We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB DECISION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Grifo

Il Grifo
Via Mazzini, 18, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
0577847070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Montalcino
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Friendly local in Montalcino a few steps from the central square. Tuscan cuisine with homemade pasta and grilled meat of choice. Pizza for lunch and dinner.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“SUPERB DECISION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There is an excellent choice of restaurants in Montalcino,which makes choosing difficult,what appealed was wide choice of dishes,reasonable prices and we noticed it was busy at lunch

What a great decision,food was excellent,my choice of Wild Boar |Stew and polenta was excellent,we drank the house red wine and it was superb

Staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed,although the restaurant was full service was excellent

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    137
    37
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a let down. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went here for dinner and was terribly disappointed. Ordered two starters, and a large beer. Got a SMALL beer, drank it, our secondi plates came but the starters never arrived. Got the bill and was charged for a large beer and had to correct it. A mess. I felt as if they wanted to seat some locals waiting for our table of three. This place has great reviews historically, but there were to many routine mistakes for me. By the way, no one ever apologized for forgetting to serve the entire first half of our meal. I will find a different place to spend my euros.
Ciao.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Must try restaurant in Montalcino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although we stumbled onto Il Grifo by accident, it ended up being one of the most memorable meals on our entire trip to Italy. It is a traditional Italian trattoria that served simple and classic dishes. The pasta was fresh and truly outstanding, especially the local pinci pasta. The pizza with fresh buffalo mozzarella was also delicious. And prices were incredibly reasonable. Though the restaurant does not have many views of the incredible Tuscan backdrop behind it, the food was exceptional. Read more about our recommendations in Tuscany on our blog, http://chezcateylou.com/2013/08/09/tuscany-montalcino-and-montepulciano/

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Fresh, Local Ingredients Make For A Tasty Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Il Grifo was one of my favorite places I dined in all of Italy. While spending a few days in beautiful Montalcino, the owner at our B&B recommended this place for their delicious pizza. Let me tell you, she didn't steer us in the wrong direction! The pizza here was amazing. I ordered the fresh buffalo mozzarella pie and it was insanely delicious (see my photos, the thing was loaded with fresh cheese, basil and tomatoes). The cheese on the pizza was served slightly chilled which was unexpected but delightful to my taste buds! My husband ordered the local specialty, a giant t-bone steak. The steak in Tuscany is served very rare with salt, pepper and olive oil. That's it. Why? Because the meat is so tasty it doesn't need anything else! We also shared an appetizer portion of housemade fresh spinach and ricotta ravioli with a light butter sauce, the daily special, and it was very fresh, simple and good. Friendly, unhurried service and a comfortable atmosphere. Try this place, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Among the best food I've had in Italy! Really rustic well made Tuscan food, very nice staff, superb service and good value for money. Lots of locals! Hope I can return one day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Grifo also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Grifo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.