highlights of that trip. We were delighted to find it still open and still serving the same "to die for" food. Boccon di Vino is located just before the town of Montalcino, to the left as you drive up the hill towards town, with stunning views out over Tuscany. Truly a postcard-perfect venue. The food matches the venue--fresh, authentic and with each dish beautifully and skilfully executed. Wonderful wine choices, too. It's worth it to make a reservation and ask to sit outside. There aren't that many tables outdoors, so second choice would be the covered patio--open along the front and with great views. This is THE place to eat in Montalcino as far as we are concerned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Boccon Di Vino also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Boccon Di Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Boccon Di Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.