We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When food becomes a religion.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Re di Macchia

Re di Macchia
Via Saloni 21, Montalcino, Italy
+39 0577 846116
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
532 reviews 532 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
1,142 helpful votes 1,142 helpful votes
“When food becomes a religion.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We walked in for dinner without reservations and the kind owner gladly invited us in. This tiny restaurant in an obscure road in Montalcino is a bit hard to find but in the end was really worth finding. The two rooms filled quickly and the last time we counted, four pairs of customers without reservations after us were turned away.
Fresh grilled vegetables and white beans cooked to perfection served as primi piatti. Second course of pici pasta cinghiale ( wild boar) was apparently the chef's specialty and our formal conversion to gastronomic Tuscan religion. The smell and flavors- traditional as they were- were just as complex to the palate. The beef stew's tender hint of anchovies paired well with the suggested Chianti classico. Our desserts showed their artsy side. A G-clef and a fire on my crème brulee may sound like the sum of two of Vivaldi's seasons but absolutely here, for us, it was a perfect night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    116
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food but service stretched”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The food here was excellent including a wonderful pasta with arugula and nettles and the recommended wine was also perfect. There appeared to be only two staff out front, possibly the owners, with the man doing most of the customer relations. As a result they didn't seem to have enough time to share with all their customers. They were pleasant, helpful and friendly but spread a bit too thin resulting in a poorer level of service than we would have liked.

Overall a great little restaurant but more staff needed out front.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Too quick to bring the bill.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant this evening. The food was OK but this was the first time in my 3 weeks in France and Italy when the waiter brought us the bill before we were finished. We had only one course and a half bottle of Brunello and I felt as though the waiter thought we should have eaten more (€€€). Also the restaurant was beaming with bright lights! I would not recommend this restaurant. The dinner we had last evening at Blu Grappa was far more enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night in Montalcino and we were booked which was just as well as it was almost full. We tried Saturday but couldn't get in, so booked for Monday. Super reception by the owner I think and great food. Great bruschetta and amazing art bit salad starters, followed bybreallybwell cooked pasta with boar Ragu and porcini lasagne. Crete brûlée and moscatel de Montalcino plus great wines along the way made this the experience of the trip. I thoroughly recommend this we saw other dishes coming out and the steaks looked fabulous.

Thanks for a lovely meal and evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and the personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant which we found so excellent we went back a second time.
It's a small place so reserve if you can. The night we were there, all tables were booked.
The menu features many local foods. You will try not to hurry because the desserts from presentation to taste are awesome.
The owner, Antonio, attends personally to your table with some help.
He went out of his way after we chose a certain wine to tell us about the small vineyard and the artist owner.
The prices for the wine and food were reasonable.
This is a six star place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Re di Macchia also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Re di Macchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Re di Macchia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.