We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany beyond all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quercecchio Agritourism

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montalcino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quercecchio Agritourism
Loc. Quercecchio - Montalcino, 53024 Montalcino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tuscany beyond all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights in the beautiful Abate apartment at Antica Gracia di Querecchio.
Matteo, the property manager, was an outstandingly good communicator from our first email contact through to meeting us on arrival and directing us to places of interest and local restaurants. We both enjoyed his interesting tour of the onsite wine-making operation.
From the stunning scenery over green fields and vineyards to distant mountains, or the twinkling lights at night from nearby hill settlements we could not have wished for better views from our apartment.
Although it is about 15 mins drive from town we didn't find this a problem except on Liberation Day weekend when it was impossible to find a park at any of the hilltop towns. (Avoid visiting on the weekend of the 25th of April if you possibly can)
We would reccommend making this your base for a trip to Southern Tuscany

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful place, very nice swimmingpool, we had a very good time at Quercecchio. Also the host is very kindly, I think we will stay in the future more times at this wonderful place! We also like the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our trip to Antica Grancia di Quercecchio was too short! We would like to spend a week in this wonderful relaxing environment. Our goal was to find a place in the Tuscan countryside to ride our mountain bikes and we were not disappointed. The rolling hills, ripe vineyards, pheasants in the fields, and the wild boars surpassed our expectations. Of course the Montalcino Brunello drew us to this location but the memories will bring us back. The rooms of Quercecchio are tastefully furnished with a rustic feel. The bed was comfortable and the cool fresh air at night was awesome. We were looking for a self-catering experience and thus enjoyed preparing our own food or visiting one of the Matteo recommended restaurants. The history of the restored 15th century monastery is rich and adds to the charm of the stay. In the rush to sample the local Brunello, don't over look the wine made onsite at Quercecchio, it is wonderful. Our room was over the oak barrels and Matteo graciously gave us a tasting and a tour. We will return for an extended stay. Grazie Matteo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhlhausen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Southern Tuscany is a wonderful place to spend your holidays. Towns like Siena, Volterra, Montepulciano and Montalcino are our favourites.
We'be been looking for a nice appartment for a long time and found Agroturismo Quercecchio about 5 years ago. Since then, we're coming every year. Matteo is a fabulous host, very nice, helpful and the Agroturismo is a fantastic former monastry. It has a large pool - very refreshing when it's hot.
It is NOT a hotel, i.e., you will get a clean appartment and it won't be cleaned every day, so you're responsible for making your bed, preparing breakfast etc. ! We like this as I am annoyed by the typical hotel setup (I've seen too many hotels in my business life).
It is about 10 minutes drive to Montalcino, a fantastic town - not only because of the excellent wines. Very nice small streets, nice piazza and very good restaurants ...

It is some drive to the Sea (Grosseto about 45 minutes drive), but I like the quiet and CLEAN (I have seen some really TERRIBLE and DIRTY beaches in Italy) pool ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Charming setting for a tastefully restored 15th century farm with all modern facilities to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are large, clean, fully equipped and the finishings are of high quality, from flooring, to ceilings to furnishing and fittings.
The pool is large, clean and equipped with tables, chairs, sunbeds and gazebos for families to relax safely with their little ones.
Matteo is a great host, speaks fluent English and will help you with anything you need, from supplies to information on the area. Although the apartments are self contained and you will need to do your own grocery shopping for the stay, you will find a nice basket for your 1st breakfast, with anything from milk, coffee, jam, tea, butter and pastries, so no need to rush to the nearest supermarket if you really want to go to sleep.
The wine mAde on the farm is of the highest quality, so you might want to get your personal supply from here.
A short drive from montalcino, half an hour from pienza and montepulciano and 1 hour from Siena. It's an ideal starting base for visiting the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We needed a base of operations from which to enjoy Tuscany and found Antica Grancia di Quercecchio on Trip Advisor. We stayed there for a week and enjoyed it immensely. The setting is idyllic--an old convent beautifully restored, set in a valley outside Montalcino. The agritourismo is a working vineyard, producing the famous Brunello di Montalcino wine. Matteo is so wonderful--he provided excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and general travel advice for the region. He gave us a tour of the winery and explained the process they go through to make their wines. We were interested in taking a cooking class, so Matteo arranged for a chef to come to our apartment and teach us how to cook a delicious Tuscan dinner--it was a real treat and a highlight of our entire trip to Italy. He even gave us a bottle of his famed Brunello to enjoy with the meal. We were travelling with our daughter so we reserved a two-bedroom, two-bath apartment. It was spacious, with a large sitting room and nice kitchen area and beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside. We really loved our stay at Quercecchio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

I can't think of a better base of operations to see southern Tuscany. Quercecchio is set in an incredibly scenic area outside Montalcino. The accommodations are very comfortable, with good air conditioning and an elevator, in addition to spacious apartments. The setting is very quiet and relaxing. The pool is nice and large with plenty of lounge chairs. Matteo is, perhaps, the most gracious host I have every encounterd in my travels. He was always going above and beyond the call of duty. We are now Facebook friends and intend to keep in touch. If you are a fan of Brunello wine, this is the Holy Grail, as Quercecchio makes a great Brunello and and a nice Rosso di Montalcino. If you love history, you will love staying in a converted 15th century monastery. I highly recommend a stay here!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quercecchio Agritourism? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quercecchio Agritourism

Address: Loc. Quercecchio - Montalcino, 53024 Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty lodging in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is another way to spend your precious holiday time: in complete relaxation surrounded by nature. Our agriturismo offers its guests wellness and tranquility on the spacious sunning patio around the swimming pool in the park that surrounds the old convent. Montalcino is the ideal location from which to explore the entire region. This old town in the Val d’Orcia is famous for its vineyards and such renowned fine wines as Brunello di Montalcino and Rosso di Montalcino. The Antica Grancia di Quercecchio agriturismo is the ideal place to spend your Tuscan holiday in peace and quiet among olive groves and vineyards. Get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and give yourself a holiday marked by health and fresh air as you enjoy the Sienese hills and feel the rhythm of nature in an area famous for its natural and historical treasures. The agriturismo is located in a tranquil spot with stupendous views that go from Mount Amiata to the mountains that dominate the Maremma and slope down into the Ombrone River valley. If you are looking for a truly unforgettable Tuscan holiday, then come to the Antica Grancia di Quercecchio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quercecchio Agritourism Hotel Montalcino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quercecchio Agritourism, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quercecchio Agritourism to your Saves list